Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Country-by-Country Reporting

 


What is Country-by-Country Reporting

Country-by-Country (CbC) Reporting is a minimum standard formulated by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) under Action 13 of the Base Erosion and Profit Shifting (BEPS) Package.

Under this standard, a multinational enterprise group (MNE Group) is required to file a CbC Report in relation to an accounting period where:

  • the consolidated group revenue for the preceding accounting period is at least EUR750 million (or HK$6.8 billion); and
  • the group has constituent entities or operations in two or more jurisdictions.

The CbC Report requires aggregate tax jurisdiction-wide information relating to the global allocation of the income, the taxes paid, and certain indicators of the location of economic activity among tax jurisdictions in which the MNE Group operates. The Report also requires a listing of all the constituent entities for which financial information is reported, including the jurisdiction of incorporation of each of the constituent entities (if different from the tax jurisdiction of residence) and the main business activities carried out by that entity.

CbC Reports are to be exchanged automatically between tax administrations under relevant exchange arrangements.

 

 back to top


Implementation in Hong Kong

The implementation framework for CbC reporting in Hong Kong is provided under the Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 6) Bill 2017 (the Bill). The Bill was published in the Gazette on 29 December 2017 and is subject to the scrutiny of the Legislative Council (LegCo).

The requirements for filing a CbC Return, which includes a CbC Report, only apply to a MNE Group whose annual consolidated group revenue reaches the specified threshold amount, i.e. HK$6.8 billion (Reportable Group).

In respect of a Reportable Group, the primary obligation of filing a CbC Return is on the ultimate parent entity (UPE) resident in Hong Kong (HK UPE) and not on any other constituent entities resident in Hong Kong (Hong Kong Entities). The HK UPE is required to file a CbC Return for each accounting period beginning on or after 1 January 2018. The HK UPE may also voluntarily file a CbC Return for an accounting period beginning between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2017.

A Hong Kong Entity of a Reportable Group whose UPE is not resident in Hong Kong is subject to a secondary obligation of filing a CbC Return if any of the following conditions is met:

  • the UPE is not required to file a CbC Report in its jurisdiction of tax residence;
  • the jurisdiction has a current international agreement with Hong Kong providing for automatic exchange of tax information but, by the deadline for filing the CbC Return, there is no exchange arrangement in place between the jurisdiction and Hong Kong for CbC Reports;
  • there has been a systemic failure to exchange CbC Reports by the jurisdiction, which has been notified to the Hong Kong Entity by the Commissioner.

Even if one of the above conditions is met, the Hong Kong Entity is not required to file a CbC Return if:

  • a CbC Return for the relevant accounting period is filed by another Hong Kong Entity of the Reportable Group; or
  • the Reportable Group has authorized a constituent entity as its surrogate parent entity (SPE) to file CbC Report on behalf of the Group, and the CbC Report is filed by the SPE in Hong Kong or a jurisdiction which has an exchange arrangement in place with Hong Kong.

Every Hong Kong Entity is required to make a notification containing information relevant for determining the obligation for filing a CbC Return within 3 months after the end of the relevant accounting period.  For a Reportable Group with more than one Hong Kong Entity, a Hong Kong Entity is not required to make a notification provided that it is not the entity which is to file a CbC Return and another Hong Kong Entity has already made the notification.  In practice, an assessor will give a filing notice to an entity which has made such notification or any other entity which is considered to be obliged to file a CbC Return.

The deadline for filing a CbC Return is 12 months after the end of the relevant accounting period or the date specified in the assessor’s notice, whichever is the earlier.

A service provider (SP) may be engaged to file a CbC Return or the related notification.  Penalties are provided in respect of matters such as failing to file CbC Returns and providing misleading, false or inaccurate information in CbC Returns.  Some of the penalty provisions will also apply to service providers.

 

 back to top


Notification and Return Filing

To facilitate CbC reporting, the Department has developed the CbC Reporting Portal for Hong Kong Entities to:

  • submit notifications of obligations to file CbC Returns;
  • submit notifications of change of address;
  • file CbC Returns; and
  • receive or send messages in relation to CbC reporting.

A Hong Kong Entity should register a CbC Reporting Account under the CbC Reporting Portal for accessing the services provided thereunder.  The person authorized to register a CbC Reporting Account for the entity has to possess an e-Cert (Organisational) with AEOI Functions for authentication purposes. More information about the application for e-Cert (Organisational) with AEOI Functions can be found in the website of the Hongkong Post Certification Authority.

If a SP or the person responsible for managing a non-corporate entity (PRM) is authorized to register and/or operate the CbC Reporting Account, the Department should be informed by a Notification of Details of Person Authorized to Register/Operate a CbC Reporting Account (Form IR1465).  Please note that an authorized person of the SP or the PRM must also possess an e-Cert (Organisational) with AEOI Functions for authentication purposes.

A SP or PRM may act for more than one Hong Kong Entity to register / operate CbC Reporting Accounts and submit CbC Returns.  Application for Lead Operator Reference Number (Form IR1466) may be made by the SP or PRM for the facility to access, as a lead operator, the CbC Reporting Accounts of relevant Hong Kong Entities through one single log-in.

A CbC Report (which forms part of a CbC Return) must be made in the form of an XML document. The reason for this is that XML documents can be validated and provide a common medium for exchange between the jurisdictions who have introduced CbC reporting requirements. In this regard, the Department has developed a data schema in XML which is based on the CbC XML Schema v1.0.1 issued by the OECD. The data schema specifies the data structure and format for filing CbC Report to the Department. Please click the following links to download the current version of the data schema and related user guide:

 

 back to top


Voluntary Filing Arrangement

Some jurisdictions have introduced CbC reporting requirements for accounting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2016.  Such a jurisdiction may require a constituent entity resident there to file a CbC Report if the constituent entity is part of a Reportable Group with the UPE resident in another jurisdiction that does not have a CbC reporting requirement for the same accounting period (Local CbC Filing).  As Hong Kong will only implement CbC reporting for accounting periods beginning from 1 January 2018, constituent entities of a Reportable Group with HK UPE (HK Reportable Group) may be subject to Local CbC Filing for an accounting period beginning between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2017 (Early Reporting Period).  To mitigate the Local CbC Filing exposure of HK Reportable Groups, the Department is prepared to accommodate voluntary filing of CbC Reports for an Early Reporting Period. 

Under the voluntary filing arrangement, the HK UPE of a HK Reportable Group will be allowed to file a CbC Return for an Early Reporting Period to the Department such that the CbC Report included therein can be exchanged with relevant jurisdictions.  All the aforesaid requirements for CbC reporting will apply to the voluntary filing arrangement except the following:

  • The HK UPE which intends to voluntarily file a CbC Return for an Early Reporting Period is not required to make a notification; 
  • The HK UPE or its SP/PRM may request a CbC Return for completion under the CbC Reporting Portal after registration of a CbC Reporting Account;
  • For an Early Reporting Period beginning between 1 January 2016 and 31 March 2016, the deadline for filing a CbC Return is 31 March 2018;
  • For an Early Reporting Period beginning between 1 April 2016 and 31 December 2017, the deadline for filing a CbC Return is 12 months after the end of the relevant accounting period.

A HK Reportable Group should take note that whether this voluntary filing arrangement can relieve its Local CbC Filing obligation in a jurisdiction would depend on the CbC reporting requirements of that jurisdiction. 

 

 back to top


Automatic Exchange of Country-by-Country Reports

The Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters (the Multilateral Convention) will be the main platform for Hong Kong to exchange CbC Reports with other jurisdictions.  To this end, the Government introduced the Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 5) Bill 2017 into the LegCo on 18 October 2017 seeking to, among others, empower the Chief Executive-in-Council to make an order for giving effect to the Multilateral Convention.  The Multilateral Convention will apply to Hong Kong after the enactment of the legislation, the making of the order and the completion of relevant procedures with the Depositary of the Multilateral Convention.

Since the Multilateral Convention is at present not applicable in Hong Kong, bilateral arrangements for exchange of CbC Reports need to be made with jurisdictions having Comprehensive Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreements (CDTAs) with Hong Kong. So far, Hong Kong has made such bilateral arrangements with the following jurisdictions:

Jurisdiction CbC Report for First Exchange 
 France 2016
 Ireland 2016
 South Africa 2016
 United Kingdom  2016

Meanwhile, the Government will continue discussions with other CDTA partners, seeking to conclude as many bilateral arrangements as practicable for the Early Reporting Periods.

 

 back to top


Appropriate Use of Information in Country-by-Country Reports

The BEPS Action 13 Final Report sets out three permitted uses for the information in CbC Reports (CbCR information), namely:

  • high level transfer pricing risk assessment;
  • assessment of other BEPS-related risks; and
  • economic and statistical analysis where appropriate.
     

The Department is committed to using CbCR information in accordance with the uses permitted in the BEPS Action 13 Final Report.  The Department will not use CbCR information, by itself, to assess or reassess taxpayers' income for the purposes of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

The Department will not use CbCR information as a substitute for a detailed transfer pricing analysis of individual transactions and prices based on a full functional analysis and a full comparability analysis. CbCR information on its own will not constitute conclusive evidence that transfer prices are or are not appropriate, and will not be used to propose transfer pricing adjustments based on a global formulary apportionment of income. Any breach of appropriate use of CbCR information will be disclosed as required under relevant exchange arrangements, and any inappropriate tax adjustment based on CbCR information will be conceded in any relevant competent authority proceeding.

However, the Department may use CbCR information in planning a tax audit or investigation, or as the basis for making further enquiries into the MNE Group’s transfer pricing arrangements or other tax matters, in the course of an audit. There is also no requirement that these enquiries must relate specifically to potential risks identified through the use of CbCR information. For example, CbCR information (such as the details of constituent entities) may be used as the basis for making enquiries into tax matters identified using other data sources or arising during the course of a tax audit or investigation.

The term "assessment of other BEPS-related risk" refers to the high level assessment of tax risks that may result in the erosion of a jurisdiction's tax base.  In practice, while CbCR information may be used to identify indicators of possible tax risk, it will usually be possible to understand the arrangements giving rise to that risk after further enquiries have been conducted.  In this regard, the Department will limit the use of CbCR information to risk assessment and making of enquiries in the course of a tax audit or investigation.  The information will not be taken as conclusive evidence that a MNE Group is engaged in other forms of BEPS.

 

 back to top


Trial Run of Country-by-Country Reporting Portal

To enable Hong Kong Entities to better understand the operation of the CbC Reporting Portal, the Department is organizing a trial run of the functions provided under the CbC Reporting Portal. Hong Kong Entities are welcome to participate in the trial run. The trial run consists of two phases:

  • Phase 1 – Account registration, submitting CbC Report for voluntary filing, and sending and receiving e-messages;
  • Phase 2 – Notification of reporting entity and data preparation tool (tentatively in the latter half of 2018).

Before participating in the trial run, a Hong Kong Entity should:

  • read carefully the Notes on the Trial Run;
  • prepare the pre-requisite documents as mentioned in paragraph (B) of the Notes on the Trial Run; and
  • complete an online form to enrol in the trial run.

Any enquiry regarding the trial run arrangements can be sent to cbc_trialrun@ird.gov.hk.

 

 back to top


Materials on Country-by-Country Reporting

Amendment Bill

OECD Materials

 

 back to top


Enquiries

If you have any question regarding CbC reporting, you may send your enquiry to the following e-mail address:

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS
  • 還原字體
  • 較大字體
  • 最大字體

國別報告

 


何謂國別報告

國別報告是經濟合作與發展組織(經合組織)對應侵蝕稅基及轉移利潤(BEPS)方案的第13項行動而制訂的最低標準。

按照該標準,符合下述情況的跨國企業集團須就相關的會計期提交國別報告:

  • 該集團在對上一個會計期的綜合集團收入的總款額不少於7.5億歐羅(或68億港元);及
  • 該集團在兩個或以上的管轄區設有成員實體或經營業務。

國別報告要求跨國企業集團申報在其業務遍及的稅務管轄區的總體稅務資料,該等資料關乎該集團的全球收入分配、繳稅金額以及在各稅務管轄區的經濟活動指標。國別報告亦要求跨國企業集團申報在各稅務管轄區的成員實體名單,資料包括各成員實體註冊成立的管轄區(如該管轄區有別於成員實體的稅務居留地管轄區)及該實體所從事的主要業務活動。

各稅務機關會根據相關的交換安排自動交換國別報告。

 

 返回頁首


在香港實施

《2017年稅務(修訂)(第6號)條例草案》(條例草案)提供實施國別報告的具體法律框架。該條例草案於2017年12月29日刋憲,並於2018年7月4日獲立法會通過。《2018年稅務(修訂)(第6號)條例》於2018年7月13日生效,為在香港實施國別報告訂定法律框架。

提交國別申報表(當中包括一份國別報告)的規定,只適用於周年綜合集團收入達到指明門檻款額(即68億港元)的跨國企業集團(須申報集團)。

就須申報集團而言,提交國別申報表的主要責任須由屬香港稅務居民的最終母實體(香港最終母實體)承擔,而並非其他屬香港稅務居民的成員實體(香港實體)。香港最終母實體須就每段始於2018年1月1日或之後的會計期提交國別申報表。另外,香港最終母實體亦可就開始日期介乎2016年1月1日至2017年12月31日的會計期,自願提交國別申報表。

凡須申報集團的最終母實體並非香港稅務居民,如符合任何以下條件,該集團的一個香港實體須履行提交國別申報表的次級責任:

  • 該最終母實體無須在其所屬的稅務居留地管轄區提交國別報告;
  • 最終母實體所屬的管轄區與香港之間,訂有可容許自動交換資料的現行國際協議,但在提交國別申報表的限期前,該管轄區與香港之間,並無有效的交換國別報告的安排;
  • 因系統失誤導致該管轄區未能交換國別報告,而稅務局局長已將該事宜知會有關的香港實體。

即使符合上述其中一項條件,如有以下情況,有關的香港實體亦無須提交國別申報表:

  • 有關須申報集團的另一間香港實體,已就有關會計期,提交國別申報表;或
  • 有關須申報集團已授權某成員實體作為代母實體,代表該集團提交國別報告,而國別報告已由代母實體在香港或在與香港設有交換安排的管轄區提交。

各香港實體均須在相關的會計期結束後的3個月內,向本局提交通知,載列可確定提交國別申報表責任的資料。如須申報集團有多於一個香港實體,該香港實體如非負責提交國別申報表,及已有另一個香港實體提交該通知,該香港實體便無須提交通知。在實際執行上,評稅主任會向已提交通知的實體,或被認為有責任提交國別申報表的任何其他實體,發出要求提交國別申報表的通知書。

提交國別申報表的期限是相關會計期完結後的12個月內,或評稅主任在通知書上指明的日期(以較早者為準)。

申報實體可聘用服務提供者,代為提交國別申報表或相關的通知。申報實體未有遵從有關的規定,例如未有提交國別申報表、在國別申報表內填報誤導性、虛假或不準確的資料可招致罰則。部分罰則的條文亦適用於服務提供者。

 

 返回頁首


提交通知及申報表

本局現已開發國別報告網站,以便香港實體處理下列有關國別報告的事宜:

  • 呈交國別報告通知;
  • 呈交更改地址通知;
  • 提交國別申報表;及
  • 收取或發出有關國別報告的訊息。

請按這裡登入國別報告網站。

香港實體在使用國別報告網站的服務前,需於網站登記國別報告帳戶。獲授權為該實體登記國別報告帳戶的人士必須持有電子證書(機構)“具自動交換資料功能”,以供核實其身分。有關申請該電子證書的詳情,請瀏覽香港郵政核證機關網頁。

如果香港實體打算讓服務提供者或負責管理並非法團的香港實體的人士(並非法團實體管理者)代為登記/操作其國別報告帳戶,須先向本局提交登記/操作國別報告帳戶授權書(IR1465表格)。請注意,服務提供者或並非法團實體管理者所授權的人士必須持有電子證書(機構)“具自動交換資料功能”,以供核實其身分。

如服務提供者或並非法團實體管理者代表多於一個香港實體登記/操作國別報告帳戶和提交國別申報表,可向本局提交登記/操作國別報告帳戶的代辦人參考編號申請表(IR1466表格),要求發出一個代辦人參考編號,籍以單一登入方式,檢索所有其代表的香港實體的國別報告帳戶。

國別報告(屬國別申報表的一部分)必須以可延伸標記語言(XML)文件形式制作,理由是XML文件可被驗證,而且可用作已實施國別報告規定的不同管轄區之間的共通媒介,供交換國別報告之用。為此,本局已參照經合組織所發出的國別報告XML資料架構第1.0.1版本(CbC XML Schema v1.0.1),制定一份XML資料架構。該份資料架構已具體說明向本局提交國別報告所須採用的資料結構和格式。請按以下連結,下載最新版本的資料架構及相關的用戶指引:

 

 返回頁首


自願提交國別申報表

有些管轄區選擇以2016年1月1日當日或之後開始的會計期,作為首個實施國別報告規定的會計期。這些管轄區可要求屬其稅務居民而符合以下情況的成員實體向其提交國別報告(本地交表) — 該成員實體是某個須申報集團的其中一員,而該集團的最終母實體是另一管轄區的稅務居民,但這另一管轄區沒有就相同的會計期實施提交國別報告的規定。由於香港是以始於2018年1月1日或之後的會計期作為實施國別報告規定的會計期,若某個須申報集團的最終母實體屬香港稅務居民(香港須申報集團),其屬下設於其他管轄區的成員實體可能須就2016年1月1日至2017年12月31日期間開始的會計期(提早申報期)遵從本地交表的規定。為減輕香港須申報集團其成員實體面對肩負本地交表的責任,香港最終母實體可向本局就提早申報期自願提交國別申報表,當中的國別報告因而可交換到有關的管轄區。凡上文所述的關乎國別報告的規定,都適用於自願提交國別申報表的安排,但下述情況除外:

  • 有意就提早申報期自願提交國別申報表的香港最終母實體無須提交通知;
  • 香港最終母實體或其服務提供者/並非法團實體管理者可在登記國別報告帳戶後,使用國別報告網站要求並填寫國別申報表;
  • 如提早申報期始於2016年1月1日至2016年3月31日期間,提交國別申報表的限期為2018年3月31日;
  • 如提早申報期始於2016年4月1日至2017年12月31日期間,提交國別申報表的限期為有關會計期結束後的12個月。

根據《稅務條例》第58E(2)條,香港最終母實體可在提交期限前,就始於2016年1月1日當日或之後而在2018年1月1日之前的會計期,自願提交國別申報表,相關提交期限為會計期結束後的12個月屆滿之日。自2019年4月1日起,本局不接受就2018年3月31日或之前結束的會計期自願提交的國別申報表。根據雙邊交換安排,就會計期始於2016年的國別報告,香港須於會計期結束後18個月內與締約夥伴交換;而就會計期始於2017年的國別報告,則須於會計期結束後15個月內交換。

屬香港須申報集團者請注意,集團能否因向本局自願提交國別申報表而免除在某稅務管轄區的本地交表責任,須視乎該稅務管轄區的提交國別報告的規定。

 

 返回頁首


自動交換國別報告

香港會以《多邊稅收徵管互助公約》(《多邊公約》)作為與其他稅務管轄區交換國別報告的主要平台。為此,政府於2018年2月2日制定《2018年稅務(修訂)條例》,賦權行政長官會同行政會議作出命令,在香港實施《多邊公約》。行政長官會同行政會議於2018年7月10日作出《稅務(稅收徵管互助公約)令》。自2018年9月1日起,《多邊公約》在香港具有效力。

由於《多邊公約》並不適用於始於2016年1月1日和2018年12月31日之間的會計期,香港需要與全面性避免雙重課稅協定的締約稅務管轄區就有關會計期訂立交換國別報告的過渡性安排。至今,香港已與下列稅務管轄區訂立此等過渡性安排:

稅務管轄區 首次交換國別報告的年份
奧地利 2017
加拿大 2017
法國 2016
根西島 2017
印尼 2017
愛爾蘭 2016
意大利 2018
日本 2017
澤西島 2017
韓國 2017
拉脫維亞 2018
馬耳他 2017
墨西哥 2017
荷蘭 2017
新西蘭 2017
葡萄牙 2017
南非 2016
英國 2016

此外,內地與香港同意根據全面性避免雙重課稅安排下達成的雙邊安排進行自動交換國別報告。該安排適用於始於2018年1月1日或之後的會計期。

你可在經合組織的網站內查閱更多有關香港與其他管轄區之間交換國別報告的資料:

https://www.oecd.org/tax/beps/country-by-country-exchange-relationships.htm

 

 返回頁首


適當使用國別報告所載的資料

BEPS第13項行動的《最終報告》列明國別報告所載的資料,只可用於以下三方面(准許用途):

  • 以宏觀方式作出轉讓定價的風險評估;
  • 評估其他與侵蝕稅基及轉移利潤活動相關的風險;及
  • 在適當情況下進行經濟和統計分析。
     

本局承諾會按照BEPS第13項行動的《最終報告》所列的准許用途使用國別報告所載的資料。本局不會單憑國別報告的資料而對納稅人的入息進行《稅務條例》所規定的評稅或重新評稅。

本局不會以國別報告的資料取代就個別交易和定價所作的詳細轉讓定價分析(即根據全面功能分析和全面可比擬性分析所作的轉讓定價分析)。國別報告的資料本身並不構成某項轉讓定價是否恰當的確實證據,本局亦不會使用國別報告的資料來提出以全球公式分攤入息為依據的轉讓定價建議。任何不當使用國別報告資料的違規情況,都會按相關交換安排的規定予以披露;而在相關主管當局的協商程序中,將對任何基於國別報告資料所作的不當稅務調整作出讓步。

不過,本局可能會在籌劃稅務審核或調查時,使用國別報告的資料,又或會在進行稅務審核期間,以國別報告的資料為依據,就跨國企業集團的轉讓定價安排或其他稅務事宜作進一步查問;而此等查問無須局限於特別關乎本局從國別報告資料中識別的潛在風險。例如,本局或會以國別報告的資料(如成員實體的詳情)為依據,查問從其他資料來源識別的稅務事宜,或查問在稅務審核或調查期間產生的稅務問題。

「評估其他與侵蝕稅基及轉移利潤活動相關的風險」是指以宏觀方式評估可能導致某稅務管轄區的稅基受到侵蝕的稅務風險。在實際情況中,儘管國別報告的資料可用於識別反映潛在稅務風險的指標,但作出進一步查問後,往往能令主管當局明瞭該等風險是由哪些轉讓定價安排所引致。因此,本局只會使用國別報告的資料進行風險評估和在稅務審核或調查期間提出查問。本局不會把國別報告的資料作為證實某跨國企業集團正以某些方式侵蝕稅基及轉移利潤的決定性證據。

 

 返回頁首


國別報告網站試行計劃

為使香港實體了解國別報告網站的操作,本局繼續為該網站進行試行計劃,並歡迎香港實體試用網站所提供的功能。

在參加試行計劃前,香港實體應:

如有任何關於試行計劃安排的查詢,請電郵至[email protected]

 

 返回頁首


有關國別報告的資料

稅務條例

經合組織的資料

 

 返回頁首


常見問題

 返回頁首


查詢

如有任何關於國別報告的查詢,請電郵到下列電郵地址: