Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Request for income details

*

1.

Q:

Can a taxpayer authorize someone to call on his behalf to collect his income details?

 
 

A:

In order to preserve secrecy with regard to all matters relating to taxpayers, we are only allowed to disclose such information to taxpayers themselves or to their authorized representatives. "Authorized representative" is defined under the IRO as "a person authorized in writing by any other person to act on his behalf for the purposes of this Ordinance." In other words, if the caller is not acting for the purposes of the IRO, he cannot be regarded as an "authorized representative".

In the normal course, any request for information on taxpayer's income will be sent by post to his correspondence address. In case a taxpayer calls in person and the information is readily available, the requested details may be provided on spot.

In very exceptional circumstances, for example, where the information is urgently needed and taxpayer sends someone to collect the information on his behalf, such request may be processed as far as possible providing our normal service to the public is not interrupted. In order to verify the genuineness of the request, the caller will be asked to produce a written request and authorization letter from the taxpayer containing the following particulars:

(1) Name of taxpayer
(2) Hong Kong Identity Card number of the taxpayer
(3) Correspondence address of the taxpayer
(4) Day time contact telephone number of the taxpayer
(5) Name and identity card number of the representative


Where necessary, the caller may be asked to provide a copy of the taxpayer's identity card bearing taxpayer's signature before entertaining such request. We may also need to inspect the caller's identity card, if warranted. This is to ensure that there will be no unlawful disclosure of taxpayer's information to unauthorized parties. If we are unable to verify taxpayer's signature on the authorization letter, the required information will be sent to taxpayer's correspondence address by post.

Generally speaking, taxpayers or their representatives already have in their possession copies of tax returns, notice of assessments or employer's return of remuneration and pensions. These documents contain income details. There is no need for taxpayers and their representatives to approach IRD to obtain income details or further copies.

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

索取入息資料

*

1.

問:

納稅人可否委託他人到稅務局索取入息資料?

 
 

答:

基於保密條例,稅務局一直以來祇會將納稅人的資料交給納稅人本人或其獲授權代表,以確保納稅人資料不會外泄。根據《稅務條例》,「獲授權代表」( authorized representative ) 是指獲任何人以書面授權,為稅務條例的施行而代其行事的人。假如有人並不是為施行稅務條例而代表納稅人,則不屬該條例下的「獲授權代表」。

如納稅人向稅務局要求提供他本人在本局備存的入息資料,稅務局一貫的做法是會將資料交給納稅人本人或根據本局的紀錄郵寄往納稅人的通訊地址。假如納稅人委託他人到稅務局索取入息資料,本局亦會跟上述一貫處理方法,將資料郵寄往納稅人的通訊地址。

在極為特殊的情況下,例如基於個別緊急的需要,納稅人委託他人到稅務局即時索取入息資料,在不影響本局正常服務的原則下,本局會儘量配合,處理有關申請。在這種情況下,為了確保有關申請確實是來自納稅人及來人確實是他所委派的,本局會要求受委託的代表提交納稅人簽署的授權書,列明下列資料以作核對:
 

(1) 納稅人的姓名
(2) 納稅人的身分證號碼
(3) 納稅人的通訊地址
(4) 納稅人的日間聯絡電話
(5) 受委託的代表人姓名及身分證號碼

 

如有需要,本局有權要求受委託的代表提交附有納稅人簽名的身分證副本以供本局核對。稅務局亦會核實受委託的代表的身份,並有權要求受委託的代表出示身分證作核對。如稅務局職員未能核實納稅人在授權書上的簽署時,只會將有關入息資料以郵寄方式送交納稅人。上述措施,旨在保障納稅人的資料的安全。

一般來說,納稅人及其獲授權代表均備存報稅表,評稅通知書,或由僱主提供的薪酬及退休金報稅表副本等文件。該等文件均載有入息資料,納稅人及其獲授權代表無需聯絡稅務局索取有關資料或文件副本。