Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Tax Information - Individuals/Businesses > Filing of tax return on time

Filing of tax return on time


Individuals Tax Returns for 2016/17 have been issued on 2 May 2017. Taxpayers are required to complete and send the tax return back to the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) within 1 month from the date of issue of the return (i.e. on or before 2 June 2017). For sole-proprietors of unincorporated businesses, the deadline for submission is extended to 2 August 2017. An extension of 1 month will be given automatically if the return is filed electronically.


Filing your tax return on time, be a compliant taxpayer 

If you file your Tax Return - Individuals on time, the information provided in your tax return will assist the Assessor to prepare your assessment correctly and your claims for deductions for tax allowances, approved charitable donations and home loan interest etc. will be duly taken into account.

Taxpayers who have earned no income or of an amount below their allowance entitlements do not have to pay tax. Nonetheless, should they receive a tax return from the IRD, they are still required to complete and send it back to the IRD in time.

  back to top


Consequences of NOT filing your tax return on time 

If you do not file your tax return on time, you may be required to pay a penalty, or even prosecuted. A further possible consequence is that you may be required to pay more tax. This is because without your furnishing the relevant details, the Assessor will issue an estimated assessment and demand for tax without granting your allowance entitlements and deductions in respect of contributions to Mandatory Provident Funds, approved charitable donations, expenses of self-education and home loan interest etc.

  back to top


Non-receipt of tax return 

If you receive a tax return every year in the past but have not received the Tax Return - Individuals for this year, please call 187 8022 to check whether a tax return for 2016/17 has been issued to you. Alternatively, you may get a duplicate tax return by visiting at the Enquiry Service Centre at 1/F, Revenue Tower, 5 Gloucester Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong during office hours. eTAX Account holder may check whether there is any tax return that you have not yet filed in the Tax Position Section of your eTAX Account any time round the clock.

If you change your postal address, you are required to notify the IRD within 1 month.

  back to top


How to complete the tax return 
If you have any enquiry concerning the completion of the Tax Return - Individuals (BIR60), you may call 187 8022 or see how to complete BIR60.

N. B. :
The law requires both the employer and the employee to separately report income to the IRD. Therefore, it is not an acceptable excuse that you do not file your tax return on time because your employer has already reported your income to the IRD. Failure by any person to report his/her correct income may result in the omission of income without reasonable excuse, an act liable to heavy penalty.

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS

依時提交個別人士報稅表

 


 

2016/17年度的個別人士報稅表於 2017年 5月 2日寄出,納稅人須於報稅表發出日期起的 1個月內(即 2017年 6月 2日或以前)填妥及交回報稅表。至於獨資業務的東主,交回報稅表期限可延至 2017年 8月 2日。如納稅人以電子方式報稅,可自動享有一個月交表寬限期。

 返回頁首


依時填交報稅表,做個守法納稅人

依時填交報稅表,你在報稅表上提供的資料可助評稅主任準確評稅,並給予你所申索的免稅額,以及認可慈善捐款和居所貸款利息等扣除。

儘管沒有收入或收入不超過免稅額而無須納稅,但如果收到報稅表,你亦必須在限期內填妥及交回報稅表。

 返回頁首


不依時填交報稅表的後果

遲交報稅表會被罰款,或被檢控。此外,未填交報稅表人士亦可能會多繳稅款,因為評稅主任發出的估計評稅,不會給予該納稅人他/她可申報扣減的免稅額、強積金供款、認可慈善捐款、個人進修開支和居所貸款利息等扣除。

 返回頁首


沒有收到報稅表

如你在過去每年均須報稅,但至今仍未收到 2016/17年度報稅表,請即致電 187 8022 查詢本局是否已向你發出這年度的報稅表,或在辦公時間 親臨香港灣仔告士打道 5號稅務大樓 1樓本局的中央詢問處索取報稅表複本。「稅務易」帳戶持有人可在「稅務易」帳戶內的「稅務狀況」部份 全日 24小時查詢你是否尚有未提交的報稅表。

如你更改通訊地址,須於1個月內通知稅務局

 返回頁首


如何填寫報稅表

如你想詢問有關填寫個別人士報稅表(BIR60)的問題,請致電 187 8022 查詢或參閱如何填寫BIR60表格

請注意 : 《稅務條例》規定,僱主及僱員均須各自向稅務局申報入息。因此你不可以辯說僱主早已為你申報入息,而不依時提交報稅表。任何人士,漏報收入,可招致重罰。