Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

2019-20 Budget

*

1.

Q:

What tax measures are proposed in the 2019-20 Budget for individual taxpayers?

 
 

A:

Subject to passage of the law amendments by the Legislative Council, individual taxpayers will get a one-off reduction of 75% of the final tax for the year of assessment 2018/19 in respect of profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case.

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

Do I need to apply for the tax reduction proposed in the 2019-20 Budget?

 
 

A:

You only need to file, as usual, your 2018/19 tax return for individuals (BIR60) which will be issued in May this year. After enactment of the relevant legislation, IRD will effect the tax reduction in the final assessment for 2018/19. For 2018/19 assessments issued before the legislative amendment, IRD will revise them after enactment of the legislation. It is expected that the excess tax paid, if any, will be refunded to taxpayers starting from late July 2019. There is no need for you to make a separate application.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

Can I withhold payment of the 2018/19 provisional tax because of the proposed tax reduction?

 
 

A:

You are required to pay on time the 2018/19 provisional tax. Otherwise, recovery action will be taken by IRD. Similar to previous occasions, the tax reduction is to reduce the 2018/19 final tax that will be charged and not relating to the 2018/19 provisional tax that has already been charged. Therefore, you are still required to pay the 2018/19 provisional tax as charged.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

Will the Inland Revenue Department refund the 2018/19 provisional tax already paid by me?

 
 

A:

As the tax reduction is to reduce the 2018/19 final tax that will be charged, the reduction will only be reflected in the notices of salaries tax assessment, profits tax assessment and personal assessment for 2018/19 that will be issued starting from the third quarter of 2019. The tax reduction is not applicable to the 2018/19 provisional tax. The provisional tax paid will be applied to settle the 2018/19 final tax and 2019/20 provisional tax. Excess balance, if any, will be refunded.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

How to compute the tax reduction?

 
 

A:

You may use the Tax Calculator provided in GovHK to calculate your 2018/19 salaries tax and tax under personal assessment.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

I have to pay salaries tax and profits tax for the year of assessment 2018/19 and I have elected for personal assessment for the year. How the tax reduction should be computed?

 
 

A:

Under personal assessment, all income of an individual taxpayer, including salaries income and business profits, will be aggregated to compute the tax payable. Hence, the amount of tax reduction for the year of assessment 2018/19 is 75% of the tax assessed under personal assessment (subject to a ceiling of $20,000) and not the tax payable under salaries tax and profits tax.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

A husband and a wife, each with employment income and liable to salaries tax, are separately assessed to tax and they can enjoy a maximum tax reduction of $40,000 in total. If they also have rental income and business loss from sole proprietorship business and are eligible to elect for personal assessment, what is / are their tax reduction ceiling(s) under personal assessment?

 
 

A:

Profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment for the year of assessment 2018/19 are reduced by 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. Under salaries tax, a husband and a wife are separately assessed. Each of them will get a tax reduction of 75%, subject to a ceiling of $20,000. From the year of assessment 2018/19, the requirement for the election of personal assessment is relaxed by allowing married persons the option to elect for personal assessment separately (hereinafter called "Separate PA"). Under Separate PA, a husband and a wife are separately assessed. Each of them will get a reduction of 75% of the tax assessed under personal assessment, subject to a ceiling of $20,000. If the taxpayer elects for personal assessment jointly with his / her spouse, the tax reduction for the couple is 75% of their total tax assessed under personal assessment, capped at $20,000. Whether a taxpayer should apply for personal assessment jointly with his / her spouse will depend on own situation. When considering an election for personal assessment for the year of assessment 2018/19, taxpayers should take into account the factor that the tax reduction for personal assessment jointly elected by a couple will be capped at $20,000.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

I have two businesses in the year of assessment 2018/19, can I get a tax reduction in respect of each business?

 
 

A:

For each business, you can get the tax reduction of 75% of the profits tax payable for 2018/19, subject to a ceiling of $20,000.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

2019-20年度财政预算案

*

1.

问:

2019-20年度财政预算案对个别人士建议了哪些税务措施?

 
 

答:

如有关法例获立法会通过,个别人士可获宽减2018/19课税年度百分之七十五的利得税、薪俸税及个人入息课税最后评税税款,每宗个案以20,000元为上限。

  返回页首


*

2.

问:

我是否须要申请2019-20年度财政预算案建议的税务宽减?

 
 

答:

如往常一样,你只须填妥在本年5月发出的2018/19年度个别人士报税表(BIR60)而无须另作申请。待有关法例通过后,税务局会按税款宽减措施计算2018/19年度最后评税的税款。在法例通过前已发出的2018/19年度评税,税务局会在法例通过后作出修订,预计会在2019年7月底开始退还纳税人多缴的税款。你无须另作申请。

  返回页首


*

3.

问:

我可否因建议的宽减措施而不用缴付2018/19年度的暂缴税?

 
 

答:

你仍须依期缴付2018/19 年度的暂缴税,否则税务局会采取追讨欠税行动。如以往一样,今次的税务宽减是扣减即将评定的2018/19年度应缴税款,而不是已征收的2018/19年度暂缴税税款,故你仍须缴清已发出的税单所载列的暂缴税税款。

  返回页首


*

4.

问:

税务局会否向我退还已缴付的2018/19年度暂缴税?

 
 

答:

今次的税务宽减措施,目的是宽减2018/19年度最后评税的应缴税款。故此,可宽减的款额将反映在2019年第3季开始寄出的2018/19年度薪俸税、利得税及个人入息课税评税通知书内。这项宽减并不适用于2018/19年度暂缴税税款。纳税人已缴付的2018/19年度暂缴税将用以抵销2018/19年度最后评税的应缴税款及2019/20年度的暂缴税税款,如尚有余额,才作退还。

  返回页首


*

5.

问:

如何计算税务宽减?

 
 

答:

你可使用在「香港政府一站通」内提供的税款计算机,计算建议措施实施后你应缴的2018/19年度薪俸税及个人入息课税税款。

  返回页首


*

6.

问:

在2018/19年度我须缴薪俸税和利得税,亦会选择个人入息课税,如何计算可获扣减的税额?

 
 

答:

个人入息课税是将纳税人的所有入息合并计算,薪俸收入及业务利润均会包括在内。故此,你可获宽减的款额,是2018/19年度个人入息课税税款的百分之七十五(以20,000元为上限),而不是按薪俸税及利得税的应缴税款计算。

  返回页首


*

7.

问:

一对有薪俸收入而要缴交薪俸税的夫妇,合共可获最高40,000元的税款宽减。假若他们也有租金收入和独资业务的亏损,并符合资格选择个人入息课税,在个人入息课税下,他们的税款宽减上限是多少?

 
 

答:

2018/19年度的税款宽减是百分之七十五的利得税、薪俸税及个人入息课税最后评税税款,每宗个案以20,000元为上限。在薪俸税下,一对夫妇可以分开评税,即每人可宽减最后评税税款的百分之七十五,以20,000元为上限。由 2018/19课税年度起,已婚人士选择个人入息课税的要求已放宽,他们可自行选择以个人入息课税方式评税。在夫妇自行选择个人入息课税下,一对夫妇可以分开评税,即每人可宽减个人入息课税评税税款的百分之七十五,以20,000元为上限。但如纳税人和配偶共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税,宽减上限是夫妇二人合共20,000元。纳税人应视乎自己的情况以决定是否和配偶共同选择个人入息课税。以2018/19年度来说,所考虑的因素包括在和配偶共同选择个人入息课税下,夫妇二人合共只可获得20,000元宽减上限。

  返回页首


*

8.

问:

我在2018/19年度经营两个业务,可否就每个业务享有税款宽减?

 
 

答:

在2018/19年度,你可就每个经营的业务享有百分之七十五的利得税税款宽减,上限为20,000元。