Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

PRESS RELEASE

(Source : Information Services Department)

Hong Kong exchanges notes with Japan regarding comprehensive agreement on avoidance of double taxation

************************************************************

     The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region today (December 10) exchanged notes with the Government of Japan regarding the Exchange of Information (EoI) Article in the Agreement between the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China and the Government of Japan for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income (the Agreement).

    "The purpose of the exchange of notes with Japan is to expand the coverage of tax types under the EoI arrangement of the Agreement, so as to fulfil our international obligation to meet global standards for enhancing tax transparency," the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, said.

    Since the passage of the Inland Revenue (Amendment) Bill 2013 in July 2013, the EoI arrangement under comprehensive avoidance of double taxation agreements and tax information exchange agreements in terms of tax types has been enhanced. The scope of tax types under the EoI article can now cover tax types other than income tax.

    The exchange of notes will come into force after the completion of ratification procedures and notification by both sides. In the case of Hong Kong, an order is required to be made by the Chief Executive in Council under the Inland Revenue Ordinance. The order is subject to negative vetting by the Legislative Council.

    Details of the exchange of notes concerning the Agreement can be found on the Inland Revenue Department website at (www.ird.gov.hk/eng/pdf/HK_Japan_EN_2014.pdf).

Ends/Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Issued at HKT 15:01

NNNN

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

新聞稿

(資料來源:政府新聞處) 

香港與日本就全面性避免雙重課稅協定互換照會

*********************

  香港特別行政區政府與日本政府今日(十二月十日)就《中華人民共和國香港特別行政區政府和日本國政府關於對收入稅項避免雙重課稅和防止逃稅的協定》(協定)的資料交換條文互換照會。

  財經事務及庫務局局長陳家強說:「是次與日本互換照會的目的,是擴闊該協定的資料交換安排下所涵蓋的稅項種類範圍,以履行我們的國際責任,符合提升稅務透明度的國際標準。」

  自二零一三年七月通過《2013年稅務(修訂)條例草案》後,香港優化了全面性避免雙重課稅協定及稅務資料交換協定下的資料交換安排。在交換資料的條文下,稅項種類的涵蓋範圍可包括入息稅以外的稅項種類。

  互換照會將待雙方完成有關立法程序及經通知後才生效。就香港而言,行政長官會同行政會議須根據《稅務條例》就互換照會作出一項命令,該項命令須經立法會審議通過。

  有關香港與日本就有關協定的互換照會詳情(只有英文版本)載於稅務局網頁(www.ird.gov.hk/eng/pdf/HK_Japan_EN_2014.pdf)。

2014年12月10日(星期三)
香港時間15時01分