Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Seminar on tax treaty between Hong Kong and Malaysia held in Kuala Lumpur(with photos)

*********************************************************************************************************

     Some 120 participants from the business sector joined a seminar in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, today (April 25) to learn more about the benefits and business opportunities under the "Comprehensive Double Taxation Agreement" (CDTA) signed between Hong Kong and Malaysia.

    Organised by the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office (HKETO) in Singapore, Invest Hong Kong and the Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute, a leading think tank in Malaysia, the seminar invited representatives from the governments of Hong Kong and Malaysia as well as tax experts from both economies to speak on the benefits of the CDTA.

    Addressing the seminar, the Director of the HKETO in Singapore, Mr Fong Ngai, said, "This agreement provides real and tangible benefits to the business community. I am sure the arrangements for avoidance of double taxation and reduction in business costs will be welcomed by the business community. This is indeed our intention in signing the CDTA with Malaysia."

    Under the CDTA, investors will not have to pay tax twice on a single source of income. It will bring about tax savings and a higher degree of certainty on taxation liability for investors from Hong Kong and Malaysia when they engage in cross-border trade and investment activities involving the economies concerned. Hong Kong is actively seeking to expand its network of CDTAs with major trading and investment partners with a view to strengthening Hong Kong's position as the preferred investment and business destination.

    "We are glad to see that the CDTA with Malaysia has come to fruition as shown by the strong interest from the Malaysian business community on the subject matter," said the Deputy Commissioner (Technical) of the Inland Revenue Department, Mr Chiu Kwok-kit, who was one of the speakers at the seminar.

    Mr Fong added, "Hong Kong is strategically located at the heart of Asia, and is the connecting bridge between Mainland China and the rest of the world. With a renowned rule of law system and a simple and low tax regime, Hong Kong is naturally the best base for Malaysian companies which have an interest in the huge Mainland Chinese market. The CDTA will provide Malaysian companies an added impetus to tap into this market by maximising their financial returns through the agreement."

    Other speakers at the seminar were the Senior Deputy Under Secretary, Tax Analysis Division, Ministry of Finance of Malaysia, Ms Khodijah Abdullah; the Chair of the Taxation Faculty Executive Committee of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Ms Florence Chan; the Executive Director, Mergers & Acquisitions/International Tax Services, PricewaterhouseCoopers of Malaysia, Ms Pauline Lum; and the Head of Investment Promotion at the HKETO in Singapore, Mr Melvin Lee.

    The agreement was signed by the Financial Secretary, Mr John C Tsang, when he visited Malaysia in April 2012. It came into force in December 2012 and applies in Hong Kong for any year of assessment beginning on or after April 1, 2013.

Ends/Friday, April 25, 2014
Issued at HKT 12:47

NNNN

 

photo   photo

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處) 

「全面性避免雙重課稅協定」研討會於吉隆坡舉行(附圖)

*************************

  約一百二十位來自商界的代表出席今日(四月二十五日)於馬來西亞吉隆坡舉行的「全面性避免雙重課稅協定」(「協定」)研討會,了解更多有關該「協定」為營商者帶來的裨益和商機。

  該研討會由香港駐新加坡經濟貿易辦事處(新加坡經貿辦)、香港投資推廣署和馬來西亞智囊亞洲策略與領導研究所合辦,邀請了來自香港和馬來西亞的政府代表和稅務專家,講解「協定」為商界帶來的裨益。

  新加坡經貿辦處長方毅在研討會中致辭時表示:「這個『協定』為商界帶來實實在在的益處。我相信商界都會歡迎避免雙重徵稅及減輕營商成本的安排,這亦是我們與馬來西亞簽訂該『協定』的目的。」

  根據「協定」,投資者無須為同一收入兩度繳稅,同時使香港和馬來西亞的投資者在從事兩地跨境經濟及投資活動時,能節省稅款和更清楚確定其稅務負擔。香港正積極尋求與其他主要貿易和投資夥伴簽訂「協定」,進一步鞏固香港作為投資和營商的首選地點。

  研討會的講者香港稅務局副局長(技術事宜)趙國傑說:「我們很高興見到馬來西亞商界對這個課題的興趣,足以證明雙方簽訂的『協定』已初見成果。」

  方毅同時說:「香港位處亞洲中心的有利位置,是連接中國內地與世界各地的橋樑。此外,香港擁有良好的法治制度,與低稅率和簡單稅制,是有意進入內地龐大巿場的馬來西亞公司的首選基地。『協定』為有意在香港設點的馬來西亞公司提供額外優勢,讓他們可以得到最大的財政回報。」

  應邀出席研討會其他講者包括馬來西亞財政部稅務分析部門高級副部長Khodijah Abdullah、香港會計師公會稅務專項學會執行委員會主席陳苑芬、馬來西亞普華永道合併收購/國際稅務服務部門執行董事林美玲,以及新加坡經貿辦投資推廣總監李國煒。

  該協議是由財政司司長曾俊華於二○一二年四月訪問馬來西亞期間簽訂的。該協定於同年十二月生效,並對二○一三年四月一日或之後開始的任何課稅年度的香港稅項具有效力。

2014年4月25日(星期五)
香港時間12時47分

 

圗片   圗片