Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Tax Information - Individuals/Businesses > Double Taxation Relief and Exchange of Information Arrangements > Certificate of Resident Status

Certificate of Resident Status

A Certificate of Resident Status is a document issued by the Hong Kong competent authority to a Hong Kong resident who requires proof of resident status for the purposes of claiming tax benefits under the Comprehensive Double Taxation Agreements / Arrangement (DTAs).

The Certificate of Resident Status should constitute a sufficient proof of the resident status of a Hong Kong resident. Generally, forms related to DTAs which are not issued by the Inland Revenue Department would not be signed / stamped except forms of Austria, Belgium and Luxembourg.

The Hong Kong competent authority will issue a Certificate of Resident Status after the DTA between Hong Kong and the relevant jurisdiction has become effective.  Generally, only one Certificate of Resident Status will be issued to you in respect of each DTA for each year.  Please click here for the jurisdictions which have signed DTAs with Hong Kong.

While the Hong Kong competent authority is committed to providing Hong Kong residents with assistance in claiming all the tax benefits they are entitled to under a DTA, the Hong Kong competent authority may refuse to issue a Certificate of Resident Status where it is clear that the person would not be entitled to those benefits.  As such, there may be cases where a person will not be able to obtain a Certificate of Resident Status because that person does not fulfill the criteria of the particular article under which that person intends to claim benefits.  It is vitally important that the Hong Kong competent authority upholds the terms and purpose of Hong Kong’s DTAs by not issuing Certificates of Resident Status to those who are clearly not entitled to relief from foreign taxes.

If the Hong Kong competent authority has reason to believe that a person will not be entitled to benefits under a DTA, the Hong Kong competent authority may request further information from the person before deciding whether a Certificate of Resident Status can be issued.  In cases where it is not clear to the treaty partners whether a person would be entitled to such benefits, the Hong Kong competent authority may need to exchange information to help them come to an informed decision as to whether such benefits can be granted.

Persons should also be aware that issue of a Certificate of Resident Status will not guarantee that they will be successful in their claim to benefits under the relevant DTA.  The decision as to whether relief from foreign taxes can be granted is, ultimately, one to be made by the treaty partner.   It will be up to the treaty partner to determine whether all the relevant conditions are fulfilled and whether benefits can be granted.  In any case where Hong Kong residents believe a treaty partner has denied them benefits which they should be entitled to, the Hong Kong competent authority will consider engaging with the treaty partner under the Mutual Agreement Procedure for the relevant DTA.

To help the Hong Kong competent authority decide whether a Certificate of Resident Status can be issued, any person who would like to obtain a Certificate of Resident Status will be required to provide a certain amount of information when making the request.

Who can Apply

In general, the following persons can apply for a Certificate of Resident Status:

  • Individual who ordinarily resides in Hong Kong;
  • Individual who stays in Hong Kong for more than 180 days during a year of assessment or for more than 300 days in two consecutive years of assessment one of which is the relevant year of assessment;
  • Company / partnership / trust / body of persons incorporated or constituted in Hong Kong;
  • Company / partnership / trust / body of persons incorporated or constituted outside Hong Kong but managed or controlled in Hong Kong.

You should refer to the relevant article and protocol of the relevant DTA to check whether you qualify as a Hong Kong resident for the purpose of that DTA.

Application Forms

You need to complete the appropriate form:

DTA PartnerForm
Company / Partnership / Trust /
Body of Persons
Individual
The Mainland of China IR1313A (06/2016) IR1314A (06/2016)
Other Jurisdictions IR1313B (10/2015) IR1314B (10/2015)


For application made in respect of the comprehensive avoidance of double taxation arrangement between the Mainland and Hong Kong:

  • With effect from 1 November 2015, an applicant is not required to attach a referral letter from the Mainland tax authorities.
  • According to the administrative arrangement agreed in the notes exchanged between the Mainland and Hong Kong on 16 March 2016 and 15 April 2016, a certificate of resident status issued to an applicant for a particular calendar year generally serves as a proof of the Hong Kong resident status of the applicant for that calendar year and the two succeeding calendar years.  It would not be necessary for the applicant to apply for certificate of resident status for the latter two calendar years.  In case there are/were changes in the applicant’s circumstances such that the applicant will cease/ceased to meet the conditions for enjoying tax benefits under the Arrangement, the certificate of resident status issued would not serve as a proof of the applicant’s Hong Kong resident status after the changes.  Please click here for details of the administrative arrangement.

How to Apply

You should send the completed application form to:

Assessor (Tax Treaty)
Tax Treaty Section
Inland Revenue Department
36/F, Revenue Tower
5 Gloucester Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong

Processing Time

It normally takes 21 working days to process an application.  Where the information available is not sufficient to determine the resident status, you will be requested to supply further and better particulars.

Issue of Certificate of Resident Status

Generally, with reference to applications received after 19 May 2014, the Certificate of Resident Status will be sent to you by post.  If you wish to collect it in person, you are required to make a written request when submitting the relevant application form and the required documents.

 

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 繁體版 English 背景 A A A 搜寻 搜寻 网页指南 联络我们

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

无障碍网页嘉许计划
流动/无障碍浏览版本流动/无障碍浏览版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主页 > 税务资料 - 个别人士 / 公司业务 > 双重课税宽免及资料交换安排 > 居民身分证明书

居民身分证明书

居民身分证明书是一份由香港主管当局向香港居民发出的文件,用作证明其香港居民身分,以能申请享受全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排下的待遇。

居民身分证明书是一份足以证明香港居民的居民身分的文件。一般而言,如果有关全面性避免双重课税协定/安排的表格并非由税务局发出,税务局并不会在其上签名或盖章,由奥地利、比利时及卢森堡发出的表格则例外。

在香港与有关的税务管辖区签订的全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排生效后,香港主管当局才会发出居民身分证明书。一般而言,就每一份全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排,你每一年只会获发一份居民身分证明书。请按这里以参阅已与香港签订全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排的税务管辖区的资料。

香港主管当局当尽力协助香港居民申请全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排下其可享有的所有待遇,但如果该人士明显地不可享受有关待遇时,香港主管当局可拒绝发出居民身分证明书。因此,假如该人士并不符合全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排内有关条文订明享受相关待遇的条件,则可能出现该人士不获发居民身分证明书的情况。对于遵守全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排内的条款和维护其宗旨,香港主管当局尤其重视,不会向那些明显不可获外地税项宽免的人士发出居民身分证明书。

如果香港主管当局有理由相信该人士并不可享受全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排下的待遇,在决定是否发出居民身分证明书前,香港主管当局或会要求该人士提供进一步资料。若缔约伙伴对该人士是否可享受有关待遇一事存疑,则香港主管当局可能会进行资料交换,以助确定该人士是否可获有关待遇。

该人士亦须留意,获发居民身分证明书并不保证其申请享受全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排待遇一事将会成功。该人士是否可获外地税项宽免将由缔约伙伴作出最终决定。缔约伙伴会就该人士是否符合所有相关条件和是否可享受有关待遇作出决定。如香港居民认为缔约伙伴不应拒绝给予其应享有的待遇,香港主管当局会考虑按照相关的全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排中的相互协商程序,与该缔约伙伴进行磋商。

为协助香港主管当局决定是否可发出居民身分证明书,任何人士须在提交申请时提供相关的资料。

谁可申请

一般而言,以下人士可申请居民身分证明书:

  • 通常居住于香港的个人;
  • 在某课税年度内在香港逗留超过180天或在連续兩个课税年度(其中一个是有关的课税年度)内在香港逗留超过300天的个人;
  • 在香港成立或组成的公司 / 合伙 / 信托 / 团体;
  • 在香港以外成立或组成但在香港管理或控制的公司 / 合伙 / 信托 / 团体。

你可以参阅有关的全面性避免双重课税协定 / 安排的有关条文及议定书,以确定你就该协定 / 安排而言是否属于香港居民。

申请表格 

你须要填写适当的表格:

缔约伙伴表格
公司 / 合伙 / 信托 / 团体 个人
中国内地 IR1313A (06/2016) IR1314A (06/2016)
其他税务管辖区 IR1313B (10/2015) IR1314B (10/2015)


就内地和香港全面性避免双重课税安排提出的申请:

  • 自2015年11月1日起,申请人不需要夹附内地税务机关发出的转介函。
  • 根据内地与香港于2016年3月16日及2016年4月15日通过换函作出的行政安排,申请人就某一历年获发的居民身分证明书,一般可用作证明该申请人在该历年及其后连续两个历年的香港居民身分。申请人无需就后述两个历年提出居民身分证明书申请。如申请人的情况发生变化或已经发生变化,不再符合享受安排待遇条件,则已发出的居民身分证明书不能用作证明申请人在情况发生变化后的香港居民身分。请按这里参阅有关行政安排的详情。

如何申请

请把填妥的申请表格交到:

香港湾仔告士打道 5 号
税务大楼 36 楼
税务局
税收协定组
评税主任(税收协定)

处理时间

处理有关申请一般需时二十一个工作天。倘若香港主管当局未能根据所得的资料以确定你的居民身分,将会要求你提供进一步的资料。

发出居民身分证明书

一般而言,就2014年5月19日后收到的申请,居民身分证明书会以邮递方式寄给你。若你欲亲自领取居民身分证明书,须在递交相关申请表及所需资料时,以书面一并作出申请。

 

返回页首