Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

*

1.

Q:

What are the two-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

Under the two-tiered profits tax rates regime, the profits tax rate for the first $2 million of assessable profits will be lowered to 8.25% (half of the rate specified in Schedule 8 to the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO)) for corporations and 7.5% (half of the standard rate) for unincorporated businesses (mostly partnerships and sole proprietorships). Assessable profits above $2 million will continue to be subject to the rate of 16.5% for corporations and standard rate of 15% for unincorporated businesses.

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

Which taxpaying entities would qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

All entities with profits chargeable to Profits Tax in Hong Kong would qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates, except those with a connected entity which is nominated to be chargeable at the two-tiered rates. See Q3 below.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

Which taxpaying entities would not qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

If, at the end of the basis period of the entity for the relevant year of assessment, the entity has one or more connected entities, the two-tiered profits tax rates would only apply to the one which is nominated to be chargeable at the two-tiered rates. The others would not qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates. See Q8 below. Further, if a corporation has made an election under section 14B(2)(a) (qualifying professional reinsurance business and authorized captive insurance business), section 14D(5)(b) (qualifying corporate treasury centre), section 14H(4)(b) (qualifying aircraft lessor) or section 14J(5)(b) (qualifying aircraft leasing manager), the corporation would not qualify for the two-tiered rates.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

If part of the assessable profits of a taxpaying entity is derived from qualifying debt instruments which is subject to the half rate under section 14A(1) of the IRO, would the taxpaying entity qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates in respect of its remaining assessable profits?

 
 

A:

Yes. The taxpaying entity can still qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates in respect of its assessable profits derived from normal trading receipts.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

What is an entity?

 
 

A:

An entity means –

(a) a natural person;
(b) a body of persons; or
(c) a legal arrangement, including –
(i) a corporation;
(ii) a partnership; and
(iii) a trust.

If a natural person carries on more than one sole proprietorship business, the person is taken to be a separate entity in relation to each sole proprietorship business.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

How is "connected entity" defined?

 
 

A:

An entity is a connected entity of another entity if –

(a) one of them has control over the other;
(b) both of them are under the control of the same entity; or
(c) in the case of the first entity being a natural person carrying on a sole proprietorship business – the other entity is the same person carrying on another sole proprietorship business.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

How is "control" determined?

 
 

A:

Generally, an entity has control over another entity if the first-mentioned entity, whether directly or indirectly through one or more than one other entity,

(a) owns or controls more than 50% in aggregate of the issued share capital of the latter entity;
(b) is entitled to exercise or control the exercise of more than 50% in aggregate of the voting rights in the latter entity; or
(c) is entitled to more than 50% in aggregate of the capital or profits of the latter entity.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

What is the profits tax rate for a taxpaying entity under the two-tiered profits tax rates regime if it has connected entities?

 
 

A:

The two-tiered profits tax rates would not apply to the taxpaying entity. The whole of the taxpaying entity's assessable profits will be chargeable to Profits Tax at the rate of 16.5% or standard rate of 15%, as applicable. However, the Commissioner may apply the two-tiered profits tax rates to one of the connected entities for a year of assessment if that entity elects the two-tiered rates.

  back to top


*

9.

Q:

Further to Q8, how can an entity make an election for the two-tiered profits tax rates if it has connected entities?

 
 

A:

The nominated entity may make the election by declaring in its Profits Tax Return (for corporations and partnerships) or Tax Return – Individuals (for sole proprietorships) that it is chargeable at the two-tiered profits tax rates for the relevant year of assessment whereby no other connected entity elects to be so chargeable. Once the election is made, it is irrevocable for that year. However, a different connected entity may elect the two-tiered profits tax rates for a different year of assessment if all conditions are met.

  back to top


*

10.

Q:

Can more than one connected entity elect the two-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

No. An entity's election is effective only if no other connected entity has made an election for the same year of assessment. However, a different connected entity may elect the two-tiered profits tax rates for a different year of assessment if all conditions are met.

  back to top


*

11.

Q:

How is a taxpaying entity charged to Profits Tax if the election for the two-tiered profits tax rates is ineffective or no election has been made?

 
 

A:

Subject to other applicable provisions of the IRO, the whole of the taxpaying entity's assessable profits will be chargeable to Profits Tax at the rate of 16.5% or 15%, as applicable.

  back to top


*

12.

Q:

Can the two-tiered profits tax rates be applied to two or more sole proprietorship businesses owned by the same sole proprietor?

 
 

A:

No. If a natural person owns two or more sole proprietorship businesses, the person is taken to be a separate entity in relation to each sole proprietorship business. The application of the two-tiered profits tax rates will be restricted to only one of the sole proprietorship businesses which has made an election. Other sole proprietorship businesses (and other connected entities) would be subject to Profits Tax at the rate of 15% or 16.5%, as the case may be.

  back to top


*

13.

Q:

If a taxpaying entity has no connected entity, is it necessary for the taxpaying entity to make an election for the two-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

The taxpaying entity has to declare that it has no connected entity at the end of the basis period for the relevant year of assessment. For administrative convenience, the taxpaying entity can simply declare in its tax return that it is chargeable at the two-tiered profits tax rates.

  back to top


*

14.

Q:

When will it be disadvantageous for an individual taxpayer to elect for Personal Assessment under the two-tiered profits tax rates regime?

 
 

A:

If an individual taxpayer elects for Personal Assessment, the tax will be calculated at progressive tax rates on the aggregated income from all sources, including the profits derived from his or her unincorporated businesses. Thus, the tax calculated under Personal Assessment may be higher than that calculated under the schedular basis where the individual taxpayer can nominate one of his or her businesses for electing the two-tiered profits tax rates.

  back to top


*

15.

Q:

If a non-resident person is chargeable to Profits Tax in the name of an agent in Hong Kong, how can an election for two-tiered profits tax rates be made?

 
 

A:

Given that the non-resident person has no connected entity or none of its connected entity/(entities) elects to be so chargeable for the relevant year of assessment, its Assessable Profits can be chargeable at the two-tiered profits tax rates. On completion of the Profits Tax Return (Form BIR 54) for the non-resident person, the subject agent is required to check with the non-resident person to ascertain whether any one of the above criteria for the two-tiered profits tax rates has been met. If so, the agent can declare in the relevant Profits Tax Return that the non-resident person is chargeable at the two-tiered profits tax rates. However, the part of the Assessable Profits of the non-resident person chargeable at the lower rate under the two-tiered profits tax rates for the relevant year of assessment cannot exceed $2 million in total, whether assessed in the subject agent's name or other agents' names.

  back to top


*

16.

Q:

How is the threshold of $2 million applied to the partners in a partnership chargeable at the two-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

Profits Tax will be chargeable on the first $2 million of assessable profits at the lower rate of 7.5% or 8.25% (for a corporate partner's share of assessable profits). Assessable profits above the threshold will be subject to the higher rate of 15% or 16.5% (for a corporate partner's share of assessable profits). Where applicable, the threshold of $2 million will be apportioned amongst the corporate partners and non-corporate partners in accordance with their profit sharing ratios.

  back to top


*

17.

Q:

The two-tiered profits tax rates will only become operative as from the year of assessment 2018/19. Will the two-tiered profits tax rates be applied to the 2018/19 Provisional Profits Tax assessment?

 
 

A:

Yes. Where applicable, the eligible taxpaying entity will be chargeable to 2018/19 Provisional Profits Tax at the two-tiered profits tax rates. See Q18 below.

  back to top


*

18.

Q:

In what circumstances will a taxpaying entity be chargeable to 2018/19 Provisional Profits Tax at the two-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

See Q8 to Q13. A taxpaying entity with no connected entity is eligible for the two-tiered profits tax rates. For a taxpaying entity with connected entities, it can make an election for the two-tiered profits tax rates if no other connected entity has made an election. For administrative convenience, where applicable, a taxpaying entity may simply declare in its 2017/18 tax return that it is chargeable to the 2018/19 Provisional Profits Tax at the two-tiered profits tax rates. Once the election is made, it is irrevocable for the 2018/19 Provisional Profits Tax. However, a different entity may elect the two-tiered profits tax rates in 2018/19 tax return for 2018/19 Final Tax and 2019/20 Provisional Profits Tax if all conditions are met.

  back to top


*

19.

Q:

Is Provisional Profits Tax chargeable at the two-tiered profits tax rates a valid ground for applying for holding over of payment of Provisional Profits Tax?

 
 

A:

Yes. This ground only applies to 2018/19 Provisional Profits Tax. Also see Q20 below.

  back to top


*

20.

Q:

If the Provisional Profits Tax of a taxpaying entity has been charged at the two-tiered profits tax rates, can a connected entity of the taxpaying entity apply for holding over of payment of Provisional Profits Tax on the ground that it would be nominated to make an election for the two-tiered profits tax rates for the same year of assessment?

 
 

A:

No. The connected entity does not have a valid ground for applying for holding over of payment of Provisional Profits Tax.

  back to top


*

21.

Q:

Can a taxpaying entity object to or apply for refund of any excessive tax paid due to denial of or omission to elect the two-tiered profits tax rates for the year of assessment 2018/19 and onwards?

 
 

A:

Yes, the provisions of the IRO concerning objections and appeals, and repayment of tax are applicable.

  back to top


*

22.

Q:

What if a taxpaying entity incorrectly declares in its tax return that it has no connected entity or that no other connected entity has made an election for the two-tiered profits tax rates?

 
 

A:

Heavy penalties may be imposed for making an incorrect return without a reasonable excuse. Additional assessments will be raised in accordance with the provisions of the IRO on the taxpaying entity on the basis that the two-tiered profits tax rates do not apply.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

*

1.

问:

什么是两级制利得税率?

 
 

答:

在利得税两级制下,法团及非法团业务(主要是合伙及独资经营业务)首二百万元应评税利润的利得税率将分别降至8.25%(税务条例附表8所指明税率的一半)及7.5%(标准税率的一半)。法团及非法团业务其后超过二百万元的应评税利润则分别继续按16.5%及标准税率15%征税。

  返回页首


*

2.

问:

那些纳税实体可按两级制利得税率课税?

 
 

答:

所有在香港有应课利得税利润的实体都可按两级制利得税率课税,除非该实体已有其他有关连实体被提名以两级制利得税率征税。请参阅以下的第3题。

  返回页首


*

3.

问:

那些纳税实体不可按两级制利得税率课税?

 
 

答:

在有关的课税年度,如某实体在评税基期完结时,有一间或多间有关连实体,两级制利得税率则只适用于获提名的其中一间有关连实体,其余的有关连实体将不适用于两级制利得税率。请参阅以下的第8题。此外,如某法团已根据税务条例第14B(2)(a)条(符合资格的再保险业务及专属自保保险业务)、第14D(5)(b) 条(合资格企业财资中心)、第14H(4)(b) 条(合资格飞机出租商)或第14J(5)(b) 条(合资格飞机租赁管理商)作出选择,则两级税率不适用于该法团。

  返回页首


*

4.

问:

如纳税实体的部分应评税利润是来自符合资格的债务票据并且根据税务条例第14A(1)条以一半税率课税,该纳税实体就余下的应评税利润是否可按两级制利得税率课税?

 
 

答:

是。该纳税实体就来自一般营业收入的应评税利润仍可按两级制利得税率课税。

  返回页首


*

5.

问:

何谓实体?

 
 

答:

实体指—

(a) 自然人;
(b) 团体;或
(c) 法律安排,包括—
(i) 法团;
(ii) 合伙;及
(iii) 信托。

如某自然人经营多于一项独资经营业务,则就每项独资经营业务而言,该人须视为一个独立实体。

  返回页首


*

6.

问:

如何定义有关连实体?

 
 

答:

在以下情况下,某实体(前者) 即属另一实体(后者) 的有关连实体——

(a) 两个实体其中之一控制另一实体;
(b) 前者和后者均受同一实体控制;或
(c) 如前者是经营独资经营业务的自然人——后者是经营另一项独资经营业务的同一人。

  返回页首


*

7.

问:

如何厘定"控制"?

 
 

答:

一般而言,某实体(不论直接或间接地透过一个或多于一个其他实体)——

(a) 拥有或控制另一实体合计多于50% 的已发行股本;
(b) 有权行使或支配行使另一实体合计多于50% 的表决权;或
(c) 有权享有另一实体合计多于50% 的资本或利润,

即属控制另一实体。

  返回页首


*

8.

问:

在利得税两级制下,如果纳税实体拥有有关连实体,其利得税税率是多少?

 
 

答:

两级制利得税率并不适用于该纳税实体。该纳税实体的所有应评税利润将以16.5%或15%课税(按情况而定)。然而,如其中一间有关连实体在某个课税年度选择了两级税率,税务局局长可以两级税率向其征税。

  返回页首


*

9.

问:

承接第8题,如果某实体拥有有关连实体,该实体如何选择两级制利得税率?

 
 

答:

被提名的实体可以在其利得税报税表(适用于法团和合伙业务)或个别人士报税表(适用于独资经营业务)中声明其业务在有关课税年度应按两级制利得税率课税,而且没有其他有关连实体选择以两级制利得税率课税。有关选择一经作出,于该年度即不能撤回。然而,如果所有相关条件都符合,不同的有关连实体可于不同的课税年度选择以两级制利得税率课税。

  返回页首


*

10.

问:

可以有多于一个有关连实体选择以两级制利得税率课税吗?

 
 

答:

不可以。在同一个课税年度,只有在没有其他有关连实体选择两级制利得税率的情况下,该实体的选择才会有效。然而,如果所有相关条件都符合,不同的有关连实体可于不同的课税年度选择以两级制利得税率课税。

  返回页首


*

11.

问:

如果纳税实体以两级制利得税率课税的选择无效或没有作出该选择,该纳税实体将如何被征税?

 
 

答:

除税务条例另有规定外,纳税实体的全部应评税利润将按税率16.5%或15%课税(按情况而定)。

  返回页首


*

12.

问:

两级制利得税率是否适用于同一东主经营多于一项的独资经营业务?

 
 

答:

不适用。如某自然人经营多于一项独资经营业务,则就每项独资经营业务而言,该人须视为一个独立实体。两级制利得税率只适用于其中一个已作出选择的独资经营业务。其他独资经营业务(及其他有关连实体)将按税率15%或16.5%课税(按情况而定)。

  返回页首


*

13.

问:

如果纳税实体没有有关连实体,它是否需要选择以两级制利得税率课税?

 
 

答:

纳税实体必须声明在有关课税年度的评税基期完结时没有有关连实体。为了行政上的方便,纳税实体可以在报税表中声明其业务应按两级制利得税率课税。

  返回页首


*

14.

问:

在利得税两级制下,个别人士在甚么情况下选择以个人入息课税方式评税不会对其有利?

 
 

答:

如果个别人士选择以个人入息课税方式评税,其应缴税款是以所有来源的合计入息(包括来自非法团业务的利润)按累进税率计算。由于在分类评税下,个别人士可提名他/她其中的一项业务按两级制利得税率课税,因此,以个人入息课税方式评税计算的税款可能会高于以分类评税方式计算的税款。

  返回页首


*

15.

问:

如果非居住于香港的人士须就其利润以其香港付款人名义课税,该人士该如何选择两级制利得税率?

 
 

答:

没有有关连实体或所有有关连实体均没有在有关课税年度选择两级制利得税率的非居住于香港的人士,其应评税利润可按两级制利得税率课税。香港付款人在利得税报税表(BIR54表格)填报该人士的数据时,须向该人士查询以确定该人士是否符合上述按两级制利得税率课税的条件。如条件符合,该香港付款人可在有关利得税报税表中声明该人士应按两级制利得税率课税。然而,该人士以该香港付款人和其他付款人名义课税的应评税利润,当中只有不超过2百万元可在有关课税年度按两级制利得税率中较低的税率课税。

  返回页首


*

16.

问:

香港付款人计算从支付给非居住于香港的人士总款项中应扣存的金额,在引入利得税两级制之前及之后是否有分别?

 
 

答:

没有分别。香港付款人需向该非居住于香港的人士查询以确定该人士在有关课税年度的评税基期完结时没有有关连实体或所有有关连实体均没有在有关课税年度选择两级制利得税率,并在利得税报税表(BIR54表格)中作出相关声明。即使该非居住于香港的人士应按两级制利得税率课税,香港付款人也可能不是唯一替该人士申报利润的付款人。在这种情况下,香港付款人在付款给该非居住于香港的人士时应假定该人士是不可按两级制利得税率课税,并扣存足够的款项支付税项。

  返回页首


*

17.

问:

在两级制利得税率下,首二百万元的限额应该如何分摊给合伙业务中的合伙人?

 
 

答:

合伙业务的首二百万元应评税利润将按较低的7.5%或8.25%税率(适用于法团合伙人所占的应评税利润)征收利得税,高于二百万元限额的应评税利润将按较高的15%或16.5%税率(适用于法团合伙人所占的应评税利润)征收利得税。在适用的情况下,该二百万元限额会按照相关的利润分配比例分摊予法团合伙人及非法团合伙人。

  返回页首


*

18.

问:

纳税实体可否以相关课税年度会以两级制利得税率课税为理由申请缓缴暂缴利得税?

 
 

答:

不可以,此理由不适用于申请缓缴2018/19课税年度以外的暂缴利得税。

  返回页首


*

19.

问:

在2018/19及其后的课税年度,纳税实体可否反对或申请退还因被拒绝或遗漏选择按两级制利得税率课税而多缴的税款?

 
 

答:

可以。税务条例中关于反对及上诉及退还税款的条文均适用于此。

  返回页首


*

20.

问:

如果纳税实体在报税表中不正确地声明其没有有关连实体,或没有其他有关连实体选择按两级制利得税率课税,会有什么后果?

 
 

答:

任何无合理辩解而于报税表内作出不正确的声明都可能会招致重罚。税务局将会根据税务条例的规定,在两级制利得税率不适用的情况下发出补加评税。