Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS
  • Default font size
  • Bigger font size
  • Biggest font size

Tax deductions for qualifying annuity premiums and tax deductible MPF voluntary contributions

* 

Number of qualifying deferred annuity policy

1.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased two qualified deferred annuity policies for himself and paid the qualifying annuity premiums of $30,000 and $20,000 respectively.  Can taxpayer claim deductions for the premiums paid for two policies in the same year of assessment?

A:

Yes.  Taxpayer may claim deduction for qualifying annuity premiums paid under one or more than one policy.  However, the deduction allowable to the taxpayer should not exceed the aggregate of qualifying annuity premiums and deductible MPF voluntary contributions actually paid; or the specified maximum deduction of $60,000, whichever is lower.

 back to top


* 

The annuitant must be HKID card holder

2.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased a qualifying annuity policy for his spouse who is not a HKID card holder.  Taxpayer paid qualifying premiums of $20,000 and $30,000 on 1 June 2019 and 1 June 2020.  Taxpayer’s spouse was issued a HKID card on 1 August 2020.  Can taxpayer claim deduction in the years of assessment 2019/20 and 2020/21?

A:

To be deductible, the annuitant must be an HKID card holder at any time during the year of assessment.  As taxpayer’s spouse is not an HKID card holder in the year of assessment 2019/20, no deduction would be allowed.  In the year of assessment 2020/21, taxpayer’s spouse is an HKID card holder at some time during the year of assessment, deduction of $30,000 would be allowed.

 back to top


* 

Claim for deduction by married persons

3.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased two qualified deferred annuity policies, one for self and one for spouse.  Taxpayer paid the qualifying annuity premiums of $40,000 and $30,000 respectively.  Can taxpayer claim deductions for the premiums paid under the two policies in the same year of assessment?

A:

Taxpayer can claim deduction for qualifying annuity premiums paid under more than one policy.  However, the maximum deduction for each taxpayer is $60,000, so taxpayer can only claim $60,000 deduction for qualifying annuity premiums paid instead of $70,000.

4.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased a qualified deferred annuity policy for his spouse and paid premiums of $40,000 and $30,000 on 1 June 2019 and 1 June 2020 respectively.  They got divorced on 1 February 2020.  Can taxpayer claim deduction for the premiums paid under that policy? 

A:

As the annuitant was taxpayer’s spouse at some time during the year of assessment 2019/20,  qualifying annuity premiums of $40,000 paid on 1 June 2019 would be fully allowed to the taxpayer.  However, in the year of assessment 2020/21, the requirement of an annuitant is not satisfied (i.e. the annuitant is not the taxpayer’s spouse at any time during the year of assessment), premiums of $30,000 paid would not be allowed.

5.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased a qualified deferred annuity policy for himself and paid the premiums of $60,000.  Can taxpayer’s spouse claim deduction for the premiums of $60,000 paid under that policy?  Can they each claim deduction of $40,000 and $20,000 respectively?

A:

Yes.  If the qualifying annuity premium is paid by taxpayer or his spouse not living apart, both of them can claim deduction for the premiums paid.  Taxpayer’s spouse may either claim deduction for the whole premiums paid of $60,000 or in accordance with the agreement reached by them.  However, the total deduction allowable to the couple should not exceed the qualifying annuity premiums actually paid.

6.

Q:

Taxpayer has salaries income in year of assessment 2019/20.  Taxpayer’s spouse is a housewife and has no income chargeable to tax (i.e. salaries income, rental income and business income).  Each of them purchased a qualified deferred annuity policy and paid premiums of $60,000.  Other than the $60,000 premiums paid for his own qualified deferred annuity policy, can taxpayer also claim deduction for the premiums paid by his spouse?

A:

As taxpayer’s spouse has no income chargeable to tax (i.e. salaries income, rental income and business income), they are not eligible to elect joint assessment or elect personal assessment jointly.  Therefore, the maximum amount of deduction allowable to the taxpayer is his individual limit of $60,000.

 back to top


* 

Refund of qualifying annuity premiums

7.

Q:

On 25 March 2020, taxpayer purchased two qualifying deferred annuity policies and paid total premiums of $60,000.  Taxpayer cancelled the first policy during the cooling-off period and total premium of $20,000 was refunded.  Which amount can taxpayer claim for deduction in year of assessment 2019/20?

A:

The deductible amount is net of the refunded premiums.  So taxpayer can only claim deduction of $40,000 in year of assessment 2019/20.

 back to top


* 

Deduction order for qualifying annuity premiums and TVC

8.

Q:

During the year of assessment of 2019/20, taxpayer paid qualifying annuity premiums of $50,000 and a tax deductible MPF voluntary contribution of $40,000, for a total exceeding the specified maximum deduction of $60,000.  In this case, what is the deduction order?

A:

If taxpayer paid both qualifying annuity premiums and tax deductible MPF voluntary contribution, deduction of $40,000 for tax deductible MPF voluntary contribution should be firstly allowed, and the remaining of $20,000 will be allowed for deduction of qualifying annuity premiums, with the aggregate not exceeding the specified maximum deduction of $60,000.

 back to top


* 

Others

9.

Q:

Taxpayer purchased a qualifying deferred annuity policy and the premiums of $40,000 were due and payable on 31 March 2020.  Taxpayer paid premiums of $30,000 on or before the due date and settled the outstanding premiums on 7 April 2020.  What is the amount of deduction can taxpayer claim in year of assessment 2019/20?

A:

Deduction is only allowed for qualifying annuity premiums paid in a year of assessment.  Qualifying annuity premiums of $30,000 paid by taxpayer during the year of assessment 2019/20 would be allowable.  The remaining balance would be allowable in year of assessment 2020/21.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

「合资格年金保费」及「可扣税强积金自愿性供款」的扣税安排

* 

合资格延期年金保单数目

1.

问:

纳税人为自己购买了两份合资格延期年金保单并分别缴付合资格年金保费30,000元及20,000元,纳税人可否在同一个课税年度申请扣除为这两份保单而缴付的合资格保费?

答:

可以。纳税人可在同一个课税年度申请扣除为一份或多于一份合资格延期年金保单而缴付的合资格年金保费。但每名纳税人可获容许扣除的款额不得超过实际支付的合资格年金保费和可扣税强积金自愿性供款的合计金额;或指明最高扣除额60,000元,数额以较低者为准。

 返回页首


* 

年金领取人必须持有香港身分证

2.

问:

纳税人为配偶购买了一份合资格延期年金保单,他的配偶并非香港身分证持有人。纳税人于2019年6月1日和2020年6月1日分别支付了20,000和30,000元的合资格年金保费。他的配偶于2020年8月1日领取了香港身分证。纳税人可以在2019/20和2020/21的课税年度申请扣除有关的保费吗?

答:

要扣除合资格年金保费,年金领取人必须在有关课税年度内持有香港身分证。由于纳税人的配偶在2019/20课税年度并没有持有香港身分证,因此纳税人不会获得任何扣除。在2020/21课税年度,由于纳税人的配偶在有关课税年度内已持有香港身分证,因此纳税人可获扣减保费30,000元。

 返回页首


* 

已婚人士申索扣除

3.

问:

纳税人为自己及配偶各购买了一份合资格延期年金保单并分别缴付合资格年金保费40,000元及30,000元,纳税人可以就全部已缴付的合资格年金保费申请税务扣除吗?

答:

纳税人可以申请扣除为自己及为配偶缴付的合资格年金保费。但每名纳税人的最高扣除额为60,000元,所以纳税人只能申请扣除60,000元的合资格年金保费,而不是70,000元。

4.

问:

纳税人为配偶购买了一份合资格延期年金保单,在2019年6月1日和2020年6月1日分别缴付了40,000元和30,000元的合资格年金保费。纳税人和配偶于2020年2月1日离婚。纳税人可否就已缴付的合资格年金保费申请税务扣除?

答:

由于年金领取人在2019/20课税年度期间内曾经是纳税人的配偶,所以纳税人可以在2019/20课税年度申请扣除保费40,000元;但在2020/21课税年度他们已经离婚,年金领取人并不符合纳税人配偶的资格,因此纳税人不可以在2020/21课税年度申请扣除任何保费。

5.

问:

纳税人为自己购买了一份合资格延期年金保单,并由自己缴付所有年金保费60,000元。纳税人的配偶可以就该份保单的全部保费申请税务扣除吗?纳税人及其配偶可否分别申请扣除40,000元和20,000元的保费?

答:

可以。若合资格年金保费是由纳税人或其同住的配偶所缴付,则他们二人均可就已缴付的年金保费申请税务扣除。纳税人的配偶可申请扣除全部60,000元的保费或按他们二人达成的协议申请扣除。但他们二人获容许扣除的总额,不可超过已缴付的保费。

6.

问:

纳税人在2019/20课税年度有薪俸收入,而其配偶并无任何应课税入息 (即薪俸收入、租金收入及业务收入)。纳税人和配偶分别购买了一份合资格延期年金保单并各自缴付合资格年金保费60,000元。除了申请扣除纳税人本人已缴付的60,000元保费外,他/她可否就配偶已缴付的保费申请税务扣除?

答:

如纳税人的配偶没有任何应课税入息 (即薪俸收入、租金收入及业务收入),他们不符合资格申请合并评税或共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税,因此,纳税人可以获得的最高扣除额只可以是其个人上限的60,000元。

 返回页首


* 

退还合资格年金保费

7.

问:

纳税人在2020年3月25日为自己购买了两份合资格延期年金保单并缴付保费合共60,000元,但在冷静期取消了第一份保单并获退还全部保费20,000元。纳税人在2019/20课税年度可以申请扣除的合资格年金保费是多少?

答:

纳税人可获扣除的款额须为已缴付合资格保费并扣减已退还保费的净额。因此,纳税人在2019/20课税年度可以申请扣除的合资格年金保费为40,000元。

 返回页首


* 

「合资格年金保费」和「可扣税强积金自愿性供款」的扣除次序

8.

问:

纳税人在2019/20课税年度内,同时支付合资格年金保费50,000元及可扣税强积金自愿性供款40,000元,总款额超过指明最高扣除额60,000元。在这情况下,有关扣除应按照什么次序进行?

答:

若纳税人同时支付合资格年金保费及可扣税强积金自愿性供款,首先应扣除已支付的可扣税强积金自愿性供款40,000元,而余额20,000元则可用作扣除已缴付的合资格年金保费,上限合共为60,000元。

 返回页首


* 

其他

9.

问:

纳税人为自己购买了一份合资格延期年金保单,合资格年金保费40,000元的到期日为2020年3月31日,纳税人于该日前缴付了30,000元,而余额的10,000元于2020年4月7日才清缴。纳税人于2019/20课税年度可申请扣除的保费是多少?

答:

在有关年度实际已缴付的合资格保费方可获扣除。因此纳税人在2019/20课税年度实际已缴付的保费30,000元可获扣除,而余额10,000元只可以在2020/21课税年度申请扣除。