Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Prosecution Cases > Press Content

Press Content

Taxpayer fined for filing incorrect tax returns

*************************************************

A taxpayer was today (February 6) fined a total of $21,300 after pleading guilty at the Shatin Magistracy to charges of making incorrect tax returns.

The defendant was charged with filing incorrect tax returns for the years of assessment 2000-2001 and 2001-2002 by making incorrect statements in connection with the claim for dependent parent allowance. This was contrary to section 80(2)(b) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

He declared that in each of the two years of assessment, he had contributed $12,000 or more towards the maintenance of the dependant. The Inland Revenue Department later found that the dependant passed away on December 27, 1995.

A spokesman for the Inland Revenue Department reminded people that making an incorrect statement in connection with a claim for any deduction or allowance under the ordinance was an offence. An offender is liable to a maximum fine of $10,000 plus a further fine of three times the amount of tax undercharged.

Ends/Tuesday, February 6, 2007

NNNN

 

back to top

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS

新闻内容

纳税人填报不正确报税表被判罚款

***************

    一名纳税人今日(二月六日)在沙田裁判法院承认填报不正确报税表,被判罚款共 21,300 元。

    被告被控在填报 2000/2001 及 2001/2002 课税年度的个别人士报税表时,不正确地申索供养父母免税额,触犯《税务条例》第 80(2)(b)条。

    被告声称在该两年度每年均给予一名受养人 12,000 元或以上作为生活费。税务局其后发现该名受养人其实已于 1995 年 12 月 27 日去世。

    税务局发言人提醒纳税人,根据《税务条例》规定,申索任何扣除或免税额时,若作出不正确的陈述,即属违法,可被罚款最高 10,000 元,另加相等于少征收的税款三倍的罚款。

2007 年 2 月 6 日(星期二)