Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Double Taxation Relief and Exchange of Information Arrangements

Foreword – "the Comprehensive Arrangement" has become effective

The Mainland and Hong Kong signed the "Arrangement between the Mainland of China and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income"("the Comprehensive Arrangement") on 21 August 2006. The Comprehensive Arrangement has become effective on 8 December 2006. The part relating to Hong Kong tax in the Comprehensive Arrangement applies to income derived in any year of assessment commencing on or after 1 April 2007, while the part relating to Mainland tax applies to income derived in any taxable year commencing on or after 1 January 2007.

1.

Q:

According to the Comprehensive Arrangement, under what circumstances will a Hong Kong resident working on the Mainland be exempted from paying the Mainland tax or be allowed a tax credit against the tax paid?

  

A:

Under the Comprehensive Arrangement, the remuneration that a Hong Kong resident working on the Mainland received may be exempted from taxation on the Mainland if he satisfies all of the following 3 conditions. These 3 conditions are:

  • He was present on the Mainland for a period or periods not exceeding in the aggregate 183 days in any 12-month period commencing or ending in the taxable year concerned;
  • The remuneration is not paid by his Mainland employer or its representative;
  • The remuneration is not borne by a permanent establishment set up by the employer on the Mainland.


If any one of the above conditions is not satisfied, the remuneration will be subject to taxation on the Mainland. If the remuneration is also subject to taxation in Hong Kong, a tax credit will be allowed for the tax paid on the Mainland under the Comprehensive Arrangement, or the income on which tax has been levied on the Mainland will be exempted from taxation in accordance with s.8(1A)(c) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

But please note that the directors' fees and other similar sums derived by a Hong Kong resident in his capacity as a member of the board of directors of a Mainland company are subject to taxation on the Mainland. Such directors' fees, etc. are not subject to taxation in Hong Kong.

  back to top


2.

Q:

How is the number of days of "presence" on the Mainland or in Hong Kong counted?

  

A:

According to international practice, the day when one is on the Mainland (or in Hong Kong as appropriate), and the day of arrival or departure, irrespective of the time and the purpose of the stay, will be counted as one day.

  back to top


3.

Q:

What is meant by a Hong Kong resident individual under the Comprehensive Arrangement?

  

A:

Article 4(1)(2) of the Comprehensive Arrangement states that a Hong Kong resident individual means an individual who ordinarily resides in Hong Kong, or an individual who stays in Hong Kong for more than 180 days during a year of assessment or for more than 300 days in two consecutive years of assessment (one of which is the relevant year of assessment).

  back to top


4.

Q:

Is the holder of a Hong Kong Permanent Identity Card necessarily a Hong Kong resident?

  

A:

Not necessarily. One has to consider whether the individual "ordinarily resides in Hong Kong".

  back to top


5.

Q:

What is meant by "ordinarily resides in Hong Kong"?

  

A:

Generally, an individual "ordinarily resides" in Hong Kong if he has a permanent home in Hong Kong where he or his family lives. Other factors taken into consideration include: the number of days he stays in Hong Kong, whether he has a permanent residence in Hong Kong, whether he has property overseas for residence and whether he resides mainly in Hong Kong or overseas.

  back to top


6.

Q:

On the definition of Hong Kong resident individual, how is the number of days in the condition "stays for more than 180/300 days" calculated, i.e. continuous or in the aggregate?

  

A:

Calculations based on the continuous or the aggregate are valid. A person who stays in Hong Kong for a period or periods amounting to more than 180 days during the relevant year of assessment, or for a period or periods amounting to more than 300 days in two consecutive years of assessment (one of which is the year of claim), will be regarded as a Hong Kong resident.

  back to top


7.

Q:

If an individual is at the same time both a resident of Hong Kong and of the Mainland under the definition set out in the Comprehensive Arrangement, how will the problem of dual residence status be resolved?

  

A:

In order to solve the problem of an individual being a resident of both sides at the same time, the Comprehensive Arrangement has adopted the criteria set out in the model text of OECD. The person will be ascribed as a resident of one side in accordance with such factors as: which side he has a permanent home, which side he has a more close economic relationship, which side he customarily resides in, and by mutual agreement of the competent authorities of the two sides.

  back to top


8.

Q:

Which 12 months does the phrase "any 12-month period commencing or ending in the taxable period concerned" refer to?

  

A:

The phrase "any 12-month period commencing or ending in the taxable period concerned" connotes two concepts, namely, that the number of days of presence may straddle over 2 years and that a floating calculation may be adopted. In fact, the 12 months in question may commence or end on any day in the taxable year concerned.

Take Hong Kong as an example: the year of assessment 2007/08 refers to the period from 1 April 2007 to 31 March 2008. Any 12-month period commencing or ending in the year of assessment 2007/08 means any period lasting for 12 months provided that the commencement or closing day of such period falls within the period between 1 April 2007 and 31 March 2008. In other words, such period may start as early as 2 April 2006 (the closing day will be 1 April 2007) or it may start on 31 March 2008 at the latest (the closing day will be 30 March 2009).

As an interim arrangement, both Sides agreed not to count the days before the Comprehensive Arrangement becomes applicable. In other words, Hong Kong would only consider whether the Mainland resident concerned was present in Hong Kong for over 183 days in any 12-month period from 1 April 2007 to 30 March 2009; the Mainland would consider whether the Hong Kong resident concerned was present on the Mainland for over 183 days in any 12-month period from 1 January 2007 to 30 December 2008.

  back to top


9.

Q:

Please illustrate with an example the phrase "present in the other side for a period or periods not exceeding in the aggregate 183 days in any 12-month period commencing or ending in the taxable period concerned".

  

A:

Take the case of the year of assessment 2010/11 in Hong Kong as an example: the period that counts is from 2 April 2009 to 30 March 2012. Only if the Mainland resident concerned is present in Hong Kong for not more than 183 days in any 12 months within this period of time will he satisfy the condition of "present not exceeding 183 days" for tax exemption.

Take the case of the taxable year of 2010 on the Mainland as an example: the period that counts is from 2 January 2009 to 30 December 2011. Only if the Hong Kong resident concerned is present on the Mainland for not more than 183 days in any 12 months within this period of time will he satisfy the condition of "present not exceeding 183 days" for tax exemption.

  back to top


10.

Q:

In calculating tax liabilities, how will the number of days a Hong Kong resident was present on the Mainland be counted?

  

A:

For the purpose of tax computation, the number of days of presence for each period will be counted under the rule of the "days of presence minus one". For example, if the date of arrival is 2 January and the date of departure is 5 January, the number of days to be counted should be three instead of four, which is the number of days of presence. Then the number for each period will be added up to arrive at the total number of days of presence for the relevant year of assessment. Since a lot of people work across the border, the State Administration of Taxation and the Hong Kong Inland Revenue Department have reached a consensus that if a taxpayer provides services on both sides on the same day, it will be counted as present on the Mainland for half a day. If he travels between the Mainland and Hong Kong on a particular day and only provides services on the Mainland, it will be counted as present on the Mainland for one day.

  back to top


11.

Q:

If a Mainland resident derives income from employment in Hong Kong, but he does not satisfy all the 3 conditions for exemption and his presence (e.g. his remuneration is paid by a Hong Kong employer) and he visits Hong Kong for not more than 60 days during the year of assessment, would he be exempt from Hong Kong salaries tax?

  

A:

Hong Kong adopts the principle of "preferential treatment". That is where the Comprehensive Arrangement and the Inland Revenue Ordinance contain different provisions relating to the same matter, preference will be given to those provisions which are most beneficial to the taxpayers. In the above situation, although the Mainland resident does not satisfy the exemption conditions under the Comprehensive Arrangement, he will still be exempt from tax under the Inland Revenue Ordinance for visiting Hong Kong for not more than 60 days during the year of assessment.

  back to top


12.

Q:

Are director fees treated in the same way as income from employment?

  

A:

Directors' fees and income from employment are not treated the same. Article 15 provides that directors' fees and other similar payments derived by a resident of One Side in his capacity as a member of the board of directors of a company which is a resident of the Other Side may be taxed in that Other Side. In other words, directors' fees received by a resident of either Side in his capacity as a director of a company may be taxed in the Side of which the company is a resident, irrespective of the period of his stay in either Side or the place where the services are actually rendered. Therefore, directors' fees derived by a Hong Kong resident in his capacity as a director of a Mainland company will all be subject to the individual income tax in the Mainland. Likewise, directors' fees derived by a Mainland resident in his capacity as a director of a Hong Kong company will all be subject to salaries tax in Hong Kong.

  back to top


13.

Q:

How does a Hong Kong resident claim tax benefits under the Comprehensive Arrangement in the Mainland?

  

A:

Tax benefits under the Comprehensive Arrangement should be claimed directly in the Mainland.  With effect from 1 November 2015, in the application for a certificate of Hong Kong resident status for the purpose of claiming tax benefits under the Comprehensive Arrangement for the Avoidance of Double Taxation between the Mainland and Hong Kong, an applicant is not required to attach a referral letter entitled 《關於請香港特別行政區稅務主管當局出具居民証明的函》.

  back to top


14.

Q:

For a partnership, how can it be regarded as "constituted under the laws of Hong Kong"?

  

A:

If the partnership agreement is signed in Hong Kong or the verbal agreement is concluded in Hong Kong, the partnership can be regarded as "constituted under the laws of Hong Kong".

  back to top


15.

Q:

If a taxpayer still has any questions on the Comprehensive Arrangement, any means for enquires?

  

A:

The taxpayer can always refer to the full text of the Comprehensive Arrangement and the Departmental Interpretation and Practice Note on the Comprehensive Arrangement already uploaded on IRD's homepage. If he still has any questions, he may call our hotline 187 8088.

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

前言—「全面性安排」已經生效

內地與香港於 2006 年 8 月 21 日簽署了「內地和香港特別行政區關於對所得避免雙重徵稅和防止偷漏稅的安排」(「全面性安排」)。「全面性安排」已於 2006 年 12 月 8 日生效。「全面性安排」在香港適用於 2007 年 4 月 1 日或以後開始的課稅年度中取得的所得,而內地則適用於 2007 年 1 月 1 日或以後開始的納稅年度中取得的所得。

*

1.

問:

香港居民在內地工作,在什麼情況下可按「全面性安排」獲免繳內地稅或所付內地稅款可獲抵免?

 
 

答:

在「全面性安排」下,香港居民在內地工作所得的報酬,若果同時符合以下 3 個條件,可以在內地免稅。這 3 個條件是:

  • 他在有關的納稅年度開始或終了的 12 個月中在內地停留連續或累計不超過 183 天;
  • 該項報酬並非由內地僱主支付或其代表支付;
  • 該項報酬不是由僱主設在內地的常設機構所負擔


若不符合以上任何一個條件,則有關報酬會在內地徵稅。如果有關報酬須同時在香港徵稅,在內地所繳稅款可以按「全面性安排」獲得稅收抵免,或者根據《稅務條例》第 8(1A)(c)條在內地已繳付稅款的入息可以獲得豁免。

但請注意,香港居民擔任內地公司的董事所收取的董事費及其他類似的款項,需要在內地徵稅。該董事費等在香港不用徵稅。

  返回頁首


*

2.

問:

怎樣計算「停留」在內地或香港的天數?

 
 

答:

會採用「身處當地天數」的方法。根據國際慣例,入境或出境的當天及在內地停留的期間,不論每天停留時間多少或停留原因,均當作一天計算。

  返回頁首


*

3.

問:

在「全面性安排」中,香港個人居民的定義是什麼?

 
 

答:

「全面性安排」第四條第一款第(二)項說明,香港個人居民是指通常居於香港的個人;或在有關的課稅年度內在香港逗留超過 180 天或在連續兩個課稅年度(其中一個是有關的課稅年度)內在香港逗留超過 300 天的個人。

  返回頁首


*

4.

問:

持有香港永久性居民身份證的人士是否就是香港個人居民?

 
 

答:

這個未必一定。我們要考慮的因素是有關人士是否「通常居於香港」。

  返回頁首


*

5.

問:

怎樣才算通常居於香港?

 
 

答:

一般而言,若個人在香港保留一永久性住所,用作他本人或其家人生活的地方,他會被視為通常居住於香港。其他會被考慮的因素包括:他在港逗留天數﹔在港是否有一個固定居所﹔在外地是否擁有物業作居住用途﹔他主要在香港還是在外地居住。

  返回頁首


*

6.

問:

在香港個人居民的定義方面,「逗留超過 180 天 / 300 天」是連續還是累計計算?

 
 

答:

無論是連續或累計計算均可。只要個人在有關的課稅年度內,在香港一次或多次逗留期間總共超過 180 天,或在兩個連續的課稅年度內 (其中一個是有關的課稅年度),在香港一次或多次逗留期間總共超過 300 天,會被視為香港居民。

  返回頁首


*

7.

問:

如根據「全面性安排」同時為香港及內地雙方居民的個人,怎樣解決雙重居民身分的問題?

 
 

答:

就解決同時為雙方個人居民的問題方面,「全面性安排」採納了 OECD 範本的標準,依次按照他在那一方有永久性住所、他與那一方的經濟關係較密切、他習慣性居住在那一方及雙方主管當局協商解決來決定他屬那一方居民。

  返回頁首


*

8.

問:

「在有關納稅年度開始或終了的任何十二個月中」指那十二個月?

 
 

答:

「在有關納稅年度開始或終了的任何十二個月中」這句子是有兩個含義的,一是可以跨年度計算有關的停留天數,二是可以移動計算。所說的十二個月可以在有關納稅年度的任何一日開始或終了。

以香港為例,在 2007 / 08 課稅年度開始或終了的任何 12 個月是指任何一段為期 12 個月的時段,其開始或結束日是在 2007 年 4 月 1 日至 2008 年 3 月 31 日這段時間內。換句話說,該時段最早可在 2006 年 4 月 2 日開始(結束日期為 2007 年 4 月 1 日),或最遲可在 2008 年 3 月 31 日開始(結束日期為 2009 年 3 月 30 日)。

作為過渡性安排,雙方同意不計算在「全面性安排」適用前的日子。因此,香港只會考慮有關的內地居民,在 2007 年 4 月 1 日至 2009 年 3 月 30 日這段期間的任何十二個月內,是否在港停留超過 183 天。內地則會考慮有關的香港居民,在 2007 年 1 月 1 日至 2008 年 12 月 30 日這段期間的任何十二個月內,是否在內地停留超過 183 天。

  返回頁首


*

9.

問:

請舉例解釋「在有關納稅年度開始或終了的任何十二個月中在另一方停留連續或累計不超過一百八十三天」?

 
 

答:

以香港 2008 / 09 課稅年度為例,我們要考慮的時段為 2007 年 4 月 2 日至 2010 年 3 月 30 日。如果有關的內地居民沒有在這段期間的任何十二個月內在港停留超過 183 天,他在 2008 / 09 課稅年度才符合在香港「停留期不超過 183 天」的免稅規定。

以內地 2008 納稅年度為例,我們要考慮的時段為 2007 年 1 月 2 日至 2009 年 12 月 30 日。如果有關的香港居民沒有在這段期間的任何十二個月內在內地停留超過 183 天,他在 2008 納稅年度才符合在內地「停留期不超過 183 天」的免稅規定。

  返回頁首


*

10.

問:

在計算稅額時,如何計算香港居民在內地停留的天數?

 
 

答:

在計算稅額時,每段停留期間的停留天數會採用「身處當地天數減 1」的方法處理,即如 1 月 2 日入境, 1 月 5 日出境,計三天而不是以身處當地天數計的四天;然後累計在相應納稅年度內的總停留天數。由於跨境工作的人數不少,國家稅務總局及香港稅務局已取得共識,如果同一天往返兩地,而在兩地均有提供服務,則按半天計算。如果在同一天往返兩地而只有在內地提供服務,則計算在內地停留 1 天。

  返回頁首


*

11.

問:

如果內地居民在香港因從事受僱工作取得收入,但他不符合「全面性安排」第十四條的免稅規定(例如他的報酬是由香港僱主支付),而他在有關課稅年度到訪香港不超過 60 天,他是否可獲在香港豁免繳納薪俸稅?

 
 

答:

香港一般遵循「孰優」原則,即以「全面性安排」或《稅務條例》何者對納稅人而言較優惠為準。在上述情況下,納稅人雖然不符合「全面性安排」的免稅規定,他仍可按《稅務條例》,因到訪香港不超過 60 天而無須在香港繳納薪俸稅。

  返回頁首


*

12.

問:

董事費收入與受僱收入的處理是否一樣?

 
 

答:

董事費和受僱收入的處理是不一樣的。「全面性安排」第十五條規定,一方居民作為另一方居民公司的董事會成員取得的董事費和其他類似款項,可以在該另一方徵稅。換句話說,兩地居民擔任公司董事而收取的董事費,公司居民地一方有徵稅權,不須考慮該董事在各地停留的天數和實際執行職務所在地。因此,香港居民擔任內地公司董事而收取的董事費,應全數在內地繳納個人所得稅;同樣地,內地居民擔任香港公司董事而收取的董事費,應全數在香港繳納薪俸稅。

  返回頁首


*

13.

問:

香港居民須辦理甚麼手續以在內地享受「全面性安排」下的待遇?

 
 

答:

申請人須在內地直接申請享受「全面性安排」下的待遇。自2015年11月1日起,為申請享受「全面性安排」下的待遇而提交居民身分證明書申請,申請人不需要夾附《關於請香港特別行政區稅務主管當局出具居民証明的函》。

  返回頁首


*

14.

問:

對一個「合夥」而言,怎樣才算是「根據香港的法律組成」的?

 
 

答:

如果有關的合夥協議書是在香港簽署的,或有關口頭協議是在香港議定的(concluded),則該合夥便算是「根據香港的法律組成」的。

  返回頁首


*

15.

問:

如果納稅人對「全面性安排」有甚麼不明白之處,有何途徑查詢 ?

 
 

答:

「全面性安排」的全文和有關「全面性安排」的解釋和執行細則均已上載本局網頁,納稅人可隨時參閱。如果納稅人仍有疑問,可於辦公時間內撥本局熱線 187 8088 查詢。