Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
    Home > Frequently Asked Questions  > Tax Recovery Notices

Tax Recovery Notices

1.

Q:

I have received a recovery notice from IRD which states that my employee, Mr Chan Tai Man has tax in default amounting to $20,000, what should I do?

  

A:

The Inland Revenue Ordinance specifies that if a taxpayer has tax in default, IRD can issue a recovery notice to a third party requesting that third party to pay to IRD, within a stipulated time, money not exceeding the amount of tax in default held on account of the defaulter.  Failure to do so will render the third party personally liable for the whole of the tax which the third party was required to pay.

However, if the employee is covered by the Employment Ordinance (Cap. 57)(“EO”), the employer must follow section 32(3) of the EO when deducting the wages i.e. the total of all deductions, including other deducted item(s) made in one wage period shall not exceed one half of the wages payable in that period except under some specified circumstances.

In the case of Mr Chan Tai Man, if his wages for the month is $40,000 and there is no other deduction, you should deduct $20,000 from the wages payable to him for payment of tax.  However, if his wages for the month is only $30,000, you should deduct $15,000 for payment of tax and explain in writing that the amount of wages deducted cannot exceed the amount specified by the EO.

For details regarding the EO, please visit the homepage of the Labour Department.

Homepage of the Labour Department - Restriction on deduction from wages under the Employment Ordinance

back to top

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
    主頁 > 常見問題  > 追收稅款通知書

追收稅款通知書

1.

問:

我收到稅務局的追收稅款通知書,信上列明我的僱員陳大文先生欠繳稅款20,000元,我應如何處理?

  

答:

《稅務條例》訂明如納稅人拖欠稅款,稅務局可向第三者發出追收稅款通知書,要求該第三者於法定時限內,將代該納稅人持有、又不超出有關拖欠稅額的金錢交予稅務局。假如該第三者在能遵照辦理的情況下而沒有依照規定辦理,該第三者須負上繳交他應繳付的全部稅款的法律責任。

若《僱傭條例》(第57章)適用於該僱員,僱主須遵守該條例第32(3) 條的規定,即僱主在該個工資期中總共可扣除的工資總額(包括其他各項扣除),除於某些指定的情況外,不得超過僱員在該期間所得工資的一半。

就陳大文先生的個案而言,若他該月的工資為40,000元而未有其他需扣除項目,你便須將當中的20,000元交予稅務局清繳欠稅。若他該月的工資只有30,000元,你須將陳先生一半的工資,即15,000元交予稅務局清繳稅款,並以書面解釋所扣減的工資不得超過《僱傭條例》規定的款額。

有關《僱傭條例》的詳情,請瀏覽勞工處網頁 。

勞工處網頁 – 有關《僱傭條例》扣除工資的限制

返回頁首