Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Note:

On 11 April 2017, the Government announced that it would introduce legislative amendments to tighten up the existing exemption arrangement for Hong Kong permanent resident (“HKPR”), to the effect that, unless specifically exempted or otherwise provided in the law, acquisition of more than 1 residential property under a single instrument executed on or after 12 April 2017 will be subject to the proposed new AVD flat rate at 15%, even if the purchaser/transferee is a HKPR who is acting on his/her own behalf and is not a beneficial owner of any other residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquisition. Please refer to the FAQs and the illustrative examples for AVD – Proposed new AVD rate: acquisition of more than 1 residential property under one single instrument for further details.

The following illustrative examples are prepared based on the Government’s current proposals, which have to be put into effect through the enactment of legislation and are subject to amendment during the legislative process.

*

1.

Q:

Mr A is a HKPR and owns a residential property (the first property) in Hong Kong.  On 5 November 2016, he entered into a provisional agreement for sale and purchase (PASP) to acquire another residential property (the second property) at the purchase price of $3M.  The formal agreement for sale and purchase (ASP) was signed on 18 November 2016.    What is the amount of AVD payable for the acquisition of the second property?

 
 

A:

Since Mr A owns another residential property in Hong Kong on the date of acquisition of the second property, AVD at the proposed new AVD rate will apply.  The AVD payable is $450,000 ($3M x 15%).

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

Same as Example 1, but the PASP for acquisition of the second property was entered into on 31 October 2016.   What is the amount of AVD payable for the acquisition of the second property?

 
 

A:

In this case, the second property is regarded as having been acquired on 31 October 2016, the date of the PASP.  Hence, AVD at Scale 1 rates will apply.  The AVD payable is $90,000 ($3M x 3%).

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

Mr B, a HKPR, and Ms C, jointly entered into a PASP to purchase a residential property on 1 December 2016 at a price of $4M.  On the date of acquisition of the residential property, both Mr B and Ms C did not own any residential property in Hong Kong.  Ms C is not a HKPR and not a close relative of Mr B.  What is the amount of AVD payable?

 
 

A:

If a residential property is jointly acquired by a HKPR and a non-HKPR, who is not a close relative of the HKPR, AVD at the proposed new AVD rate will apply.   In the above situation, the amount of AVD payable is $600,000 (i.e. 4M x 15%).   Furthermore, since Ms C is a non-HKPR and not a close relative of Mr B, the PASP is also chargeable with Buyer’s Stamp Duty (BSD) of $600,000 ($4M x 15%).

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

Mr D is a HKPR and does not own any residential property in Hong Kong.  On 1 December 2016, he entered into an agreement for sale to acquire a residential property at a purchase price of $25M.  On 30 December 2016, his spouse Ms E, who is a HKPR and owned a residential property in Hong Kong on that date, was added in the assignment as one of the joint owners of the property.   Both Mr D and Ms E acted on their own behalf in acquiring the property. What is the amount of AVD payable?

 
 

A:

On the date of acquisition of the residential property, Mr D did not own any residential property in Hong Kong.  Scale 2 rates will apply.  The agreement will be charged with AVD of $1,062,500 ($25M x 4.25%).  Although Mr D and Ms E are close relatives, since Ms E owns a residential property in Hong Kong on the date of assignment, the assignment will be chargeable with AVD at Scale 2 rates, which is computed by reference to the stated consideration or the value of the property, whichever is the higher, less part of the stamp duty representing the share of the interest of Mr D in the property.  Accordingly, AVD of $531,250 [($25M x 4.25%) x 50%] will be charged on the assignment.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

Same as Example 4, but Ms E does not own any residential property in Hong Kong on the date of assignment.  What is the amount of AVD payable?

 
 

A:

The agreement will be charged with AVD at Scale 2 rates of $1,062,500 ($25M x 4.25%).  Since Ms E does not own any residential property in Hong Kong on the date of assignment, the assignment is not chargeable with any AVD but will be charged with a fixed duty of $100 only.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

Same as Example 4, but Ms E is not Mr D’s close relative.  What is the amount of AVD payable?

 
 

A:

The agreement will be charged with AVD at Scale 2 rates of $1,062,500 ($25M x 4.25%).  Since Mr D and Ms E are not close relatives, the assignment will be charged with AVD at the proposed new AVD rate, which is computed by reference to the stated consideration or the value of the property, whichever is the higher, less part of the stamp duty representing the share of the interest of Mr D in the property.  Accordingly, AVD of $1,875,000 [($25M x 15%) x 50%] will be charged on the assignment.  Besides, Mr D is regarded as having sold 50% share of the property within 6 months.  Special Stamp Duty (“SSD”) of $2.5M [$25M x 50% x 20%] is also payable on the assignment.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

Mr F is a HKPR who owns a single residential property (the original property) in Hong Kong.  On 20 November 2016, he entered into a PASP to acquire another residential property (the new property) at a purchase price of $6M.  On 15 May 2017, he entered into a PASP to dispose of the original property.  Can Mr F claim a partial refund of the AVD paid?

 
 

A:

Since Mr F owns another residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquisition of the new property, AVD at the proposed new AVD rate will apply.  The AVD payable for acquisition of the new property is $900,000 ($6M x 15%).  Since the original property was sold within 6 months from the date of assignment of the new property, Mr F can apply for a refund of part of the stamp duty paid (being the difference between the AVD payable at Scale 2 rates and the proposed new AVD rate) after the disposal transaction has been completed.  The refund amount is $720,000 ($900,000 – $6M x 3%).

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主頁 > 常見問題  > 闡明「從價印花稅」的應用及計算方法例子 - 建議的新「從價印花稅」稅率

注意:
政府於2017年4月11日宣佈將會提出法例修訂,以收緊現時為香港永久性居民買家而設的寬免安排。該修訂建議將規定,除獲特定豁免或另有法律規定外,於2017年4月12日或之後簽立以買賣或轉讓住宅物業的文書,即使買方或承讓方是代表自己行事,且在香港沒有擁有任何其他住宅物業的香港永久性居民,若以一份文書取得多於1個住宅物業,均須按劃一為15%的稅率繳納「從價印花稅」。詳情請參閱「從價印花稅」的常見問題 和應用及計算方法例子 - 建議的新「從價印花稅」稅率: 以一份文書取得多於1個住宅物業。

請注意以下闡明例子是根據政府現時的建議擬備,而這些建議須經立法落實,並可能在立法過程中有所修訂。

1.

問:

A先生為香港永久性居民,他在香港已擁有一個住宅物業〔首物業〕。在2016年11月5日,他簽立臨時買賣協議,以300萬元購入另一住宅物業〔次物業〕。正式買賣協議在2016年11月18日簽立。就購買次物業須繳納的「從價印花稅」是多少?

  

答:

由於A先生在購買次物業時,在香港已擁有住宅物業,「從價印花稅」會按建議的新「從價印花稅」稅率計算,款額為450,000元〔即300萬元x 15%〕。

  返回頁首


2.

問:

如例1,但臨時買賣協議在2016年10月31日簽立。就購買次物業須繳納的「從價印花稅」是多少?

  

答:

在上述例子,次物業會被視為是在2016年10月31日取得〔即臨時買賣協議的簽立日期〕,第1標準稅率將適用,款額為90,000元〔即300萬元x3%〕。

  返回頁首


3.

問:

B先生為香港永久性居民,他和C女士在2016年12月1日以400萬元共同簽立臨時買賣協議購入一個住宅物業。C女士並非香港永久性居民,亦非B先生近親。在購買該物業時, B先生和C女士在香港沒有擁有其他住宅物業。就購買該物業須繳納的「從價印花稅」是多少?

  

答:

因住宅物業是由一位香港永久性居民及一位並非其近親的非香港永久性居民共同取得,建議的新「從價印花稅」稅率將適用。在上述情況,「從價印花稅」的款額為600,000元〔即400萬元x 15%〕。由於C女士並非香港永久性居民,亦不是B先生的近親,有關臨時買賣協議亦須繳納「買家印花稅」600,000元〔即400萬元x15%〕。

  返回頁首


4.

問:

D先生為香港永久性居民,他在香港沒有擁有其他住宅物業。在2016年12月1日,他簽立買賣協議,以2,500萬元購入一個住宅物業。他在2016年12月30日的轉易契加入配偶E女士成為物業的其中一名聯權擁有人。E女士為香港永久性居民,並於該日已在香港擁有其他住宅物業。D先生及E女士在有關交易均是代表自己行事,須繳納的「從價印花稅」是多少?

  

答:

由於在購買有關物業時,D先生沒有在香港擁有住宅物業,就有關買賣協議,須以第2標準稅率繳納「從價印花稅」,款額為1,062,500元〔即2,500萬元x4.25%〕。雖然E女士與D先生是近親,由於E女士已在香港擁有其他住宅物業,轉易契須以第2標準稅率,按物業的售價或物業價值〔以較高者為準〕計算應繳納的「從價印花稅」,然後減去D先生所佔的業權部分的印花稅。轉易契的「從價印花稅」款額為531,250元〔(即2,500萬元x4.25%) x 50%〕。

  返回頁首


5.

問:

如例4,但E女士於轉易契當日在香港並沒有擁有其他住宅物業。須繳納的「從價印花稅」是多少?

  

答:

就有關買賣協議,須以第2標準稅率繳納「從價印花稅」,款額為1,062,500元〔即2,500萬元x4.25%〕。由於E女士於轉易契當日在香港並沒有擁有其他住宅物業,轉易契無須予以徵收「從價印花稅」,只須徵收定額印花稅100元。

  返回頁首


6.

問:

如例4,但E女士並非D先生的近親。須繳納的「從價印花稅」是多少?

  

答:

就有關買賣協議,須以第2標準稅率繳納「從價印花稅」,款額為1,062,500元〔即2,500萬元x4.25%〕。由於D先生和E女士不是近親,轉易契須以建議的新「從價印花稅」稅率,按物業的售價或物業價值〔以較高者為準〕計算應繳納的「從價印花稅」,然後減去D先生所佔的業權部分的印花稅。轉易契的「從價印花稅」款額為1,875,000元〔(即2,500萬元x 15%) x 50%〕。另外,D先生會被視為把50%業權於6個月內出售,就有關轉易契,須繳納「額外印花稅」2,500,000元〔即2,500萬元x50%x20%〕。

  返回頁首


7.

問:

F先生是香港永久性居民,他在香港已擁有一個住宅物業〔原物業〕。他在2016年11月20日簽立臨時買賣協議,以600萬元購入另一住宅物業〔新物業〕。在2017年5月15日,他簽立臨時買賣協議出售原物業。F先生是否可以申請退還部分「從價印花稅」?

  

答:

由於F先生在購入新物業時在香港已擁有住宅物業,因此,在購入新物業時,須按建議的新「從價印花稅」稅率繳納「從價印花稅」,款額為900,000元〔600萬元x 15%〕。因F先生在新物業的轉易契簽立日期後的6個月內售出原物業,他可以在出售原物業的交易完成後,申請退還部分的「從價印花稅」(以建議的新「從價印花稅」稅率和第2標準稅率計算的差額)。可退還的稅款為720,000元〔900,000元– 600萬元x 3%〕。

返回頁首