Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Qualifying Debt Instruments

*

1.

Q:

What is the tax concession or exemption available for qualifying debt instruments (QDI) issued before 25 March 2011?

 
 

A:

With effect from 24 May 1996, interest income and trading profits derived from a QDI issued in Hong Kong with an original maturity of not less than 5 years are subject to a concessionary tax rate equivalent to 50% of the normal profits tax rate. Commencing from the year of assessment 2003/04, this concession is expanded to cover a "medium term debt instrument" issued in Hong Kong on or after 5 March 2003 having an original maturity of less than 7 years but not less than 3 years. In addition, interest income and trading profits derived from a "long term debt instrument" issued in Hong Kong on or after 5 March 2003 with an original maturity of not less than 7 years are exempt from profits tax.

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

What is the tax concession or exemption available for QDI issued on or after 25 March 2011?

 
 

A:

From 25 March 2011 onwards, the 50% tax concession further extends to cover interest income and trading profits derived from a "short term debt instrument" issued on or after that date with a tenor of less than 3 years. The existing tax concession for "medium term debt instrument" and tax exemption for "long term debt instrument" issued before 25 March 2011 remain the same. However, the tax concession and exemption will not apply in relation to a QDI issued on or after 25 March 2011 if, at the time during which the interest income and trading profits is/are so received or accrued, the person is an associate of the issuer of the QDI. For definition of "associate", please see Q10.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

What is a QDI?

 
 

A:

It is a debt instrument specified in Part I of Schedule 6 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO) that:

(a) is in respect of a debt issue which in its entirety has been lodged with and cleared by the Central Moneymarket Unit operated by the Monetary Authority (HKMA);
 
(b) is issued by a person and at all relevant times has a credit rating acceptable to the HKMA from a credit rating agency recognized by the HKMA;
 
(c) where it was issued prior to 1 April 1999, has a minimum denomination of $500,000 or its equivalent in a foreign currency; or where it was issued on or after 1 April 1999, has a minimum denomination of $50,000 or its equivalent in a foreign currency;
 
(d) is issued to the public in Hong Kong. From 25 March 2011 onwards, the instrument must be, at issuance, issued in Hong Kong to (i) 10 or more persons; or (ii) less than 10 persons none of whom is an associate of the issuer of the instrument. For definition of an "associate", please see Q10; and
 
(e) if it is a scripless instrument, it is one that would qualify in the terms of the definition of QDI if it were in a physical form.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

What is a short term debt instrument?

 
 

A:

A short term debt instrument means a debt instrument that meets the requirements set out in Q3 and is issued on or after 25 March 2011, has an original maturity of less than 3 years or is undated and can be redeemed within 3 years from the date of its issue.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

What is a medium term debt instrument?

 
 

A:

A medium term debt instrument means a debt instrument that meets the requirements set out in Q3 and satisfies the following conditions:

(a) If it is issued before 5 March 2003, it has an original maturity of not less than 5 years or is undated and cannot be redeemed within 5 years from the date of its issue.
 
(b) If it is issued on or after 5 March 2003, it has an original maturity of less than 7 years but not less than 3 years or is undated and can be redeemed within 7 years from the date of its issue but not within the first 3 years.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

What is a long term debt instrument?

 
 

A:

A long term debt instrument means an instrument that meets the requirements set out in Q3 and is issued on or after 5 March 2003, has an original maturity of not less than 7 years or is undated and cannot be redeemed within 7 years from the date of its issue.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

Whether a debt instrument denominated in Renminbi would be granted tax concession or exemption?

 
 

A:

A debt instrument denominated in a foreign currency may qualify as a QDI if it, among other things, meets the minimum denomination requirement set out in A3(c). Under section 3 of the Interpretation and General Clauses Ordinance (Cap 1), "foreign currency" is defined to mean "any currency other than Hong Kong currency" which includes Renminbi.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

How can I know whether a debt instrument is a QDI?

 
 

A:

Please click here for the list of QDI, which is compiled based on the information provided by the issuers. The department reserves the right to remove a debt instrument from the list if it is subsequently found that the conditions set out in Q3 are not satisfied.

  back to top


*

9.

Q:

Will the status of tax concession or exemption be affected if a QDI is subsequently acquired from the secondary market instead of from the issuer directly?

 
 

A:

No. The words "at issuance" in A3(d) refer to the primary launch of the debt instrument. So long as the requirement of A3(d)(i) or (ii) is met at issuance, the debt instrument, provided that the other conditions in Q3 are satisfied and if, at the time during which the interest income and trading profits is/are so received or accrued, the person is not an associate of the issuer of the QDI, qualifies for tax concession or exemption, as the case may be.

  back to top


*

10.

Q:

What does "associate" mean?

 
 

A:

The definition of "associate", in relation to the issuer of a debt instrument, can be found in section 14A(4) of the IRO. In essence, "associate" means any entity which controls the issuer, or is subject to the control of the issuer or is subject to the control of the same person as is the issuer, either directly or indirectly. However, companies which are associated merely because of common ownership by the central government of a country or its sovereign wealth funds or similar state-owned enterprises but in practice operate independently as separate commercial entities are not "associates". Relevant details can be found in section 14A(4A) of the IRO.

  back to top


*

11.

Q:

If one of the subscribers to a debt instrument is an associate of the issuer, will other subscribers/subsequent purchasers of that debt instrument be entitled to the tax concession or exemption?

 
 

A:

If that debt instrument is, at issuance, issued in Hong Kong to less than 10 persons, it does not qualify as a QDI and all the subscribers or subsequent purchasers are not entitled to any tax concession or exemption under the QDI provisions in respect of that debt instrument. If that debt instrument is issued to 10 or more persons, the instrument still qualifies as a QDI but the tax concession or exemption does not apply to the subscriber or purchaser who at the relevant times is an associate of the issuer.

  back to top


*

12.

Q:

If Company A and Company B are associated corporations during part of a year and Company B receives interest income on a full year basis from a QDI issued by Company A, is Company B entitled to any tax concession or exemption?

 
 

A:

It is well established judicially that interest accrues on a day-to-day basis. Accordingly, the tax concession or exemption does not apply to the period during which Company A and Company B are associated corporations. The concessionary profits tax rate or tax exemption only applies to that part of the interest income accrued to Company B during which it is not an associate of Company A. Generally, time apportionment by reference to the ratio of number of days of which Company B is not an associate of Company A to the total number of days in the basis period is an acceptable basis in ascertaining the portion of concessionary or exempted interest income.

  back to top


*

13.

Q:

If Company C and Company D are associated corporations during part of a year and Company D subsequently derives trading profits from the disposal of a QDI issued by Company C when it is no longer Company C's associate, is Company D entitled to any tax concession or exemption?

 
 

A:

Profits are recognized when they are realized or realizable, and are earned irrespective of the timing of actual receipt of cash. Where Company D disposes of the QDI at the time when it is not an associate of the issuer, Company D is entitled to the tax concession or exemption. However, the department may in appropriate cases consider invoking the general anti-avoidance provisions of the IRO if the circumstances warrant.

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主頁 > 常見問題  > 符合資格的債務票據

符合資格的債務票據

1.

問:

持有在 2011 年 3 月 25 日前發行的符合資格的債務票據可獲甚麼稅務寬減或豁免 ?

  

答:

由 1996 年 5 月 24 日開始,從在香港發行及原來的到期期間不少於 5 年的債務票據所得的利息收入及利潤,會根據特惠稅率,即等於一般利得稅稅率的 50% 課稅。由 2003/04 課稅年度開始,此項寬減擴闊至包括在 2003 年 3 月 5 日或之後在香港發行,及原來的到期期間少於 7 年但不少於 3 年的「中期債務票據」。另外,從在 2003 年 3 月 5 日或之後在香港發行,及原來的到期期間不少於 7 年的「長期債務票據」所得的利息收入及利潤會獲豁免徵收利得稅。

  返回頁首


2.

問:

持有在 2011 年 3 月 25 日當日或之後發行的符合資格的債務票據可獲甚麼稅務寬減或豁免 ?

  

答:

由 2011 年 3 月 25 日開始, 50% 的稅務寬減進一步擴闊至包括從在該日或之後發行的到期期間少於 3 年的「短期債務票據」所得的利息收入及利潤。現在給予在 2011 年 3 月 25 日前發行的「中期債務票據」的稅務寬減及「長期債務票據」的稅務豁免維持不變。但是,在 2011 年 3 月 25 日該日或之後發行的符合資格的債務票據,如在收取或累算利息收入及利潤時,有關人士是該債務票據的發債人的相聯者,則上述的稅務寬減或豁免將不適用。有關相聯者的定義,請看第10條問題

  返回頁首


3.

問:

甚麼是符合資格的債務票據?

  

答:

有關債務票據是按照稅務條例附表 6 第 I 部所指明並符合以下條件:

(a)是關乎一項債務發行,而所發行的票據全數由金融管理專員所營辦的債務工具中央結算系統託管和結算;

(b)須在所有有關時間具有獲金融管理專員承認的信貸評級機構所給予的並可獲金融管理專員接受的信貸評級;

(c)如在 1999 年 4 月 1 日之前發行,須最低面額為 $500,000 或等值外幣;或如在 1999 年 4 月 1 日之後發行,須最低面額為 $50,000 或等值外幣;

(d)是在香港向公眾發行的。由 2011 年 3 月 25 日開始,債務票據須在發行時,是在香港(i)向不少於 10 人發行或 (ii)向少於 10 人發行,而其中並無該票據的發債人的相聯者。有關「相聯者」的定義,請看第10條問題 ;及

(e)如它屬無紙票據而如其為有形體的,即會按本定義的條款符合資格。

  返回頁首


4.

問:

什麼是短期債務票據?

  

答:

短期債務票據是指符合第3條問題所陳述的條件並且在 2011 年 3 月 25 日該日或之後發行,原來的到期期間少於 3 年,或沒有注明日期及能在自發行日期起計的 3 年內贖回的票據

  返回頁首


5.

問:

甚麼是中期債務票據?

  

答:

中期債務票據是指符合第3條問題所陳述的條件並且符合以下要求的票據:

(a)如它是在 2003 年 3 月 5 日之前發行,原來的到期期間不少於 5 年或沒有註明日期,及不能在自發行日期起計的 5 年內贖回;或

(b)如它是在 2003 年 3 月 5 日或之後發行,原來的到期期間少於 7 年但不少於 3 年或沒有註明日期,及能在自發行日期起計的 7 年內(首 3 年內除外)贖回。

  返回頁首


6.

問:

甚麼是長期債務票據?

  

答:

長期債務票據是指符合第3條問題所陳述的條件,在 2003 年 3 月 5 日或之後發行,原來的到期期間不少於 7 年或沒有註明日期,及不能在自發行日期起計的 7 年內贖回的票據。

  返回頁首


7.

問:

以人民幣計值的債務票據可否獲得稅務寬減或豁免?

  

答:

以人民幣計值的債務票據如除了符合其他條件以外,亦符合第3條問題(c)項所列明的最低面額要求,則該債務票據可成為符合資格的債務票據。根據釋義及通則條例(第 1 章)第 3 條,「外幣」是指香港貨幣以外的任何貨幣,包括人民幣。

  返回頁首


8.

問:

我如何知道一項債務票據是否符合資格的債務票據?

  

答:

有關符合資格的債務票據的清單,請按這裡。該清單是根據發債人提供的資料編制。如日後發現債務票據不符合第3條問題所述的條件,本局保留從清單中移除有關債務票據的權利。

  返回頁首


9.

問:

在 2011 年 3 月 25 日該日或之後發行的符合資格的債務票據如不是從發債人而是從二手市場購入,稅務寬減或豁免的情況會否受影響?

  

答:

不會。在第3條問題(d)項所述的是指該債務票據在最初發行時的條件。有關債務票據祗要符合第 3 條問題(d)(i)或(d)(ii)項所述的「在發行時」的條件而又同時符合第 3 條列明的其他條件,在收取或累算利息收入及利潤時,有關人士不是該債務票據的發債人的相聯者,則持有該票據可獲稅務寬減或豁免。

  返回頁首


10.

問:

「相聯者」是甚麼意思?

  

答:

就債務票據的發債人而言,「相聯者」的定義可參考《稅務條例》第 14A(4)條。本質上,「相聯者」是指任何直接或間接控制發債人、或受發債人控制、或受控制發債人的同一人所控制的實體。但是,那些純粹因為由某國家的中央政府或其主權基金或類似的國營企業共同擁有,但實際上以獨立商業實體形式分開營運的公司,不會被視為相聯者。有關詳情請參閱《稅務條例》第 14A(4A)條。

  返回頁首


11.

問:

如債務票據的其中一位認購人是發債人的相聯法團,認購或其後購買該債務票據的人士能否享有稅務寬減或豁免?

  

答:

如該債務票據在香港是向少於 10 人發行的,它不是符合資格的債務票據。所有該債務票據的認購人或其後的購買人都不可以就符合資格的債務票據條文享有稅務寬減或豁免。如有關債務票據是向多於 10 人發行的,該票據仍是符合資格的債務票據。但是,如認購人或購買人與發債人是相聯者,則有關的稅務寬減或豁免不適用。

  返回頁首


12.

問:

如 A 公司與 B 公司在一個年度的某段時間是相聯法團, B 公司從由 A 公司發行的符合資格債務票據中收取整年利息, B 公司能否享有稅務寬減或豁免?

  

答:

在眾多的案例中認同利息收入是按日累算的。因此,在 A 公司與 B 公司是相聯法團的有關期間,稅務寬減或豁免不適用。祗有在 B 公司並不是 A 公司的相聯法團的期間,稅務寬減或豁免才適用於該段時間的利息收入。一般來說,按 A 公司不是 B 公司的相聯法團的日子與整個評稅基期的日子的比例去分攤可獲稅務寬減或豁免的利息收入是可接受的計算方法。

  返回頁首


13.

問:

如 C 公司與 D 公司在一個年度的某段時間是相聯法團, D 公司後期從出售由 C 公司發行的符合資格債務票據而獲取利潤。在出售有關票據時, D 公司不再是 C 公司的相聯法團, D 公司能否享有稅務寬減或豁免?

  

答:

利潤是在變賣或可變賣符合資格債務票據時便確認及被視為已賺取,而不論正式收取現金的時間。當 D 公司出售符合資格債務票據時不是 C 公司的相聯法團, D 公司便能享有稅務寬減或豁免。但是,如有需要,本局會引用一般的反避稅條文去處理個別個案。

返回頁首