Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS
  • Default font size
  • Bigger font size
  • Biggest font size

Tax Smart Tips

2021-22 Budget - Tax Measures

      • In his 2021-22 Budget, the Financial Secretary proposed a one-off reduction of profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment for the year of assessment 2020/21 by 100%, subject to a ceiling of $10,000 per case. The relevant legislation for the tax reduction was passed by the Legislative Council on 28 April 2021 and gazetted on 7 May 2021.
      • The tax reduction for the year of assessment 2020/21 is not applicable to property tax. Individuals earning rental income, if eligible, may elect for personal assessment in Part 7 of the tax return for the year of assessment 2020/21 to enjoy the tax reduction.
      • For profits tax, the tax reduction ceiling is applied to each business. For salaries tax, the ceiling is applied to each individual taxpayer, but for couples jointly assessed, the ceiling is applied to each couple. For personal assessment, the ceiling is applied to each single taxpayer or married person who elects for personal assessment separately from his/her spouse. If married couples make their personal assessment election jointly, the ceiling will apply to each couple.
      • A taxpayer who is separately chargeable to salaries tax and profits tax can enjoy the tax reduction under each of the tax types. If he/she elects personal assessment, the reduction will have to be based on the tax payable under personal assessment.
      • Taxpayers should complete the 2020/21 tax returns as usual. IRD will effect the tax reduction in the final assessment for the year of assessment 2020/21.

 

Other Useful Tips

  • Inform IRD promptly if your correspondence address has been changed.
  • Check your copy of “Employer’s Return of Remuneration and Pension” (IR56B/F/G) carefully. In case of doubt, clarify with your employer immediately and inform IRD, if necessary.
  • Claim for deductions under salaries tax (i.e. outgoing and expenses, self-education expenses, approved charitable donations and contributions to the MPF or ORSO Scheme) can be made in Part 4.3 of the tax return.
  • Deduction claims for qualifying premiums paid under Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme Policy, and qualifying annuity premiums and tax deductible MPF voluntary contributions can be made in Parts 9 and 10 of the tax return for the year of assessment 2020/21 respectively.
  • The registered owner of a self-occupied property can claim for the deduction of home loan interest. If the relevant property is solely owned by you, the maximum amount of home loan interest deductible is $100,000 for each year of assessment. Where a property is owned by joint tenants or tenants in common, the maximum deduction allowable is apportioned between/among all the owners on the basis of their respective ownership ratios.
  • When filing your tax return, do not attach supporting documents for deductions claimed. However, such documents should be retained for 7 years for examination when called for.
  • When sending your completed tax return to IRD by post, affix sufficient stamp according to the appropriate category of postage so as to ensure delivery in order.
  • To rectify any error or omission in your tax return discovered after submission, inform IRD at the soonest. State your name, phone number, file number, the relevant year of assessment and details of your amendments, and sign your rectification notice. eTAX users can also file their rectification notices through "Contact Us" in their eTAX accounts.

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS
  • 還原字體
  • 較大字體
  • 最大字體

稅務醒目小貼士

2021-22年度財政預算案稅務措施

  • 在2021-22年度財政預算案中,財政司司長建議一次性寬減2020/21課稅年度百分之百的利得稅、薪俸稅及個人入息課稅,每宗個案以10,000元為上限。有關這項寬減的法例已於2021年4月28日獲立法會通過,並於2021年5月7日在憲報刊登。
  • 2020/21課稅年度的稅款寬減不適用於物業稅。收取租金的人士,如符合資格,可在2020/21課稅年度報稅表第7部申請個人入息課稅,以享有寬減。
  • 利得稅的寬減上限以每個業務計算。薪俸稅的寬減上限以每名納稅人計算;如已婚人士與配偶合併評稅,寬減上限是二人合共10,000元。在個人入息課稅下,未婚人士的寬減上限以每個個人計算。已婚人士選擇與配偶分開以個人入息課稅方式評稅,寬減上限亦以每個個人計算;若已婚人士與配偶共同選擇個人入息課稅,寬減上限是二人合共10,000元。
  • 如納稅人須同時繳納薪俸稅和利得稅,他/她的薪俸稅和利得稅稅款都可獲得寬減。如選擇以個人入息課稅方式評稅,寬減額須按個人入息課稅的稅款計算。
  • 納稅人只須如常填報2020/21課稅年度的報稅表,稅務局會按稅款寬減措施計算2020/21課稅年度最後評稅的稅款。

 

其他須留意事項

  • 盡早通知稅務局更新你的通訊地址。
  • 收到僱主填報的薪酬及退休金報稅表(IR56B/F/G表格)副本後,緊記核對資料。如有疑問,立刻向僱主查詢和通知稅務局作出更正。
  • 受僱人士請緊記填寫報稅表第4.3部的適用部分,以申請扣除支出、個人進修開支、認可慈善捐款及強積金或職業退休計劃供款。
  • 申請扣除根據自願醫保計劃保單所繳付的合資格保費,以及「合資格年金保費」及「可扣稅強積金自願性供款」,可分別在2020/21課稅年度的報稅表第9和第10部分中提出。
  • 自住物業的業主(必須是土地註冊處的註冊業權擁有人)可就該物業所支付的居所貸款利息申請扣除。如物業是全權擁有,最高可獲扣除的利息是每年100,000元。如物業是聯權或分權擁有,每年利息最高扣除額須按照擁有權比例分攤。
  • 申請支出和扣除的證明文件無須與報稅表一同遞交,但須保留7年以便稅務局查閱。
  • 當郵寄已填妥的報稅表回稅務局時,按郵件收費表所屬級別貼上足額郵票以確保郵遞無誤。
  • 若遞交報稅表後發覺有錯漏,必須盡快通知稅務局作出更正。更正通知書上須註明姓名、聯絡電話、檔案號碼、有關課稅年度及要更正事項的詳情,並加簽署。「稅務易」用戶亦可透過他/她們「稅務易」帳戶下的「聯絡我們」遞交更正通知書。