Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Press Content

Suspended jail sentence for taxpayer over false claims of home loan interest

***************************************************************************

A taxpayer was convicted today (July 13) at Kwun Tong Magistrates' Courts on charges of evading salaries tax and property tax. She was sentenced to three months' imprisonment, suspended for two years and fined a total of $30,000, representing 67% of the tax evaded.

The defendant, aged 45, pleaded guilty to five charges of evading salaries tax, wilfully, with intent, by making false statements in connection with claims for deduction of home loan interest under the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO) for the years of assessment 1998/99 to 2002/03, contrary to section 82(1)(c) of the IRO.

She also pleaded guilty to one charge of evading property tax, wilfully, with intent, by omitting rental income, which should have been included in the property tax return for the year of assessment 2001/02, contrary to section 82(1)(a) of the IRO.

The court heard that the defendant, jointly with her husband, acquired a property in Tuen Mun in 1998. The defendant claimed deductions for home loan interest in respect of the property in her tax returns for the years of assessment 1998/99 to 2002/03 by making false statements that the property was used as her place of residence during the years of assessment in question. In accordance with these false statements, deductions were granted to the defendant in respect of the interest incurred on the mortgage of the property. Also, in the property tax return issued to the joint owners of the property for the year of assessment 2001/02, the defendant declared that the property had been left vacant throughout the year.

An investigation by the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) revealed that the defendant and her family, at all material times, resided at quarters provided to her husband by his employer. The defendant had never resided at the property at any time during the relevant years of assessment. She in fact rented the property to different tenants during the material times. Under the IRO, one of the requisite criteria for claiming a deduction for home loan interest is that the dwelling is used at any time in the year of assessment by the claimant exclusively or partly as his/her place of residence. For the five years of assessment 1998/99 to 2002/03, the defendant had falsely claimed deductions for home loan interest amounting to $315,315. The total tax undercharged was $38,554.

The investigation also revealed that the defendant let out the property and received rental income during the years 1998 to 2002. The court was told that the defendant omitted the rental income of $53,000 from the property tax return for the year of assessment 2001/02 and the resultant tax evaded was $6,157.

An IRD spokesman reminded people that tax evasion was a criminal offence under the IRO. Upon conviction, the maximum sentence for each charge is three years' imprisonment and a fine of $50,000, plus a further fine amounting to three times the amount of tax evaded.

Ends/Thursday, July 13, 2006

NNNN

跳至主要內容
跳至內容
香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 背景 A A A 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本流動/無障礙瀏覽版本 列印版本列印版本 RSS Icon RSS
  主頁 > 刊物及新聞公報 > 檢控個案 > 新聞內容

新聞內容

納稅人虛假申索扣除居所貸款利息罪成被判入獄獲緩刑

************************

    一名納稅人今日(七月十三日)在觀塘裁判法院被裁定逃繳薪俸稅及物業稅罪名成立,被判入獄三個月,獲緩刑兩年,及罰款三萬元。罰款金額相等於逃稅金額的百分之六十七。

    被告,四十五歲,承認五項蓄意意圖逃繳薪俸稅罪行,即在 1998/99 至 2002/03 五個課稅年度中,根據《稅務條例》就申索扣除居所貸款利息,作出虛假的陳述,觸犯《稅務條例》第 82 條第(1)(c)款。

    此外,被告亦承認一項蓄意意圖逃繳物業稅罪行,即在 2001/02 課稅年度的物業稅報稅表內漏報原應填報的租金收入,觸犯《稅務條例》第 82 條第(1)(a)款。

    案情透露,被告聯同其丈夫於 1998 年購入一個位於屯門景峰豪庭的物業(該物業)。被告在其 1998/99 至 2002/03 課稅年度報稅表上就該物業申索扣除居所貸款利息並訛稱該物業在上述各課稅年度中全年皆是用作為她的居所。按照報稅表中的虛假陳述,稅務局准予被告扣除就該物業所支付的貸款利息。此外,被告又在稅務局發給該物業聯權擁有人的 2001/02 課稅年度物業稅報稅表上,訛稱該物業全年都是空置。

    稅務局經調查發現,被告及其家人在有關期間一直是居住於由其丈夫的僱主所提供的宿舍內。在有關課稅年度內任何時間,她從未居住於該物業,而事實上被告在有關期間將該物業租與不同的租客。按《稅務條例》規定,就某住宅申索扣除居所貸款利息的其中一項必要條件,就是申索人在有關課稅年度內任何時間必須將該住宅全部或部分用作其居住地方。被告在 1998/99 至 2002/03 五個課稅年度,因虛假申索而扣除的居所貸款利息合共 315,315 元,涉及的少徵收稅款為 38,554 元。

    該調查亦發現被告於 1998 至 2002 年間,將該物業出租並收取租金。控方指出,被告在 2001/02 課稅年度物業稅報稅表漏報租金入息 53,000 元,所涉及的少徵收稅款為 6,157 元。

    稅務局發言人提醒市民,《稅務條例》訂明逃稅是刑事罪行。一經定罪,每項控罪最高刑罰為入獄三年和罰款五萬元,另加一筆相等於少徵收稅款三倍的罰款。

2006 年 7 月 13 日(星期四)

 

返回頁首