Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS
  • Default font size
  • Bigger font size
  • Biggest font size

Relief measure on conditional waiver of surcharges for instalment settlement of demand notes for the Year of Assessment 2020/21

*

1.

Q:

Which Year of Assessment and what types of demand notes are covered by the relief measure announced on 18 June 2021 in respect of waiver of surcharge on payments of tax by instalments? Does the measure apply to both individuals and companies?

 
 

A:

The waiver of surcharge on payment of tax by instalments is only applicable to Salaries Tax, Profits Tax and Personal Assessment demand notes for the Year of Assessment 2020/21 issued between May 2021 and May 2022. The waiver does not cover Property Tax demand notes. Both individuals and companies who encounter financial difficulties in settling their tax bills on time can apply.

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

What are the conditions for waiving the surcharge under the relief measure announced on 18 June 2021?

 
 

A:

A taxpayer applying for instalment payments and waiver of surcharge under the relief measure has to provide reasons for his/her/its difficulties in settling the demand note on time. To support the application, the taxpayer is required to provide the following information and documents:

Applicant Individuals /
Sole Proprietorships
Partnerships Corporations
Application form IR1360
(Y/A 2020/21)
IR1360A
(Y/A 2020/21)
IR1360B
(Y/A 2020/21)
Information / documents required:  
  • Concrete payment proposal
  • Copies of bank statements / passbooks for the latest 3 months
  • Details of income and expenditure for the latest 3 months
-
  • Debts repayment details
  • Management accounts for the latest 3 months (including profits and loss account and balance sheet)
-
  • Cash flow position and forecast
- -
  • Daytime contact telephone number


The IRD will grant instalment plans of different duration taking into account individual taxpayer's financial position. Instalment plans are generally granted for a duration of 6-month or less. Only in special circumstances will the instalment plans be granted for a longer duration but they are generally not longer than 12 months. Provided that all the instalments are duly settled in accordance with the approved instalment plan, no surcharge will be imposed for a maximum period of one year counting from the due date of the demand note.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

When should the instalments application be made? How tax payments can be made if no reply is received from the IRD before the due date of the relevant demand note?

 
 

A:

Taxpayers who encounter financial difficulties in settling their Salaries Tax, Profits Tax and Personal Assessment demand notes for the Year of Assessment 2020/21 on time should apply to the IRD for payment of tax by instalments well before the due dates of the relevant demand notes. The IRD will, within 21 working days after receipt of the taxpayers' applications, approve or adjust the instalment proposals in light of the taxpayers' individual financial positions. Pending the reply from the IRD, taxpayers can make payments in accordance with their respective payment proposals. For cases with no proven financial difficulties, the instalments applications will be rejected. IRD will inform the taxpayers of the rejection in writing and the taxpayers will be asked to settle the tax on or before the due dates specified on their respective demand notes or within 14 days from the respective dates of issue of the rejection letters, whichever is later, to avoid imposition of 5% surcharge. On the other hand, if provisional tax for the Year of Assessment 2021/22 is charged on the demand note and a drop of chargeable income or assessable profits of the Year of Assessment 2021/22 by more than 10% as compared with that of the Year of Assessment 2020/21 is anticipated, taxpayers may apply for holding over of payment of the provisional tax in part or in full not later than 28 days before the due dates of the respective demand notes. If payment of provisional tax is fully or partially held over, taxpayers may be able to settle the balance of tax payable and need not apply for instalment payments.

Further information about application for holding over of provisional tax.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

Will surcharge be imposed on the outstanding tax if the approved instalment plan cannot be duly followed? How will the relevant surcharge be calculated?

 
 

A:

If the taxpayer fails to pay the tax according to the instalment plan granted, the instalment arrangement and the conditional waiver of surcharge will be cancelled immediately. A 5% surcharge will be imposed on the tax then remaining unpaid and the IRD will take immediate action in recovery of the outstanding amount. A further surcharge of 10% may also be imposed on the amount of tax and 5% surcharge remaining unpaid 6 months after the date of imposition of the 5% surcharge.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

I received a Salaries Tax demand note dated 7 June 2021 for the Year of Assessment 2020/21 requiring me to pay the first instalment of $45,000 on or before 11 January 2022 and the second instalment of $15,000 on or before 13 April 2022, totalling $60,000. Because of an unexpected incident in my family which necessitates a significant cash payment, I have financial difficulties in settling the tax demanded on time and would like to pay the tax by 6 instalments. How should I apply for instalments payment?

 
 

A:

To apply for instalments payment, you should complete and submit the instalments application form to the IRD with all the required supporting documents before the due date of the demand note (i.e. 11 January 2022). After verifying that you have financial difficulties in settling the tax on time, the IRD will approve your application in writing. Assuming that your application for the payment of tax by 6 instalments on the 11th of each month is approved, you would receive an instalments payment approval letter enclosed with 6 payment vouchers requiring you to pay the tax according to the plan as follows:
 

Date of Instalment Payment Amount ($)
11 January 2022 10,000
11 February 2022 10,000
11 March 2022 10,000
11 April 2022 10,000
11 May 2022 10,000
11 June 2022 10,000
  60,000

 
Failure to make payments according to the instalment plan granted will lead to the immediate cancellation of the instalment arrangement and the conditional waiver of surcharge. A 5% surcharge will be imposed on the tax then remaining unpaid. Assuming that you duly met the first 4 instalments in the above instalment plan but failed to pay the 5th instalment on time, a 5% surcharge would be imposed on the total amount payable under the 5th and 6th instalments.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

Will the IRD accept application for deferral of tax payment for the Salaries Tax, Profits Tax and Personal Assessment demand notes for the Year of Assessment 2020/21 issued between May 2021 and May 2022 and waive the surcharge during the deferral period?

 
 

A:

The IRD will not accept application for deferral of tax payment. But taxpayers who encounter financial difficulties in settling the tax on time should apply to the IRD for payment of tax by instalments. The IRD will consider each of the applications in light of the financial position of the applicants. For instalment plans approved by the IRD allowing taxpayers in financial difficulties for settlement of Salaries Tax, Profits Tax and Personal Assessment demand notes issued between May 2021 and May 2022 for the Year of Assessment 2020/21, provided that the instalment plans are duly adhered to, no surcharge will be imposed for a maximum period of one year counting from the due dates of the demand notes.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

For taxpayers in financial difficulties and need to apply for payment of the Salaries Tax, Profits Tax and Personal Assessment demand notes for the Year of Assessment 2020/21 by instalments, if the applications cannot be made before the payment due dates on their respective demand notes, what should they do?

 
 

A:

The taxpayers should complete and submit the instalments application forms to the IRD with the required supporting information and documents as soon as possible and provide reasons for the failure to make the applications on or before the due dates on their respective demand notes for the Department's consideration.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

Under the relief measure, will the surcharge be waived so long as the Salaries Tax, Profits Tax and Personal Assessment demand notes for the Year of Assessment 2020/21 can be settled within one year from their respective due dates?

 
 

A:

The conditional waiver of surcharge on overdue tax is only applicable to instalment plans granted to taxpayers for the instalment settlement of the tax payable under the Salaries Tax, Profits Tax and Personal Assessment demand notes for the Year of Assessment 2020/21 issued between May 2021 and May 2022. Provided that the instalment plans are duly adhered to, no surcharge will be imposed for a maximum period of one year counting from the due dates of the respective demand notes. For taxpayers who do not apply for instalments payment or their instalments applications are not approved by the IRD, the tax payable must be settled on or before the due dates specified on the tax demand notes. Default in tax payment will lead to the imposition of surcharges and other recovery actions.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

纾困措施 : 有条件豁免分期缴付2020/21课税年度税单的附加费

*

1.

问:

于2021年6月18日公布的豁免获批准分期缴税的纳税人征收附加费的纾困措施适用于甚么课税年度及种类的税单?是否个别人士及公司纳税人均可受惠于此纾困措施?

 
 

答:

有关豁免获批准分期缴税的纳税人征收附加费的纾困措施只适用于 2021年 5 月至2022年 5 月期间发出的2020/21课税年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税税单。纾困措施并不适用于物业税税单。因财政困难而未能依时清缴税款的个别人士及公司纳税人均可提出申请。

  返回页首


*

2.

问:

要符合甚么条件才可根据2021年6月18日公布的纾困措施获豁免征收附加费?

 
 

答:

在纾困措施下申请分期缴税的纳税人须列明因何财政上出现困难而未能依时交税。在提交申请时,纳税人须提交下列资料 :

申请人 个别人士/
独资经营业务者
合伙业务 法团
申请表格 IR1360 号表格
(2020/21 课税年度)
IR1360A 号表格
(2020/21 课税年度)
IR1360B 号表格
(2020/21 课税年度)
佐证资料及文件:      
  • 具体的分期缴税建议
  • 最近3 个月的银行月结单/存摺副本
  • 最近3 个月的收入及支出详情
-
  • 债务还款资料
  • 最近3个月的管理帐目
    ( 包括损益表及资产负债表 )
-
  • 现金流转状况及预测表
- -
  • 日间联络电话


税务局会因应个别纳税人的经济状况批出不同还款期的分期缴税安排,获批准的还款期一般不会超过 6 个月。在个别特殊情况下,获批准的还款期可能会稍长,但一般也不会超过 12 个月。纳税人必须按照批出的分期缴税安排准时缴付全数分期款项,才可获豁免征收附加费,豁免期以税单的缴税期限日起计的一年为上限。

  返回页首


*

3.

问:

分期缴税申请需要在何时作出?如果在税单列明的缴税日期前未能收到税务局的回复,应该如何缴税?

 
 

答:

因财政困难而未能依时清缴2020/21课税年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税税单的税款的纳税人,应在有关税单的缴税期限日前尽早申请分期缴税。税务局会在收到申请的21个工作天内批出分期,或因应申请人的财政状况调整他的分期建议。在税务局作出回复前,纳税人可暂时按照他的分期缴税建议,先行缴款。如纳税人未能証实财政困难而分期申请不获批准,税务局会发信通知纳税人并要求纳税人于缴税期限,或发信日期后的14天内清缴税款,以免被加征5% 附加费。另一方面,税单上若同时包括2021/22课税年度暂缴税,而纳税人预计2021/22课税年度的应课税入息或应评税利润将较2020/21课税年度下跌超过一成,可于税单列明的缴税日期前28天内向税务局申请暂缓缴付部分或全数的暂缴税。若申请缓缴暂缴税获得批准,纳税人或可一次过清缴税款余额而无须申请分期缴税。

更多有关申请缓缴暂缴税的资料。

  返回页首


*

4.

问:

如未能按照批出的分期缴税安排缴付分期,欠税是否会被加征附加费?怎样计算有关附加费?

 
 

答:

如纳税人未能按照批出的分期缴税安排缴付税款,有关分期缴税安排以及有条件豁免征收附加费的特别安排会被即时取消,当时尚未清缴的税款会被加征5%的附加费,税务局并会立即就欠税采取追讨行动。如在加征5%附加费的 6 个月后仍有未缴交的税款及5%附加费,则会被加征10%的附加费。

  返回页首


*

5.

问:

我收到2021年6月7日发出的2020/21课税年度最后评税连同2021/22课税年度暂缴税的薪俸税税单,第一期税款45,000元须于2022年1月11日或之前缴付,第二期税款15,000元须于2022年4月13日或之前缴付,合共60,000元;但因突发家庭事故须要支付一大笔现金致财政上出现困难,未能依时缴交,希望分6期缴交税款,应该怎样申请?

 
 

答:

你应填妥分期缴税申请表格连同所需的佐证文件于税单的缴税期限日(即2022年1月11日)前尽早交回税务局。经核实你是因财政困难未能依时交税后,税务局会发信批准有关申请。假设你提出分6期于每月的第11天缴款并获得批准,你会收到分期缴税通知书及6张缴款单,要求你按下列的缴税安排缴付税款:

分期缴款日期 款额 ($)
2022年 1月 11日 10,000
2022年 2月 11日 10,000
2022年 3月 11日 10,000
2022年 4月 11日 10,000
2022年 5月 11日 10,000
2022年 6月 11日 10,000
  60,000

如你未能按照批出的分期缴税安排缴付款项,有关分期缴税安排以及有条件豁免征收附加费的特别安排会被即时取消,当时尚未清缴的税款会被加征5%的附加费。以上列批出的分期缴税安排为例,假设你已依期缴付首4期的款项,但未能如期缴付第5期的款项,则尚未清缴的第5及第6期税款总额便会被加征5%的附加费。

  返回页首


*

6.

问:

税务局会否接受延期缴交于 2021 年 5 月至 2022 年 5 月期间发出的2020/21课税年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税税单的税款并豁免加征附加费的申请?

 
 

答:

税务局不会接受延期缴税的申请。惟纳税人因财政上出现困难而未能依时交税,可以向税务局申请分期缴付税款。税务局会按照纳税人的经济情况,考虑有关申请。获批准分期缴付于 2021 年 5 月至 2022 年 5 月期间发出的 2020/21 课税年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税税单的纳税人,如能依期缴交所有分期款项,可获豁免征收附加费,豁免期以税单的缴税期限日起计的一年为上限。

  返回页首


*

7.

问:

如因财政困难而须申请分期缴付2020/21课税年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税的纳税人,未能在税单的缴税期限日或之前提出分期缴税申请,可以怎么办?

 
 

答:

纳税人应尽快填妥分期缴税申请表格连同相关佐证资料及文件提交税务局,并说明未能于税单缴税期限日或之前提出分期缴税申请的原因,以便税务局考虑有关申请。

  返回页首


*

8.

问:

在纾困措施下,缴付2020/21课税年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税税单的纳税人,是否只要在缴税期限日起计的一年内清缴有关税款便不会被加征附加费?

 
 

答:

豁免征收附加费的安排只适用于获批准分期缴付于 2021年 5 月至 2022 年 5 月期间发出的 2020/21 课税年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税税单的纳税人。如纳税人能按照批出的分期缴款安排依期缴交所有分期款项,可获豁免征收附加费,豁免期以税单的缴税期限日起计的一年为上限。如纳税人没有向税务局申请分期缴税并获得批准,便必须按照税单上的指示依期交税,否则逾期未缴的税款会被加征附加费,税务局亦会就欠税采取追讨行动。