Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Election for Personal Assessment

*

1.

Q:

What are the criteria for determining whether a person "ordinarily resides in Hong Kong"?

 
 

A:

For the purposes of personal assessment, “ordinarily resides in Hong Kong” means that, apart from temporary or occasional absences from Hong Kong, such person habitually resides in Hong Kong, and is living in Hong Kong as an ordinary member of the community for all the purposes of his/her daily life.

  back to top


*

2.

Q:

How to determine whether a taxpayer is ordinarily resident in Hong Kong? Is it sufficient to establish that a taxpayer is an ordinarily resident in Hong Kong if that person holds a Hong Kong Identity Card?

 
 

A:

Whether a person ordinarily resides in Hong Kong is a question of fact which depends on the particular circumstances of each case. To determine whether a person is ordinarily resident in Hong Kong, IRD will consider his / her social and economic ties with Hong Kong. Objective factors that will be taken into consideration include:

(i) the number of days he/she stayed in Hong Kong, the frequency of his/her visit to Hong Kong and the length of each stay;
(ii) whether he/she has a permanent dwelling in Hong Kong;
(iii) whether he/she owns a property for residence outside Hong Kong;
(iv) whether he/she works or carries out a business in Hong Kong;
(v) whether his/her relatives are mainly residing in Hong Kong


Generally speaking, IRD does not consider a person, who possesses Hong Kong Identity Card, is ordinarily resident in Hong Kong if he/she lives outside Hong Kong continuously, and even if he/she returns to Hong Kong, the stays here are short and temporary. In determining whether a holder of Hong Kong Identity Card is an ordinarily resident in Hong Kong, consideration has to be given to his/her actual place of residence in the relevant period.

  back to top


*

3.

Q:

One of the requirements for personal assessment election is that the applicant should be a permanent resident. I am a holder of Hong Kong Identity Card. Am I eligible to elect for personal assessment?

 
 

A:

According to section 41(4) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance, “permanent resident” for the purpose of personal assessment means an individual who “ordinarily resides” in Hong Kong.  Since the words “permanent resident” in the Inland Revenue Ordinance and “Hong Kong permanent resident” in section 2 of the Immigration Ordinance or “permanent resident of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” in Schedule 1 of that ordinance are two completely different special terms, their scope of application is not the same. Therefore, even though the applicant is holding a Hong Kong Identity Card, his/her eligibility for personal assessment will still depend on whether he/she was ordinarily residing in Hong Kong in the relevant year of assessment.

  back to top


*

4.

Q:

I have emigrated to overseas country many years ago. However, I am still receiving rental income from a property in Hong Kong. I would visit Hong Kong occasionally and stay here for a few days every year. Can I reduce my tax payable by electing for personal assessment?

 
 

A:

To be eligible for personal assessment, you must be either an ordinarily resident or temporary resident in Hong Kong. As you have emigrated to overseas country, you lived outside Hong Kong continuously for settled purposes and only visited Hong Kong for a limited number of days, you could not be regarded as having satisfied the residence requirement for the purpose of personal assessment. Therefore, you are not eligible to elect for personal assessment.

  back to top


*

5.

Q:

I live in Shenzhen for most of the time in a year to oversee my business in the Mainland. However, I am still receiving rental income from a property in Hong Kong. My spouse is a salaries earner living in Hong Kong throughout the year. Am I eligible to elect for personal assessment for year of assessment 2018/19?

 
 

A:

From the year of assessment 2018/19 onwards, to be eligible for personal assessment, you must be either ordinarily resident or a temporary resident in Hong Kong. If you are married, you or your spouse must be either ordinarily resident in Hong Kong or a temporary resident and both of you have income assessable to tax under the Inland Revenue Ordinance. If you are not ordinarily resident in Hong Kong or a temporary resident, you are not eligible to elect for personal assessment separately from your spouse. However, if your spouse is ordinarily resident in Hong Kong and both of you have income assessable to tax, you and your spouse may jointly make an election for personal assessment.

  back to top


*

6.

Q:

I live in Shenzhen for most of the time in a year to oversee my business in the Mainland. However, I am still receiving rental income from a property in Hong Kong. My spouse is living in Hong Kong throughout the year. She is a housewife and does not have any income assessable under Inland Revenue Ordinance. Am I eligible to elect for personal assessment for year of assessment 2018/19?

 
 

A:

From the year of assessment 2018/19 onwards, to be eligible for personal assessment, you must be either ordinarily resident or a temporary resident in Hong Kong. If you are married, you or your spouse must be either ordinarily resident in Hong Kong or a temporary resident and both of you have income assessable to tax under the Inland Revenue Ordinance. If you are not ordinarily resident in Hong Kong or a temporary resident, you are not eligible to elect for personal assessment separately from your spouse. Although your spouse is ordinarily resident in Hong Kong, she does not have any income assessable under Inland Revenue Ordinance. Therefore, you are not eligible to elect for personal assessment jointly with your spouse either.

  back to top


*

7.

Q:

In the year of assessment 2018/19, both I and my spouse have salaries income and we have jointly assessed under salaries tax. Besides, I am running a sole proprietorship business and my spouse is receiving rental income from a property. Can I elect for personal assessment separately from my spouse?

 
 

A:

If you and your spouse are jointly assessed under salaries tax, election for personal assessment must be made by you and your spouse jointly. You cannot elect for personal assessment separately from your spouse.

  back to top


*

8.

Q:

  • Both husband and wife have employment and rental income. Any tax benefit if we elect for Personal Assessment
  • Any tool available for computing the tax liability
  • Elected for Personal Assessment but which turned out to be disadvantageous

Q:

I am married. Both my wife and I have income from employment. Besides, we have received rental income from a jointly owned property, which was mortgaged to a bank to secure a bank loan. My questions are :-

(i) Will there be any tax benefit if we elect for Personal Assessment?
(ii) Is there any tool available for computing the tax liability under Personal Assessment?
(iii) If we have elected for Personal Assessment but which turned out to be disadvantageous to us, will the Revenue revert back to the normal method of calculation?

 
 

A:

(i)

Whether you and your wife will get benefit by electing for Personal Assessment depends on a lot of factors:

  • the amount of salaries income received by you and your wife:
  • the amount of rental income received by you and your wife; and
  • the amount of allowances and deductions to be claimed by you and your wife, in particular the amount of mortgaged interest paid on earning the rental income.

Hence, election for Personal Assessment may result in lower tax to pay for one year and no benefit or even disadvantageous in the next year, it depends on the income and deduction position of the year concerned.
 

(ii)

If you want to compute your tax liability under Personal Assessment, you may make use of the Tax Calculator available in the IRD Homepage.

(Please treat the calculation table as a tool which provides information of reference value only)
 

(iii) An election for Personal Assessment that turns out to be disadvantageous will not cause any harm to you. The IRD´s computer will make automatic comparison – and if election is not advantageous or will result in more tax to pay, your income will be assessed as if you do not elect for Personal Assessment for that year of assessment. You will be informed of this by way of an Assessor´s Note.

  back to top


*

9.

Q:

Loss incurred from sole-proprietorship business

  • Loss set-off against income for the same year
  • Loss set-off against income for future years

I ran a sole-proprietorship business and had assessed loss of $210,000 for 2016/17. The Assessor had agreed to let me carry forward this loss to 2017/18 under Profits Tax.

My business ceased in February 2018 and there was further assessed loss of $68,000 for the year of assessment 2017/18.

During 2017/18, my wife had salary income of $250,000 and the two of us had elected for Personal Assessment for 2017/18.

After deducting my business loss of $68,000 from my wife´s income of $250,000, the remaining figure is $182,000. Can I set-off business loss of $210,000 for 2016/17 against my wife´s remaining income of $182,000? If possible, can the balance of unutilized loss, in the amount of $28,000 (that is, $210,000 minus $182,000) be carried forward for set-off against our future income?

 
 

A:

Please note that you are empowered to choose against which type of income your business losses would be set off. If you and your spouse have not elected for Personal Assessment for 2016/17, business losses for that year will be set-off against the 2017/18 profits of the same business, that is, under Profits Tax. If you have elected for Personal Assessment for 2016/17, the loss will be set-off against the other income of you and your wife´s for the elected year.

From what you said, you had not elected for Personal Assessment for 2016/17, and so the loss of $210,000 incurred by you for carrying on sole proprietorship "Business A" in 2016/17 can only be carried forward for set-off against future profits of "Business A" (i.e., under Profits Tax) and cannot be used to set-off against your or your wife´s other sources of income for 2016/17 or for subsequent years.

Generally speaking, the rule for deducting business losses under Personal Assessment is that you may deduct

(a) business loss incurred for the current year, and
(b) business losses brought forward under Personal Assessment from previous years.


Hence, if you had elected for Personal Assessment for 2016/17 and neither you nor your wife had other sources of income, there would be unutilized loss in the amount of $210,000 to be carried forward to 2017/18, under Personal Assessment. The residue of $28,000 can be further carried forward for set-off against the future income of you or your spouse under Personal Assessment.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

申请个人入息课税

*

1.

问:

界定「通常居住于香港」的准则是甚么?

 
 

答:

就个人入息课税来说,通常居住于香港的个人,是指除了暂时性或偶尔性的离开香港外,该人是惯常地在香港居住,以香港作为他/她日常生活的地方,并以香港社会一般成员身分在这里生活。

  返回页首


*

2.

问:

怎样决定纳税人是否通常居住于香港?如纳税人持有香港永久居民身分证,是否可以接纳他/她是通常居住于香港?

 
 

答:

一个人是否通常居住于香港,是一个事实的问题,需要考虑每宗个案的情况。在决定纳税人是否通常居住于香港,税务局会考虑他们与香港的社交及经济联系,可参考的客观因素包括:

(i) 在香港逗留日数,访港频密程度及每次逗留在香港的时间;
(ii) 在香港是否有一个固定居所;
(iii) 在外地是否拥有物业作居住用途;
(iv) 在香港有否工作或经营业务;
(v) 其亲友是否主要在香港居住。


一般来说,如纳税人长期居住于外地,纵有回港,亦只会作短暂停留,即使持有香港永久居民身分证,税务局不会视他们为通常居住于香港。香港永久居民身分证的持有人是否通常居住于香港,须按他/她在有关期间于何处居住的事实来考虑。

  返回页首


*

3.

问:

个人入息课税的其中一项条件是申请人须属于「永久性居民」。如果我持有香港永久居民身分证,是否符合资格申请个人入息课税 ?

 
 

答:

根据《税务条例》第 4 1 ( 4 )条,个人入息课税所指的「永久性居民」是「通常居住」于香港的个人。由于《税务条例》内的「永久性居民」和《入境条例》第 2 条内的「香港永久性居民」或附表 1 内的「香港特别行政区永久性居民」为两个截然不同的专有名词,管辖不同的范畴,所以纵使申请人持有香港永久居民身分证,在考虑其个人入息课税申请时,仍须视乎该人士在有关课税年度是否惯常地在香港生活而定。

  返回页首


*

4.

问:

我多年前移民外国,我在香港拥有物业赚取租金收入。我每年会回香港并在此逗留数天。我是否可以申请个人入息课税以减少应缴税款 ?

 
 

答:

个人入息课税的申请人必须通常居住于香港或属香港临时居民。由于你已移民外国,长期稳定居住于外地及访港日数不多,你不能被视为通常居住于香港或属香港临时居民。因此,你不符合资格申请个人入息课税。

  返回页首


*

5.

问:

我大部分时间居住在深圳及在内地打理业务,但我在香港拥有物业赚取租金收入。我的配偶受雇于香港并全年在此居住。我在2018/19课税年度是否有资格申请个人入息课税 ?

 
 

答:

在2018/19及其后的课税年度,个人入息课税的申请人必须通常居住于香港或属香港临时居民。如属已婚,则申请人及其配偶或其中一人须通常居住于香港或属香港临时居民,且两人均拥有根据《税务条例》须予评税的入息。由于你并非通常居住于香港或属香港临时居民,你便不符合资格申请个人入息课税。但若你的配偶通常居住于香港,且你们两人均拥有根据《税务条例》须予评税的入息,则你可与配偶共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税。

  返回页首


*

6.

问:

我大部分时间居住在深圳及在内地打理业务,但我在香港拥有物业赚取租金收入。我的配偶全年在香港居住,她是一位家庭主妇,并没有任何根据《税务条例》须予评税的入息。我在2018/19课税年度是否有资格申请个人入息课税 ?

 
 

答:

在2018/19及其后的课税年度,个人入息课税的申请人必须通常居住于香港或属香港临时居民。如属已婚,则申请人及其配偶或其中一人须通常居住于香港或属香港临时居民,且两人均拥有根据《税务条例》须予评税的入息。若你并非通常居住于香港或属香港临时居民,你便不符合资格申请个人入息课税。再者,你的配偶虽然通常居住于香港,但他/她并没有任何根据《税务条例》须予评税的入息,因此你们二人并不符合资格共同选择以个人入息课税的方式评税。

  返回页首


*

7.

问:

在2018/19课税年度,我和配偶均有薪俸收入,并以合并方式评定薪俸税。此外,我在香港经营一独资业务;而我的配偶则拥有物业赚取租金收入。我们可否各自选择以个人入息课税方式评税?

 
 

答:

如你及配偶是以合并方式评定薪俸税,则选择以个人入息课税方式评税,必须由夫妇二人共同申请。你们不可各自选择以个人入息课税方式评税。

  返回页首


*

8.

问:

在2018/19课税年度,我有薪俸收入和租金收入,而我的配偶是家庭主妇,并无任何应课税入息(即没有薪俸收入、租金收入及业务收入),我是否必须与配偶共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税才能获得已婚人士免税额?

 
 

答:

由于你的配偶在2018/19课税年度没有任何应课税入息,因此你和你的配偶并不符合资格共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税。你可以选择自行以个人入息课税方式评税(个别人士报税表内的方格59),如你的配偶在该课税年度并无选择自行以个人入息课税方式评税,你便可获已婚人士免税额。

  返回页首


*

9.

问:

  • 夫妇各有工作收入,并有租金收入。个人入息课税是否有利
  • 电脑程式供自行计算应缴税款
  • 如选择了以个人入息课税方式评税,但实际出来的结果并非有利

本人已婚,夫妇各有工作收入,并从出租一层按了给银行的联名物业赚取租金。
(i) 选择以个人入息课税方式计税是否对我们有利?
(ii) 贵局有没有设置此类电脑程式供我们计算应缴税款?
(iii) 如本人和配偶都选择了以个人入息课税方式计税,但其后知道用这方式计税对我们并不有利,税局会否会懂得自动将评税方式改变?

 
 

答:

(i)

选择以个人入息课税计税是否对你有利是取决于很多因素 , 其中包括 :

  • 你和你的配偶的薪金收入;
  • 你和你的配偶的租金收入;
  • 你和你的配偶可申索的扣除和免税额,尤其是为获取租金收入而支付的按揭利息。


因此,就算今年你因选择以个人入息课税计税而得到税款的宽减,但明年作同样的选择可能未必对你有利。

(ii)

如你想计算选择以个人入息课税后你所需缴交的税款,你可以利用税务局网页中的 税款计算机 

(请将这计算表视为一项计算工具,并只可用作参考用途。)
 
(iii) 如选择以个人入息课税方式评税对你并非有利,该选择亦不会令你多付税款。税务局的电脑会自动作出比较,如果选择个人入息课税是不利于你或会令你多付税款,税务局会将你视作不选择个人入息课税来作出评税,且在税单上评税主任附注一栏将此情况通知你。

  返回页首


*

10.

问:

经营独资业务生意出现业务亏损

  • 业务亏损抵销当年的其他收入
  • 业务亏损结转至未来的年度抵销将来的收入

我曾独资经营生意并在 2017/18年度出现业务亏损 $210,000。评税主任已准许我将此亏损结转至 2018/19年度的利得税。

该生意在 2019年 2月结束了,在 2018/19年度出现业务亏损 $68,000。

我妻子在2018/19年度有受雇薪酬 $250,000。我们选择了共同以个人入息课税的方法计算这个年度我两夫妇的应缴税项。

我妻子的收入 $250,000在减除业务亏损 $68,000后,所剩下来的收入余额是 $182,000。请问我是否可用我独资业务在 2017/18年度的业务亏损 $210,000来抵销我妻子的收入余额 $182,000?如可以的话,我是否可将抵销后的亏损余额 $28,000(即 $210,000减 $182,000)结转至未来的年度,以抵销我两夫妇将来的收入呢?

 
 

答:

请注意,你有权选择将独资业务所出现的亏损用作抵销其他方面的收入。你和配偶如在 2017/18年度没有选择以个人入息课税方式评税,当年出现的业务亏损会用作抵销你在 2018/19年度从该业务所产生的利润。但如果,你和配偶在 2017/18年度选择了以个人入息课税方式评税,则当年出现的业务亏损会用作抵销你和配偶在当年的其他收入。

根据你所提供的资料,你在 2017/18年度并没有选择以个人入息课税方式评税,因此由你独资经营的「业务A」在 2017/18年度所产生的亏损 $210,000只能用来抵销「业务A」在未来年度的利润,而不能用来抵销你或配偶在 2017/18或未来年度的其他收入。

一般来说,纳税人可透过选择个人入息课税以申索扣除

(a) 在这个课税年度内业务上的亏损;以及
(b) 按个人入息课税方法计税下承前各年度的亏损。

 

因此,假如你选择以个人入息课税方法计算你 2017/18年度的税款,而你和配偶并没有其他收入,你独资业务在该年度所产生的亏损 $210,000便可以结转至 2018/19年度的个人入息课税。而且余下亏损 $28,000还可再继续结转至未来年度,用来抵销你或配偶在未来年度的收入。