Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Illustrative examples of the application and computation of SSD

 

Example 1 (Residential property acquired before 20 November 2010)

1.

Q:

Mr. Chiu signed a provisional agreement for sale to acquire a residential property on 15 September 2010. Subsequently, he signed a provisional agreement for sale to dispose of the property on 20 December 2010. Any SSD liability when Mr. Chiu disposed of the property?

A:

As Mr. Chiu acquired the subject property before 20 November 2010 (the effective date of SSD), no SSD is payable when he signed the provisional agreement for sale to dispose of the property on 20 December 2010.

  back to top


 

Example 2 (Residential property acquired between 20 November 2010 and 26 October 2012 and disposed of / transferred after 24 months from the date of acquisition)

2.

Q:

Mr. Chan acquired a residential property on 22 March 2011 and disposed of it on 30 November 2013. Any SSD liability when Mr. Chan disposed of the property?

A:

No SSD is payable because the subject property was acquired before 27 October 2012 and is disposed of/transferred after 24 months from the date of acquisition.

  back to top


 

Example 3 (Property acquired between 20 November 2010 and 26 October 2012 and the holding period is 6 months or less)

3.

Q:

Mr. Ho acquired a residential property on 10 September 2011 and disposed of it for $6.5M on 9 March 2012. How to calculate the holding period of the property? What is the rate of SSD? What is the amount of SSD payable?

A:

For the purposes of SSD, the property holding period is calculated based on the calendar months, i.e. the period from a certain day in a month to the preceding day in the following calendar month is counted as 1 month. In the above example, Mr. Ho has held the property for exactly 6 months. The applicable rate of SSD is therefore 15%. The amount of SSD payable is $975,000, i.e. 15% of $6.5M.

  back to top


 

Example 4 (Property acquired between 20 November 2010 and 26 October 2012 and the holding period is more than 6 months but not more than 12 months)

4.

Q:

Mr. Ho acquired a residential property on 10 September 2011 and disposed of it for $6.5M on 10 March 2012. How to calculate the holding period of the property? What is the rate of SSD? What is the amount of SSD payable?

A:

Mr. Ho disposed of the subject property on 10 March 2012. He has held the property for more than 6 months but not more than 12 months. The applicable rate of SSD is 10%. The amount of SSD payable is $650,000, i.e. 10% of $6.5M.

  back to top


 

Example 5 (Property was acquired between 20 November 2010 and 26 October 2012 and the holding period is more than 12 months but not more than 24 months)

5.

Q:

Mr. Wong acquired a residential property on 2 February 2011 and disposed of it for $1.8M on 18 August 2012. How to calculate the holding period of the property? What is the rate of SSD? What is the amount of SSD payable?

A:

The subject property was acquired after 19 November 2010 and disposed of for more than 12 months but within 24 months from the date of acquisition. The applicable SSD rate is 5%. The amount of SSD payable is $90,000, i.e. 5% of $1.8M.

  back to top


 

Example 6 (Property acquired on or after 27 October 2012 and the holding period is 6 months or less)

6.

Q:

Mr. Wong acquired a residential property on 1 November 2012 and disposed of it for $3M on 1 January 2013. How to calculate the holding period of the property? What is the rate of SSD? What is the amount of SSD payable?

A:

The subject property was acquired after 26 October 2012 and disposed of within 6 months from the date of acquisition.  The applicable SSD rate is 20%.  The amount of SSD payable is $600,000, i.e. 20% of $3M.

  back to top


 

Example 7 (Property acquired on or after 27 October 2012 and the holding period is more than 6 months but not more than 12 months)

7.

Q:

Mr. Wong acquired a residential property on 1 November 2012 and disposed of it for $3M on 15 September 2013. How to calculate the holding period of the property? What is the rate of SSD? What is the amount of SSD payable?

A:

The subject property was acquired after 26 October 2012 and disposed of after more than 6 months but within 12 months from the date of acquisition. The applicable SSD rate is 15%.  The amount of SSD payable is $450,000, i.e. 15% of $3M.

  back to top


 

Example 8 (Property acquired on or after 27 October 2012 and the holding period is more than 24 months but not more than 36 months)

8.

Q:

Mr. Wong acquired a residential property on 1 November 2012 and disposed of it for $4M on 15 December 2014. How to calculate the holding period of the property? What is the rate of SSD? What is the amount of SSD payable?

A:

The subject property was acquired after 26 October 2012 and disposed of after more than 12 months but within 36 months from the date of acquisition. The applicable SSD rate is 10%. The amount of SSD payable is $400,000, i.e. 10% of 4M.

  back to top


 

Example 9 (Property acquired between 20 November 2010 and 26 October 2012 and holding period is more than 24 months but not more than 36 months)

9.

Q:

Same as Example 8 but the property was acquired by Mr. Wong on 15 October 2012 and disposed of it for $4M on 15 December 2014. How to calculate the holding period of the property? What is the rate of SSD? What is the amount of SSD payable?

A:

Since the subject property was acquired before 27 October 2012 and disposed of after more than 24 months from the date of acquisition, no SSD is payable.

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

* 

例一(在 2010 年 11 月 20 日之前取得了住宅物業的情況)

1.

問:

趙先生於 2010 年 9 月 15 日簽署一份臨時買賣合約取得住宅物業。其後,他於 2010 年 12 月 20 日簽署臨時買賣合約以出售該物業。趙先生出售該物業時是否要繳納「額外印花稅」?

答:

由於趙先生在 2010 年 11 月 20 日(即「額外印花稅」的生效日期)前取得有關物業,因此,他在 2010 年 12 月 20 日簽署臨時買賣協議以出售該物業時無須繳納「額外印花稅」。

 返回頁首


* 

例二(在 2010 年 11 月 20 日至 2012 年10 月26 日 期間取得了住宅物業,並在取得物業的24 個月後才出售或轉讓該住宅物業)

2.

問:

陳先生於 2011 年 3 月 22 日取得住宅物業,之後在 2013 年 11 月 30 日將物業轉售。陳先生出售該物業時是否要繳納「額外印花稅」?

答:

由於有關物業在 2012 年10 月27 日前取得,並在取得後 24 個月後才出售或轉讓,因此無須繳納「額外印花稅」。

 返回頁首


* 

例三(物業在 2010 年 11 月 20 日至 2012 年10 月26 日 期間取得而物業持有期為 6 個月或以內)

3.

問:

何先生於 2011 年 9 月 10 日取得住宅物業,並在 2012 年 3 月 9 日以 650 萬元將物業轉售。怎樣計算物業持有期?「額外印花稅」稅率為多少?應繳「額外印花稅」款額為何?

答:

就「額外印花稅」而言,物業持有期以公曆月計算,即由某月的某一日至下一個公曆月的前一日為一個月。在上述例子,何先生持有有關物業剛好是 6 個月,所以「額外印花稅」的適用稅率是 15 % 。應繳付的「額外印花稅」金額為 975,000 元,即 650 萬元的 1 5 % 。

 返回頁首


* 

例四(物業在 2010 年 11 月 20 日至 2012 年10 月26 日 期間取得而物業持有期超過 6 個月但不超過 1 2 個月)

4.

問:

何先生於 2011 年 9 月 10 日取得住宅物業,並在 2012 年 3 月 10 日以 650 萬元將物業轉售。怎樣計算物業持有期?「額外印花稅」稅率為多少?應繳「額外印花稅」款額為何?

答:

何先生是在 2012 年 3 月 10 日轉售該物業,他持有該物業超過 6 個月但不超過 12 個月,「額外印花稅」的適用稅率為 10 % 。應繳付的「額外印花稅」金額為 650,000 元,即 650 萬元的 10 % 。

 返回頁首


* 

例五(物業在 2010 年 11 月 20 日至 2012 年10 月26 日期間取得而物業持有期超過 12 個月但不超過 24 個月)

5.

問:

王先生於 2011 年 2 月 2 日取得住宅物業,之後於 2012 年 8 月 18 日以 180 萬元將物業轉售。怎樣計算物業持有期?「額外印花稅」稅率為多少?應繳「額外印花稅」款額為何?

答:

有關物業是在 2010 年 11 月 19 日以後取得,並於取得物業 12 個月後但 24 個月內把該物業轉售,「額外印花稅」的適用稅率為 5 % 。須繳付的「額外印花稅」金額為 90,000 元,即 180 萬元的 5 % 。

 返回頁首


* 

例六(物業在 2012 年 10 月 27 日或之後取得而物業持有期為6 個月或以內)

6.

問:

王先生於 2012 年 11 月 1 日取得住宅物業,之後於2013 年1 月 15 日以 300 萬元將物業轉售。怎樣計算物業持有期?「額外印花稅」稅率為多少?應繳「額外印花稅」款額為何?

答:

有關物業是在 2012 年 10 月 26 日以後取得,並於取得物業 6 個月內把該物業轉售,「額外印花稅」的適用稅率為 20 % 。須繳付的「額外印花稅」金額為 600,000 元,即 300 萬元的 20 % 。

 返回頁首


* 

例七(物業在 2012 年 10 月 27 日或之後取得而物業持有期超過 6 個月但不超過 12 個月)

7.

問:

王先生於 2012 年 11 月 1 日取得住宅物業並於 2013 年9 月 15 日以 300 萬元將物業轉售。怎樣計算物業持有期?「額外印花稅」稅率為多少?應繳「額外印花稅」款額為何?

答:

有關物業是在 2012 年 10 月 26 日以後取得,並於取得物業 6 個月後但 12 個月內把該物業轉售,「額外印花稅」的適用稅率為 15 % 。須繳付的「額外印花稅」金額為450,000 元,即 300 萬元的 15 % 。

 返回頁首


* 

例八(物業在 2012 年 10 月 27 日或之後取得而物業持有期超過 24 個月但不超過 36 個月)

8.

問:

王先生於 2012 年 11 月 1 日取得住宅物業,之後於 2014 年12 月 15 日以 400 萬元將物業轉售。怎樣計算物業持有期?「額外印花稅」稅率為多少?應繳「額外印花稅」款額為何?

答:

有關物業是在2012 年 10 月 26 日以後取得,並於取得物業 12 個月後但 36 個月內把該物業轉售,「額外印花稅」的適用稅率為 10 % 。須繳付的「額外印花稅」金額為 400,000 元,即 400 萬元的 10 % 。

 返回頁首


* 

例九(物業在 2010 年11 月20 日至 2012 年 10 月 26 日期間取得而物業持有期超過 24 個月但不超過36個月)

9.

問:

如例八,但王先生於 2012 年 10 月 15 日已取得住宅物業,之後於2014 年12 月 15 日以 400 萬元將物業轉售。怎樣計算物業持有期?「額外印花稅」稅率為多少?應繳「額外印花稅」款額為何?

答:

由於有關物業是在 2012 年 10 月 27 日前取得,並於取得物業的 24個月後才把該物業轉售,因此,無須繳納「額外印花稅」。