Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

2019-20 Budget – Concessionary Measures

In his 2019-20 Budget, the Financial Secretary proposed the following concessionary measures, all of which require legislative amendments before implementation.

Highlights of the measures and implementation details are set out in the following paragraphs. Answers to frequently asked questions (FAQ) and illustrative examples showing how the proposed measures would reduce taxpayers’ salaries tax and tax under personal assessment are also provided.

You may use the Tax Calculator provided in GovHK to calculate your salaries tax and tax under personal assessment if the above proposals are implemented.

 back to top


Reducing profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment for the year of assessment 2018/19

The Financial Secretary proposed a one-off reduction of profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment for the year of assessment 2018/19 by 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. This measure will be effected by amending the Inland Revenue Ordinance.  

For profits tax, the ceiling of the tax reduction is applied to each business. For salaries tax, the ceiling is applied to each individual taxpayer; but for couples jointly assessed, the ceiling is applied to each couple (i.e. capped at $20,000 in total). For personal assessment, the ceiling is applied to each single taxpayer or married person who elects for personal assessment separately from his/her spouse. If a taxpayer elects for personal assessment jointly with his/her spouse, the tax reduction is capped at $20,000 for the couple.

The proposed tax reduction is not applicable to property tax. Individuals with rental income, if eligible for personal assessment, may be able to enjoy such reduction under personal assessment.

A taxpayer who is separately chargeable to salaries tax and profits tax can enjoy tax reduction under each of the tax types. For a taxpayer having business profits or rental income and electing for personal assessment, the reduction will be based on the tax payable under personal assessment. It might be different from the amount of tax reduction he would get if he was not assessed under personal assessment. The exact position will need to be evaluated case by case.

To apply for personal assessment, if eligible, the taxpayer should complete Part 6 of his tax return for individuals (BIR60) for the year of assessment 2018/19. Individuals having salaries income only, but no business profits and rental income, need not elect for personal assessment.

The proposed reduction will reduce taxpayers’ amount of tax payable for the year of assessment 2018/19. Taxpayers should file their profits tax returns and tax returns for individuals for the year of assessment 2018/19, to be issued in coming April and May respectively, as usual. Upon enactment of the relevant legislation, the Inland Revenue Department will effect the reduction in the final assessment. For any final assessment for 2018/19 issued before the enactment of the law, the Inland Revenue Department will make a reassessment after the enactment. It is expected that excess tax paid will be refunded starting from late July 2019. Taxpayers are not required to make any applications or enquiries to the Department.

The proposed tax reduction will only be applicable to the final tax for the year of assessment 2018/19, but not to the provisional tax of the same year. Therefore, taxpayers are still required to pay their provisional tax on time despite the proposed reduction. The provisional tax paid will be applied to pay the final tax for the year of assessment 2018/19 and the provisional tax for the year of assessment 2019/20. Excess balance, if any, will be refunded.

 back to top


Waiving business registration fees for 2019-20 

The Financial Secretary proposed to waive business registration fees for the year 2019-20.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS

2019-20年度财政预算案宽减措施

在2019-20年度财政预算案中,财政司司长建议以下宽减措施,所有建议须经立法程序才可实施:

有关上述建议的要点和执行细节,请参考以下资料,当中包括常见问题的答案和说明上述建议如何让纳税人节省薪俸税及个人入息课税税款的示例

你还可使用在「香港政府一站通」内提供的税款计算机,计算建议实施后你应缴的薪俸税及个人入息课税税款。

 返回页首


2018/19课税年度利得税、薪俸税及个人入息课税的税款宽减 

财政司司长建议一次性宽减2018/19课税年度百分之七十五的利得税、薪俸税及个人入息课税,每宗个案以20,000元为上限。这项宽减建议须经修订《税务条例》才可实施。

利得税的宽减上限以每个业务计算。薪俸税的宽减上限以每个个人计算;如果夫妇是合并评税,则以每对夫妇计算(即上限合共20,000元)。至于个人入息课税,未婚人士的宽减上限以每个个人计算。已婚人士选择与配偶分开以个人入息课税方式评税,宽减上限亦以每个个人计算;若纳税人与配偶共同选择个人入息课税,宽减上限是夫妇二人合共20,000元。

今次的宽减并不适用于物业税,但赚取租金收入的个别人士,如符合资格,或可通过选择个人入息课税而获得宽减。

一个纳税人如果须同时缴纳薪俸税和利得税,他的薪俸税和利得税税款都可获得宽减。纳税人如果有营业利润或租金收入,并选择以个人入息课税方式评税,宽减额须按个人入息课税的税款计算,这或会与不选择个人入息课税所得的不同,最终宽减额须按每一个案的实际情况才能确定。

纳税人如符合资格并打算申请个人入息课税,可填妥2018/19课税年度个别人士报税表(BIR60)的第6部。只有薪俸入息而没有营业利润和租金收入的人士,毋须选择个人入息课税。

这项宽减会减低纳税人在2018/19课税年度的应缴税款。纳税人只须如常填报分别将于本年4月及5月份发出的2018/19课税年度利得税和个别人士报税表,待有关法例通过后,税务局便会在评税时作出宽减。至于在法例通过前已发出的2018/19课税年度税单,税务局会在法例通过后安排重新评税,预期可在2019年7月底开始向有关人士发还多缴的税款,纳税人无须提出申请或向税务局查询。

建议的宽减只适用于2018/19课税年度最后评税,并不适用于该年度的暂缴税,纳税人仍须依时缴付该暂缴税。已缴交的暂缴税会用以支付2018/19课税年度最后评税的应缴税款及2019/20课税年度的暂缴税税款。如尚有余额,才作退还。

 返回页首


宽免2019-20年度商业登记费

财政司司长建议宽免2019-20年度商业登记费