Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Publications and Press Releases > Advance Ruling Cases > Advance Ruling Case No. 48

Advance Ruling Case No. 48


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of sections 14 and 16 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO").

  back to top


2. Background

(a) The Company, a Hong Kong incorporated company, is a wholly owned subsidiary of Group A. Group A, with its headquarters located outside Hong Kong, is principally engaged in the development, manufacturing, distribution and retailing of various products, including Product P.
(b) The Company is engaged in retailing activities in Hong Kong and is designated as Group A's distribution hub for most of the products in the Asia Pacific region.
(c) Company B is a wholly owned subsidiary of Group A. The distribution and retailing of Product P in Sub-region S was handled and housed under the Sub-region S branch of Company B ("B-branch"). Sub-region S is located outside Hong Kong.
(d) According to Group A's plan in streamlining its structures, the business of distribution and retailing of Product P in Sub-region S is integrated into the Sub-region S branch of the Company ("the Branch"). The Branch is managed and operated by a team of staff in Sub-region S who work independently from the Company's office in Hong Kong.

 

  back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) All the business and employees of B-branch are transferred to the Branch. All these employees are local people living and working in Sub-region S and they are not required to perform their duties in Hong Kong.
(b) The Company has entered into non-exclusive distribution agreements with its overseas associated companies ("the Suppliers"). Under the distribution agreements, the Company is granted the right to distribute Product P in Asia Pacific region. The Company purchases Product P from the Suppliers for its further distribution and for its own retailing in Hong Kong.
(c) The Company is required to adhere to all Group A's business policies. The product retail/wholesale suggested prices, product categories, terms of delivery and payment conditions etc. are all pre-determined and centrally governed by Group A. The transfer prices of Group A for all related party transactions are determined and coordinated internally by Group A's headquarters outside Hong Kong in a manner which meets the arm's length standard such that Group A's distribution companies earn an arm's length return.
(d) Every year, the Branch will attend meetings with the Suppliers outside Hong Kong. The Suppliers will provide the product price list to the Branch. The purchase plans and annual sales budget prepared by the Branch, and all the sales terms (including the product prices) are negotiated and concluded between the Branch and the Suppliers directly outside Hong Kong. The approved annual sales budget is then uploaded by the Branch to Group A's internal ordering system. The Company's Hong Kong office is not involved in the discussions and negotiations between the Branch and the Suppliers.
(e) Purchase order is placed by the Branch directly with the Suppliers via Group A's internal ordering system. Order confirmation is sent directly from the Suppliers to the Branch. The Company's Hong Kong office does not have any authority to accept, reject or amend any details in the order confirmation.
(f) The staff of the Branch contact and liaise directly with unrelated wholesalers in Sub-region S. The wholesalers place orders with the Branch. The wholesale managers of the sales team in the Branch have the ultimate authority to conclude the sales terms with the wholesalers and to approve the purchase orders from wholesalers.
(g) The goods are shipped directly from the Suppliers outside Hong Kong to the Branch in Sub-region S. The Suppliers inform the Branch directly on the shipment details.
(h) The Suppliers issue invoices to the Branch. The staff of the Branch also issue invoices to its (wholesale) customers.
(i) The Branch settles its accounts with the Suppliers through Group A's netting system. The customers of the Branch settle their accounts with the Branch by cheque deposited into the Branch's bank accounts in Sub-region S.
(j) The after-sales services are handled by the local service team of the Branch in Sub-region S.

  back to top


4. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

  There are no assumptions made by the Commissioner.

  back to top


5. The ruling

(a) The Company will not be chargeable to Profits Tax under section 14 of the IRO in respect of the profits derived by the Branch from its sales of Product P to the unrelated customers in the Sub-region S market, as described in the arrangement.
(b) All the associated expenses to be incurred by the Company for the generation of the profits mentioned in 5(a) above will not be deductible under section 16 of the IRO.

 

  back to top


6. The period for which the ruling applies

  This ruling will apply for the year of assessment 2010/11 and subsequent years of assessment.

  back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued 

  7 November 2011.

 

  back to top


8. Commentary

(a) Under section 14 of the IRO, every person who carries on a trade, business or profession in Hong Kong is chargeable to profits tax on the profits arising in or derived from Hong Kong. In the present case, the contracts of purchase and sale of Product P by the Branch would be effected outside Hong Kong. Therefore, section 14 does not apply to the profits to be derived by the Branch from its sales of Product P in Sub-region S.
(b) The Company's associated expenses, not incurred in the production of assessable profits, are not deductible under section 16 of the IRO.
 
(This commentary is not a legally binding statement and it does not form part of the Ruling.)

 

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

事先裁定個案第 48 號


1. 《稅務條例》的條文
  本裁定適用於《稅務條例》第 14 及第 16 條。

 返回頁首


2. 背景
  (a) 該公司是一家在香港成立的公司,屬於 A 集團的全資附屬公司。 A 集團的總部設於香港境外,所從事的業務主要是發展、生產、分銷及零售不同的產品(包括 P 產品)。
  (b) 該公司在香港從事零售業務,亦是 A 集團大部分產品在亞太區的分銷中心。
  (c) B 公司是 A 集團的全資附屬公司,其 S 分區分公司(「B - 分公司」)負責 P 產品在 S 分區的分銷及零售業務。 S 分區位於香港境外。
  (d) 按照 A 集團的精簡架構計劃, P 產品在 S 分區的分銷及零售業務歸併於該公司在 S 分區的分公司(「該分公司」),該分公司由 S 分區的一組職員負責管理及經營,獨立於該公司的香港辦事處。

 返回頁首


3. 安排
  (a) B - 分公司的全部業務及員工轉到該分公司,有關的員工均是在 S 分區居住及工作的當地人士,無需到香港履行職責。
  (b) 該公司與其海外相聯公司(該供應商)簽訂非獨家的分銷協議,獲授權在亞太區分銷 P 產品。該公司向該供應商購入 P 產品,然後作分銷及本身在香港的零售用途。
  (c) 該公司需遵守 A 集團的所有業務政策, A 集團會預先制定及集中管轄產品的零售 / 批發建議價、產品類別、交貨條款、付款條件等。集團內關聯人士的所有交易,其轉讓價格亦是由香港境外的總部以公平獨立交易準則訂立及協調,使 A 集團的分銷公司能獲得按獨立交易原則訂立的回報。
  (d) 該分公司每年於香港境外與該供應商舉行會議,該供應商會提供產品價目表給該分公司,該分公司在香港境外與該供應商會直接洽商及訂立由該分公司編制的採購計劃及年銷售額預算和所有銷售條款(包括產品價格),該分公司繼而將年銷售額核定預算上載 A 集團的內部訂貨系統。該公司的香港辦事處不會參與討論和洽商。
  (e) 該分公司會經 A 集團的內部訂貨系統,直接向該供應商發出訂貨單。訂單確認書亦是由該供應商直接送交該分公司。該公司的香港辦事處無權接納、拒絕或更改訂單確認書內的細節。
  (f) 該分公司的職員會直接聯絡在 S 分區無關聯的批發商,批發商亦會直接向該分公司落訂單。該分公司銷售部門的批發經理,可行使最終權力與批發商訂立銷售條款及批准批發商的購貨單。
  (g) 貨物由該供應商從香港境外直接付運到 S 分區的該分公司。該供應商會直接通知該分公司有關的裝運詳情。
  (h) 該供應商向該分公司發出發票,該分公司職員亦向其(批發)客戶發出發票。
  (i) 該分公司是經 A 集團的淨額結算系統與該供應商結帳,而其客戶則以支票結帳,存入該分公司在 S 分區的銀行戶口。
  (j) 售後服務由該分公司在 S 分區當地的銷售部門負責。

 返回頁首


4. 稅務局局長就將來發生的事件或任何其他事項在要項上作出的假設
  稅務局局長沒有作出假設。

 返回頁首


5. 裁定
  (a) 有關該分公司根據上述安排於 S 分區市場售賣 P 產品予非關聯客戶所獲得的利潤,該公司無須按《稅務條例》第 14 條課繳利得稅。
  (b) 該公司為產生上述 5(a)的利潤而引致的全部有關支出,按《稅務條例》第 16 條不獲扣除。

 返回頁首


6. 裁定的適用期
  本裁定適用於 2010/11 及以後的課稅年度。

 返回頁首


7. 裁定日期
  2011 年 11 月 7 日。

 返回頁首


8. 評註
  (a) 根據《稅務條例》第 14 條,凡任何人在香港經營任何行業、業務或專業而獲得於香港產生或得自香港的利潤,則須向該人徵收利得稅。在本個案中,有關該分公司採購及銷售 P 產品均在香港境外,因此,第 14 條不適用於該分公司在 S 分區銷售 P 產品所得的利潤。
  (b) 該公司有關的支出,由於並不是為產生應課稅利潤而招致,按《稅務條例》第 16 條不能給予扣除。
     
  ( 本評註並非具有法律約束力的陳述,也不構成本裁定的一部分。)