Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS
  • Default font size
  • Bigger font size
  • Biggest font size

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

IRD responds to media enquiries on property stamp duty matters arising from intervention into Messrs Wong, Fung & Co

*****************************************************************************************************************************************

     In response to media enquiries regarding property stamp duty matters that may arise from the Law Society of Hong Kong's intervention into the practice of Messrs Wong, Fung & Co, the Stamp Office of the Inland Revenue Department today (January 12) made the following response:

     "Although the Stamp Office does not have the discretion to extend the time limit for stamping property transaction instruments under the relevant law, if a duty payer's failure to arrange stamping of a property transaction instrument before the time limit is the result of the intervention, the Stamp Office is prepared to consider remission of penalty for late stamping. The duty payer can make an application directly or through the newly engaged solicitor to the Stamp Office."

     "If the duty payer is unable to raise funds to settle the stamp duty payable within a short period of time due to the freezing of relevant bank accounts of the law firm, an application can be made to the Stamp Office for instalment payment."

     "If the property transaction cannot be completed otherwise than by reason of re-sale or disposal of the property by the purchaser, the relevant agreement for sale is not chargeable with stamp duty. The duty payer can apply for refund of the stamp duty paid in respect of the relevant agreement within two years after the agreed date of completion of the transaction."

     "The Stamp Office has informed the Law Society of Hong Kong of the above arrangements, and is proactively reaching out to the intervention agent and affected duty payers to assist them in handling the relevant stamp duty matters. If the duty payers have any enquiries, they may contact the Stamp Office by the following means: Tel: 2594 3202; Fax: 2519 9025; email: [email protected]."
 

Ends/Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Issued at HKT 20:22

NNNN

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

新闻稿

(资料来源:政府新闻处) 

税务局回应黄冯律师行遭介入而引致的物业印花税事宜

*************************

  就传媒查询香港律师会介入黄冯律师行的业务而可能引致的物业印花税事宜,税务局印花税署今日(一月十二日)回应如下:

   「按照法律权限,虽然印花税署没有酌情权延长物业交易文书加盖印花的时限,若纳税人因有关介入事件而未能在限期前为其物业交易文书加盖印花,印花税署会考虑减免相关的逾期罚款。纳税人可自行或经其新聘任的律师向印花税署提出申请。」

   「如纳税人因律师行的户口被冻结而未能于短期内筹备资金支付印花税,亦可向印花税署申请分期缴付。」

   「若物业交易最终未能完成,而原因并非买方将物业转售或出售,则有关买卖协议无须缴付印花税。纳税人可于该协议所协定的交易完成日期后两年内申请退还已缴付的印花税。」

   「印花税署已将上述安排通知香港律师会,并积极接触由律师会委任的介入中介人及受影响的纳税人,协助其处理相关的印花税事宜。如纳税人有任何查询,可以下列方式与印花税署联络:电话:2594 3202;传真:2519 9025;电邮:[email protected]。」

 

2021年1月12日(星期二)
香港时间15时32分