Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS
  • Default font size
  • Bigger font size
  • Biggest font size

Tax Deduction for Qualifying Premiums Paid under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme (VHIS) Policy

* 

Deduction Claim for more than 1 insured person

1.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased VHIS policies and paid qualifying premium for himself, his spouse and his child in the amounts of $10,000, $6,000 and $2,000 respectively during the year of assessment 2020/21. Can he make deduction claim for more than one insured person?

A:

Yes. Taxpayer can make deduction claim for more than one insured person in respect of qualifying premiums paid. However, the maximum deduction allowable is capped at $8,000 for each insured person.Taxpayer can claim a total deduction of $16,000 (capped at $8,000 for his own VHIS policy, $6,000 and $2,000 for his spouse and his child’s VHIS policies respectively) for the year of assessment 2020/21.

 back to top


* 

More than 1 taxpayer claims deduction for the same insured person

2.

Q:

Taxpayer and his brother each purchased one VHIS policy for their father in the amount of $10,000 and $2,000 respectively during the year of assessment 2020/21. Can they both lodge deduction claim for qualifying premiums paid for their father in the same year of assessment?

A:

Yes. There is no limit on the number of taxpayers who can make a claim for tax deduction for the same insured person. However, the maximum deduction allowable to a taxpayer for each insured person is capped at $8,000. Taxpayer and his brother can claim a deduction of $8,000 (cap) and $2,000 for the year of assessment 2020/21 respectively.

 back to top


* 

Policy with more than 1 holder

3.

Q:

Taxpayer and his brother purchased a VHIS policy together for their father in the amount of $12,000 during the year of assessment 2020/21. Both of them are the policy holders. Taxpayer has paid $8,000 and his brother has paid $4,000. Can they both lodge deduction claim for the qualifying premiums paid in the same year of assessment?

A:

Yes. If there is more than one policy holder for a VHIS policy, the qualifying premiums paid under the policy are taken as paid by all of the policy holders in equal shares. Taxpayer and his brother can each claim a deduction of $6,000 in year of assessment 2020/21.

 back to top


* 

Deduction claim of premiums paid and allowance claim for the same specified relatives

4.

Q:

Further to Q3, the taxpayer’s brother has claimed dependent parent allowance in respect of their father for the year of assessment 2020/21. In this regard, who can lodge deduction claim for the qualifying premiums paid?

A:

There is no direct relationship between the deduction claim of qualifying premiums paid for a specified relative and the allowance claim in respect of the same specified relative. Despite dependent parent allowance in respect of an insured person claimed by one taxpayer (regardless this taxpayer is one of the policy holders or not), the other policy holder(s) can still lodge deduction claim for qualifying premiums paid in respect of the same insured person for the same year of assessment. As such, both the taxpayer and the taxpayer’s brother can lodge deduction claim for qualifying premiums paid for the year of assessment 2020/21.

 back to top


* 

More than 1 policy for the same insured person

5.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased three VHIS polices for his mother during the year of assessment 2020/21. Can he make deduction claim for qualifying premiums paid for all the VHIS policies?

A:

Yes. If a taxpayer has procured more than one VHIS policy for the same insured person, the taxpayer may still claim deduction for the various premiums paid, subject to the $8,000 cap for each insured person.

 back to top


* 

Not a policy holder

6.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased a VHIS policy for his mother during the year of assessment 2020/21. His sister is not a policy holder but has paid part of the premiums. Can the taxpayer’s sister make deduction claim for premiums paid by her?

A:

No. Only the taxpayer as policy holder or his spouse is eligible to lodge deduction claim.

 back to top


* 

Deduction claimed by married taxpayers

7.

Q:

Taxpayer has paid qualifying premiums for his child during a year of assessment. Taxpayer’s spouse is not a policy holder and did not pay any premiums. Can taxpayer’s spouse lodge deduction claim in respect of premiums paid by the taxpayer?

A:

Yes. Deduction claim can be lodged by a married person or the person’s spouse (not being a spouse living apart from the taxpayer) or both in respect of the qualifying premiums paid by either or both of them as policy holder(s) during a year of assessment for an insured person so long as –

(a) the insured person must be taxpayer or a specified relative of taxpayer;
(b) the deduction allowed to each of them for the insured person does not exceed the limit of $8,000; and
(c) the total deduction allowed to them does not exceed the qualifying premiums paid.

8.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased a VHIS policy for his son and paid qualifying premiums of $14,000 during the year of assessment 2020/21. What is the allowable deduction for taxpayer and his spouse?

Scenario 1: Taxpayer had chargeable income but his spouse had no income chargeable to tax.
(i.e. salaries income, rental income and business income).
Scenario 2: Both taxpayer and his spouse had chargeable income. Taxpayer claimed deduction of $9,000 and his spouse claimed deduction of $7,000.

A:

Scenario 1:
As the spouse had no income chargeable to tax (i.e. salaries income, rental income and business income), the couple could not be assessed under joint assessment or personal assessment jointly. Therefore, the maximum amount of deduction allowable to the taxpayer in respect of each insured person is restricted to the individual limit of $8,000.

Scenario 2:
Deduction claim can be lodged by taxpayer and/or his spouse but the deduction allowed to each of them for the son should not exceed the limit of $8,000; and the total deduction allowed to them should not exceed the qualifying premiums paid of $14,000. Therefore, the couple have to agree how to divide the amount of deduction, like taxpayer and his spouse may claim deductions of $8,000 and $6,000 respectively or each may claim $7,000.

9.

Q:

Taxpayer has separated with his spouse. His spouse has paid qualifying premiums for their child during the year of assessment 2020/21. The taxpayer is not a policy holder and did not pay any premiums. Can the taxpayer lodge deduction claim in respect of the qualifying premiums paid by his spouse?

A:

No. Taxpayer cannot make deduction claims for premiums paid by a spouse who is living apart.

 back to top


* 

Refund of qualifying premiums paid

10.

Q:

Taxpayer paid qualifying premiums in the amount of $5,000 during the year of assessment 2020/21. Subsequently, taxpayer received a refund of $1,000 from the insurance company. What should taxpayer do if he received a refund of qualifying premium under the VHIS policy before he claims the deduction? What should taxpayer do if he received a refund after the deduction is claimed?

A:

The qualifying premiums paid are taken to be reduced by the amount of the refund. If the refund is received before the deduction is claimed, taxpayer should only claim a deduction of $4,000 in the tax return. If taxpayer received a refund of premiums after the deduction is claimed, he must notify the Commissioner in writing of the refund within 3 months after the date of refund. If the deduction has been allowed, an assessor may, having regard to the reduction, make an additional assessment.

 back to top


* 

Others

11.

Q:

Can a taxpayer claim the deduction if his tax is assessed at the standard rate?

A:

Yes. Deduction of qualifying premiums paid for a VHIS policy is a ‘concessionary deduction’ under Part 4A of the Inland Revenue Ordinance, which means that the net sum of premiums paid will be deducted from taxpayer’s assessable income under salaries tax, or from total income under personal assessment. The balance will then be subject to progressive tax rates (after deducting personal allowances) or standard rate. That is to say, a person taxed at standard rate is also eligible to claim deduction of qualifying premiums paid for a VHIS policy.

12.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased a VHIS policy with premiums payment of $8,000 due on 30 March 2021. Taxpayer paid the qualifying premiums on 2 April 2021. Can he claim deduction of $8,000 in year of assessment 2020/21?

A:

No. Taxpayer cannot claim deduction in the year of assessment 2020/21 because he did not pay any qualifying premiums during that year. Therefore, taxpayer should claim deduction in respect of the premiums paid in the year of assessment 2021/22.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

根据自愿医保计划保单所缴付的合资格保费的扣税安排

* 

就多于一名受保人申请扣除

1.

问:

纳税人于2020/21课税年度为自己、配偶及子女购买了金额分别为10,000元、6,000元及2,000元的自愿医保计划保单,并缴付了合资格保费。他可以就多于一名受保人申请税务扣除吗?

答:

可以。纳税人可申请扣除为多于一名受保人缴付的合资格保费,但就每名受保人的最高扣除额为8,000元。纳税人可于2020/21课税年度申请扣除的总数为16,000元,即他自己的扣除额为上限8,000元,他就配偶及子女的扣除额则分别为6,000元及2,000元。

 返回页首


* 

多于一名纳税人就同一受保人申请扣除

2.

问:

纳税人及他的哥哥于2020/21 课税年度各自为父亲购买了一份金额分别为10,000元及2,000元的自愿医保计划保单。他们可以在同一个课税年度申请扣除为父亲缴付的合资格保费吗?

答:

可以。多于一名纳税人可在同一个课税年度就同一名受保人申索合资格保费的税务扣除。但每名纳税人就每名受保人可获最高的扣除额为8,000元。因此,该名纳税人可于2020/21课税年度申请8,000元(上限)的税务扣除;而他的哥哥则可申请2,000元的税务扣除。

 返回页首


* 

保单由多于一名人士持有

3.

问:

纳税人及他的哥哥于2020/21 课税年度共同为父亲购买了一份金额为12,000元的自愿医保计划保单。他们二人均是保单持有人,纳税人和他的哥哥分别缴付了8,000元及4,000元的保费。他们可以在同一个课税年度申请扣除为父亲缴付的合资格保费吗?

答:

可以。如自愿医保计划保单有多于一名保单持有人,则根据该保单而缴付的合资格保费,须视为由所有保单持有人以相等份额缴付。纳税人及他的哥哥于2020/21课税年度每人可申请6,000元的税务扣除。

 返回页首


* 

就同一指明亲属申请保费扣除及免税额

4.

问:

承第3题,纳税人的哥哥于2020/21 课税年度已就父亲申请了供养父母免税额。这样的话,谁人可以就已缴付的合资格保费申请税务扣除呢?

答:

申请扣除为指明亲属缴付的合资格保费,与申请该名指明亲属的免税额,两者之间并无直接关系。即使有纳税人(不论该纳税人是否其中一名保单持有人)已经就某受保人申请了供养父母免税额,其他保单持有人仍可以就同一受保人申请扣除合资格保费。因此,纳税人及他的哥哥都可以于2020/21课税年度申请扣除已缴付的合资格保费。

 返回页首


* 

为同一受保人购买多于一份保单

5.

问:

纳税人于2020/21 课税年度为母亲购买了三份自愿医保计划保单。他可以就全部自愿医保计划保单缴付的合资格保费申请税务扣除吗?

答:

可以。如纳税人为同一名受保人购买多于一份自愿医保计划保单,相关的合资格保费都可申请税务扣除,总扣除额的上限为8,000元。

 返回页首


* 

并非保单持有人

6.

问:

纳税人于2020/21 课税年度为母亲购买了一份自愿医保计划保单。他的妹妹并非保单持有人但曾代他缴付了部分保费。纳税人的妹妹可以就她缴付的保费申请税务扣除吗?

答:

不可以。只有纳税人作为保单持有人或其同住配偶才可以申索有关合资格保费的扣除。

 返回页首


* 

已婚人士申请扣除

7.

问:

纳税人于2020/21课税年度为儿子购买的自愿医保计划保单缴付了合资格保费。他的配偶有应课税入息但并非保单持有人并且未有缴付任何保费。纳税人的配偶可就纳税人已缴付的保费申请税务扣除吗?

答:

可以。已婚纳税人可申索扣除由本人或其同住配偶以保单持有人身分为受保人缴付的合资格保费。前提是-

(a) 受保人必须是纳税人或纳税人的指明亲属;
(b) 每名纳税人就每名受保人可获容许的扣除,不可超过8,000元的上限;及
(c) 他们获容许的扣除总额,不可超过已缴付保费。

8.

问:

纳税人在2020/21课税年度为儿子购买了一份自愿医保计划保单,并缴付合资格保费14,000元,纳税人及配偶可获的扣除额是多少?

情况一:
纳税人在2020/21课税年度有应课税入息,而他的配偶并无任何应课税入息 (即薪俸收入、租金收入及业务收入)。

情况二:
纳税人及配偶在2020/21课税年度均有应课税入息。纳税人及配偶分别申索扣除9,000元及7,000元保费。

答:

情况一:
由于纳税人的配偶没有任何应课税入息 (即薪俸收入、租金收入及业务收入),他们不符合资格申请合并评税或共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税。因此,纳税人就每名受保人可以获得的最高扣除额为其个人的上限8,000元。

情况二:
纳税人及/或其同住配偶可就相关的合资格保费申请税务扣除,但他们各自就儿子可获的扣除,不可超过其个人的上限8,000元;及他们获容许的扣除总额,不可超过已缴付保费14,000元。因此,他们须协商如何分摊扣除总额,纳税人及配偶可分别申索扣除8,000元及6,000元或各7,000元的合资格保费。

9.

问:

纳税人已经与配偶分居。纳税人的配偶于2020/21课税年度为一名子女缴付了合资格保费。纳税人并非保单持有人,亦从未缴付任何保费。纳税人可就其配偶缴付的合资保费申索扣除吗?

答:

不可以。纳税人不可就非同住配偶缴付的保费申索扣除。

 返回页首


* 

退还合资格保费

10.

问:

纳税人于2020/21课税年度缴付了5,000元合资格保费。其后,他获保险公司退还1,000元保费。如纳税人在申索扣除之前,已获退还有关的保费,他应该怎样做?如纳税人在申索扣除之后,才获退还有关的保费,他应该怎样做?

答:

纳税人只可申索扣减已缴付保费的净款额。如纳税人在申索扣除之前已获退还保费,他在2020/21课税年度的报税表应该申索4,000元税务扣除。如纳税人在申索扣除之后,才获退还保费,他须在款项退还当日之后的3个月内,将退款一事以书面通知税务局局长。如有关扣除已获批准,评税主任可在考虑有关退款后,对纳税人作出补加评税。

 返回页首


* 

其他

11.

问:

如纳税人以标准税率缴税,他可以申请此项扣除吗?

答:

可以。扣减合资格保费是税务条例第4A部的一项「特惠扣除」,意指所缴付的合资格保费净款额会从有关人士在薪俸税下的应评税入息或在个人入息课税下的入息总额(如选择以个人入息课税方式评税)中扣除。余额则以累进税率(在扣除个人免税额后)或标准税率征税,亦即是说,如某人以标准税率缴税,他亦符合资格申索扣除为自愿医保计划保单缴付的合资格保费。

12.

问:

纳税人在2020/21课税年度购买了自愿医保计划保单,根据保单他应在2021年3月30日缴付合资格保费8,000元,但纳税人在2021年4月2日才缴付有关保费。纳税人可否在2020/21课税年度申请扣除8,000元保费?

答:

不可以。由于纳税人在2020/21课税年度并无缴付任何合资格保费,他不可以申请有关的税务扣除。有关保费在2021/22课税年度才缴付,纳税人只可在2021/22课税年度申请有关的扣除。