Skip to main content
Skip to content
GovHK Trandition Chinese Simplified Chinese Background A A A Search Search Site Map Contact Us

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Mobile / Accessible Version IconMobile / Accessible Version Printer View IconPrinter View RSS Icon RSS
  Home > Tax Information - Individuals/Businesses > Double Taxation Relief and Exchange of Information Arrangements > Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information

Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information

In September 2014, Hong Kong indicated its support for implementing automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) on a reciprocal basis with appropriate partners with a view to commencing the first exchanges by the end of 2018, on condition that we could put in place necessary domestic legislation by 2017.

The Government introduced an amendment bill in January 2016, which was passed by the Legislative Council (LegCo) on 22 June 2016.  The Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 3) Ordinance 2016, which commenced operation on 30 June 2016, put in place a legislative framework for Hong Kong to implement AEOI.

Under the AEOI standard, financial institutions are required to identify financial accounts held by tax residents of reportable jurisdictions or held by passive non-financial entities whose controlling persons are tax residents of reportable jurisdictions in accordance with due diligence procedures.  Required information of these accounts has to be collected and furnished to the Department.  Such information will be exchanged on an annual basis.

“Tax residents of reportable jurisdictions” refer to those who are liable to tax by reason of residence in the jurisdictions.  In general, whether or not an individual is a tax resident of a jurisdiction is determined by having regard to the person’s physical presence or stay in a place (e.g. whether over 183 days within a tax year) or, in the case of a company, the place of incorporation or the place where the central management and control of the entity is exercised.

Account holders may be requested to provide self-certifications on their personal information including tax residence, so as to enable financial institutions to identify the reportable accounts.  In its Automatic Exchange Portal, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development has provided information on the tax residency rules applicable in jurisdictions that are committed to automatically exchanging information.  You may access the information via the following link:

http://www.oecd.org/tax/automatic-exchange/crs-implementation-and-assistance/tax-residency/#d.en.347760

The Government introduced an amendment bill to the LegCo in March 2017, which seeks to expand the list of reportable jurisdictions to cover 75 reportable jurisdictions for the more effective implementation of the arrangement relating to AEOI.  The bill was passed by the LegCo on 7 June 2017.   The Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 2) Ordinance 2017 came into operation on 1 July 2017.

Hong Kong will only conduct AEOI with a reportable jurisdiction when an arrangement is in place with the reportable jurisdiction concerned to provide the basis for exchange.

For more information, please click below links:

If you have any question regarding AEOI, you may send your enquiry to the following e-mail address:

 

back to top

桌面版 English 網頁指南 聯絡我們 分享 RSS
  • 還原字體
  • 較大字體
  • 最大字體

自動交換財務帳戶資料

香港在2014年9月表示,在香港可於2017年或之前通過所需的本地法例的大前提下,支持根據互惠原則,與合適伙伴實施自動交換資料,以期在2018年年底前進行首次自動交換財務帳戶資料 (自動交換資料)。

政府於2016年1月提交了條例草案,有關條例草案於2016年6月22日獲立法會通過。於2016年6月30日生效的《2016年稅務(修訂)(第3號)條例》,為香港進行自動交換資料訂立了法律框架。

在自動交換資料的標準下,財務機構須根據盡職審查程序,以識辨申報稅務管轄區的稅務居民所持有的財務帳戶或是其控權人為申報稅務管轄區的稅務居民的被動非財務實體所持有的帳戶。財務機構須每年收集並向稅務局提交該些帳戶的所需資料。

「申報稅務管轄區的稅務居民」是指該些在相關稅務管轄區因其居民身分而有繳稅責任的人。一般而言,要斷定某人是否屬一個稅務管轄區的稅務居民,會根據該人身處之地或逗留於該地的時間(例如一個課稅年度超過183天),或如屬公司的情況,根據該公司成為法團的地點或行使中央管理及控制的地點。

帳戶持有人可能需要就其個人資料(包括稅務居民身分)提供自我證明,使財務機構能識辨須申報帳戶。經濟合作與發展組織在其設立的網站內,就已承諾實施自動交換資料的稅務管轄區,提供有關個別稅務管轄區的稅務居民身分規則的資料。你可透過以下連結瀏覽有關資料:

https://www.oecd.org/tax/automatic-exchange/crs-implementation-and-assistance/tax-residency/#d.en.347760

政府於2017年3月向立法會提交了條例草案,有關條例旨在擴大申報稅務管轄區的名單以覆蓋75個稅務管轄區,目的是為更有效實施自動交換資料。草案於2017年6月7日獲立法會通過。《2017年稅務(修訂)(第2號)條例》於2017年7月1日生效。

香港只會與跟香港已訂定安排作為交換資料基礎的申報稅務管轄區進行自動交換資料。

香港的稅務資料交換網絡在《稅收徵管互助公約》於2018年9月1日在港生效後擴大。因此,《2019年稅務(修訂)(第2號)條例》將《稅務條例》下申報稅務管轄區的數目由75個增加至126個,生效日期為2020年1月1日。

如想獲得更多資料,請按以下連結:

如想查詢有關自動交換財務帳戶資料,請電郵到下列電郵地址: