Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Advance Ruling Case No. 57


1. The provisions of the Ordinance

  This ruling applies in respect of sections 19C, 61A and 61B of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (“IRO”).

 

 back to top


2. Background

(a)
Company A and Company B are companies incorporated in Hong Kong.   Both of them have been engaging in trading of the same type of products.  Up to April 2012, the two companies were members of Group A and Group B respectively and were operated separately with different management and control.
(b)
In April 2012, Group B acquired Group A.  Since then, Company A and its holding company have become part of Group B.  Besides, Company A and Company B have shared the same office, staff and company website, and purchased goods from same suppliers.  In September 2013, all shares of Company B were transferred to the holding company of Company A.

 back to top


3. The arrangement 

(a) Group B plans to amalgamate Company A into Company B (“the Amalgamation”) in the year of assessment 2015/16 under Division 3 of Part 13 of the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622) (“CO”).
(b) Pursuant to the CO, the legal effect of the Amalgamation is that on and after the effective date of the Amalgamation:
 
(i) Company A ceases to exist as an entity separate from Company B; and
 
(ii) Company B succeeds to all property, rights and privileges, and all liabilities and obligations of Company A.

 back to top


4. The ruling

 Subsequent to the Amalgamation, losses incurred by Company B prior to the Amalgamation may be applied to set off against profits derived from the trade or business succeeded by Company B from Company A.  The Commissioner is however satisfied that the sole or dominant purpose of the Amalgamation is not for obtaining tax benefit after taking into account the insignificant amount of tax losses of Company B and its role as regional headquarters.  Furthermore, but for the Amalgamation, Company B would have adequate financial ability to take over the trade or business of Company A by way of acquisition on arm’s length terms.  On such basis, the Commissioner has made the rulings as follows:

(a) Sections 61A and 61B of the IRO will not be applied to the Amalgamation; and
(b) Pursuant to section 19C(4) of the IRO, the tax losses of Company B brought forward from the year of assessment 2014/15 will be utilized to set off against its assessable profits for the subsequent years of assessment.  The assessable profits for the year of assessment 2015/16 and thereafter will include profits derived from the same trade or business previously carried on by Company A but succeeded by Company B as a result of the Amalgamation.

 back to top


5. The period for which the ruling applies

  This ruling applies for the year of assessment 2015/16 and all subsequent years of assessment.

 

 back to top


6. The material assumptions in respect of a future event or any other matter made by the Commissioner

(a)
Company B will continue to carry on its trade or business until and after the Amalgamation.
(b)
The trade or business carried on by Company A immediately before the Amalgamation will be succeeded and carried on by Company B upon and after the Amalgamation.
(c)
There is or will be no significant increase in the tax losses sustained by Company B during the period from 1 January 2014 to the date immediately before the Amalgamation when comparing with the amount of tax losses recorded as at 31 December 2013.

 back to top


7 . Date of ruling issued 

 

26 August 2015

 back to top


8. Commentary 

 

Section 61A of the IRO counteracts transactions entered into for the sole or dominant purpose to obtain a tax benefit.

Section 61B of the IRO counteracts against tax avoidance by empowering the Commissioner to refuse to set off losses brought forward where he is satisfied that the sole or dominant purpose of a change in shareholding was the utilization of those losses to avoid or reduce tax liability.

In the commercial world, it is not uncommon for two or more companies to amalgamate into one company through business restructuring.  In general, the main reason for amalgamation is to maximize profits through synergy of cost saving, operational efficiency, market diversification or reduction in competitors, etc. 

In the present case, Company A and Company B have been carrying on the same trading activities and sharing common resources.  Their amalgamation will achieve, among other things, operational efficiency and cost savings.  As Company B would have adequate financial ability to take over Company A’s business and the tax losses involved is insignificant, it is considered that sections 61A and 61B should not be applied to the present arrangement.

(This commentary is not a legally binding statement and it does not form part of the Ruling.  For assessment practice, please click here.)

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

事先裁定個案第 57 號


1.
《稅務條例》的條文
 
本裁定適用於《稅務條例》第19C、61A 及 61B條。

 

 返回頁首


2.
背景
  (a)
A公司及B公司是在香港註冊成立的公司。它們均是買賣同類型產品。直至2012年4月,該兩家公司分別為A集團及B集團的成員公司,並在不同的管理及控制下營運。
  (b)
在2012年4月,B集團收購A集團。自此,A公司及其母公司成為B集團的一份子。另外,A公司及B公司佔用同一所辦公室、同一批員工及同一個公司網頁,亦從相同的供應商購買貨品。在2013年9月,B公司的所有股份轉由A公司的母公司持有。

 

 返回頁首


3.
安排
  (a)
B集團擬在2015/16課稅年度,依據《公司條例》第13部第3分部,把A公司合併至B公司﹝“有關合併”﹞。
  (b)
根據《公司條例》,在有關合併生效日期及以後:
    (i)
A公司不再是獨立於B公司之外的實體;及
    (ii)
B公司繼承A公司的所有財產、權利及特權,以及所有法律責任及義務。

 

 返回頁首


4.
裁定
  在有關合併以後,B公司在合併前蒙受的虧損可能會用作抵銷其產生自繼承A公司的行業或業務的利潤。在考慮B公司在合併前的結轉虧損額不多,以及它作為集團地區營運總部的角色後,稅務局局長信納有關合併的唯一或主要目的並不是使其獲得稅項利益。另外,即使不進行有關合併,B公司亦有足夠的財力,以公平獨立交易原則併購A公司。在此基礎上,稅務局局長作出下列裁定:  
    (a)
《稅務條例》第61A及61B條不適用於有關合併安排;及
    (b)
B公司承轉自2014/15課稅年度的虧損額可依據《稅務條例》第19C(4)條用以抵銷該公司在其後課稅年度的應評稅利潤。2015/16課稅年度及其後的應評稅利潤包括A公司先前經營,並在有關合併後由B公司繼承的行業或業務所招致的利潤。

 

 返回頁首


5.
裁定的適用期
 
本裁定適用於2015/16課稅年度及其後的課稅年度。

 

 返回頁首


6.
稅務局局長就將來發生的事件或任何其他事項在要項上作出的假設
  (a)
直至有關合併及其後,B公司繼續經營其行業或業務。
  (b)
在有關合併及其後,B公司將繼承A公司合併前所經營的行業或業務,並會繼續經營該行業或業務。
  (c)
B公司在2014年1月1日至有關合併前的期間,沒有或將不會蒙受顯著大於其在2013年12月31日結轉的虧損。

 

 返回頁首


7. 裁定日期
 
2015年8月26日

 

 返回頁首


8. 評註
 

《稅務條例》第61A條旨在打擊一些唯一或主要目的是使某些人能夠獲得稅項利益的交易。

《稅務條例》第61B條列明如稅務局局長信納股份持有方面的變動的唯一或主要目的是為了利用虧損以規避或減少稅款,便可拒絕容許公司承前的虧損用作抵銷利潤,藉此打擊避稅安排。

在商業世界中,兩家或以上公司合併為一家公司的業務重組安排屢見不鮮。一般而言,其主要目的為透過減省支出、提升營運效率、拓展多元化市場或減少競爭者等方式達致協同效應,以增加公司或集團的利潤。

在本個案中,A公司與B公司均是作同樣的買賣活動及用同樣的資源。兩家公司的合併會帶來減省支出、提升營運效率等好處。即使不進行有關合併,B公司亦有足夠的財力併購A公司。再者,本個案所涉及的虧損額不多,故認為第61A 及 61B條並不適用於此。

﹝本評註並非具有法律約束力的陳述,也不構成本裁定的一部分。有關的評稅指引,請按此。﹞