Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers on Completion of Profits Tax Returns [BIR54] issued on or after 1 April 2019

Introduction

For the benefit of the tax paying public and their tax representatives, some frequently asked questions and their answers are listed below for general information and guidance.

* 

General Issues

1.

Q:

The company is required to declare in BIR54 the assessable profits made by the non-resident person during the basis period for the year of assessment. Does "basis period" here refer to the basis period of the non-resident person?

A:

Yes. It does not refer to the basis period of the company.

2.

Q:

The company does not know the accounting date (and therefore the basis period) of the non-resident person, can I use 31 March as the accounting date?

A:

Yes. For simplicity sake, you need not spend effort to ascertain the accounting date of the non-resident person. However, if the non-resident person wants to claim the lower tax rate pursuant to the two-tiered profits tax rates or the respective double taxation agreement/arrangement, the basis period must refer to that of the non-resident person.

3.

Q:

In practice, the company finds it more convenient to use its own basis period for reporting sums such as royalty paid. Can I use the company's basis period (instead of 1 April to 31 March or the non-resident's basis period) in completing BIR54?

A:

Yes. You should use this basis period consistently. However, if the non-resident person wants to claim the lower tax rate pursuant to the two-tiered profits tax rates or the respective double taxation agreement/arrangement, the basis period must refer to that of the non-resident person.

4.

Q:

This year, the company wants to use a basis period different from that used in past years. Is this a change of accounting date situation to which s.18E applies?

A:

Yes. You should explain in a separate sheet why a different basis period is used this year.

 back to top


* 

Two-Tiered Profits Tax Rates

5.

Q:

What are the two-tiered profits tax rates and under what circumstances will a non-resident person be chargeable at two-tiered profits tax rates?

A:

For the years of assessment commencing on or after 1 April 2018, if an election is made on behalf of the non-resident person for two-tiered rates, you are required to state that for the year it had no connected entity carrying on a trade, profession or business in Hong Kong or no such connected entity elects to be so chargeable. To elect for two-tiered rates, tick “yes“ in Item 2.3 and provide confirmations, country code* of the jurisdiction of tax residence and tax identification number of the non-resident person in Item 2.4 and a complete list of the connected entities carrying on a trade, profession or business in Hong Kong in supplementary form (S1). You should note that the Assessable Profits of the non-resident person chargeable at the lower rate for the year should not exceed $2 million in total, including the Assessable Profits assessed in other agents’ names. For details, please refer to the Q & A for Two-tiered Profits Tax Rates Regime in this web site.

6.

Q:

If I have made an election for the non-resident person to be chargeable at two-tiered rates for the year of assessment due to incomplete information of connected entities, will I be prosecuted for making an incorrect statement?

A:

Section 80(2) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance provides that a person commits an offence if the person, without reasonable excuse, gives any incorrect information in relation to any matter or thing affecting his own liability (or the liability of any other person) to tax.

7.

Q:

What is the ISO 3166-1 Alpha 2 country code of the jurisdiction of tax residence of the non-resident person in Item 2.4.3 of BIR54? Where can I find it? How should I report if the non-resident person is the resident for tax purposes in more than one jurisdiction?

A:

Country code of ISO 3166-1 Alpha 2 is a two-letter country code defined in ISO 3166-1, part of the ISO 3166 standard published by International Organization for Standardization (ISO), to represent a country. For the up-to-date list of country codes, you may refer to ISO's web site (www.iso.org/iso-3166-country-codes.html). You should provide the jurisdiction of tax residence and tax identification number of non-resident person on a separate sheet of paper if the space is insufficient.

8.

Q:

What is the tax identification number (TIN) of the non-resident person in Item 2.4.4 of BIR54? Where can I find it?

A:

TIN is a unique identifier assigned by tax authority of a jurisdiction to a person (individual or entity) for the purposes of administering the jurisdiction´s tax laws. You are advised to ask the non-resident person to provide all the required information in Items 2.4.1 to 2.4.4 of BIR54. If you do not have such information, the non-resident person will not be charged at two-tiered rates. For more information about the current rules in relation to the issuance, structure, use and validity of each jurisdiction's TIN, please see the online support for the implementation of automatic exchange of information in tax matters in OECD's web site (www.oecd.org/tax/automatic-exchange/crs-implementation-and-assistance/tax-identification-numbers/).

 back to top


* 

Supplementary Forms

9.

Q:

Do I have to complete all supplementary forms?

A:

No. You only have to complete the corresponding supplementary forms if you fall within the descriptions in Items 2.4.2 and 7.4 of BIR54. For further details, please refer to the FAQ for supplementary forms in this web site.

10.

Q:

The supplementary forms are not found in the Profits Tax return sent to me. Where can I get the forms?

A:

The Profits Tax return does not enclose with the supplementary forms. You need to download the relevant supplementary forms from Department's web site www.ird.gov.hk/e_pfr for completion.

11.

Q:

Can I file the Profits Tax return first and the supplementary forms later?

A:

The supplementary forms are part of the tax return that should be filed together with the Profits Tax return.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

填写利得税报税表〔 BIR54 〕─常见问题及解答
(适用于 2019 年 4 月 1 日或以后发出的报税表)

引言

为方便纳税人及税务代表,现载列一些常见问题及解答,以供参考。

* 

一般事项

1.

问:

公司须在 BIR54 申报在有关课税年度的评税基期内非居港人士所获得的应评税利润。这里的「评税基期」是否指该非居港人士的评税基期?

答:

是。这里不是指公司本身的评税基期。

2.

问:

若公司不知道非居港人士的结账日期(以及评税基期),可否以 3 月 31 日作为结账日期?

答:

可以。为求简化,你毋须查明非居港人士的结账日期。但若该非居港人士想依据利得税两级制或有关避免双重征税安排申请以较低的税率来计算应缴税款,则评税基期必须为该非居港人士的评税基期。

3.

问:

实际上,公司觉得用自己的评税基期填报款项如版权费更为方便。在填报 BIR54 时,可否用公司的评税基期(代替 4 月 1 日至 3 月 31 日或非居港人士的评税基期)?

答:

可以。你应该贯彻地采用这个评税基期。但若该非居港人士想依据利得税两级制或有关避免双重征税安排申请以较低的税率来计算应缴税款,则评税基期必须为该非居港人士的评税基期。

4.

问:

今年公司希望采用一个有别于以往的评税基期。第 18E 条是否适用于此类结账日期的更改?

答:

是。你应另纸解释为甚么今年采用不同的评税基期。

 返回页首


* 

利得税两级制

5.

问:

甚么是利得税两级制及在甚么情况下非居港人士可按两级制利得税率课税?

答:

于2018年4月1日或之后开始的任何课税年度,如你代表非居住于香港的人士选择两级税率,你须声明在该年度内该名人士没有有关连实体在香港经营行业、专业或业务或没有其他有关连实体选择按两级税率课税。要选择按两级税率课税,须在第2.3项填报「是」,并在第2.4项确认提供该名人士的税务居留地管辖区的国家代码*及其税务识别号码和在补充表格(S1)内提供在香港经营行业、专业或业务的有关连实体的完整列表。请注意该名人士在该年度内按较低税率课税的应评税利润总额(包括以其他代理人名义课税的应评税利润)合共不多于2百万元。详情请参阅载于本网址的利得税两级制─常见问题及解答

6.

问:

如果我在没有完整信息下为非居住于香港的人士选择按两级税率课税,我是否会因作出不正确的陈述而被检控?

答:

《税务条例》第80(2)条规定,在影响其本人(或任何其他人)的缴税法律责任的事情或事物方面,提供不正确的数据,即属犯罪。

7.

问:

甚么是BIR54第2.4.3项中该非居住于香港的人士的「国际标准化组织的ISO 3166-1二位字母国家代码」? 我在哪处可以找到它?如果非居住于香港的人士在多个司法管辖区中均在税务上界定为居民,我该如何申报?

答:

「国际标准化组织的ISO 3166-1二位字母国家代码」是ISO 3166-1中定义的双字母国家代码,ISO 3166-1是国际标准化组织(ISO)发布的ISO 3166标准的一部分,代表一个国家。 有关国家代码的最新列表,请参阅ISO的网站(www.iso.org/iso-3166-country-codes.html)。如空位不够应用,请另纸提供该非居住于香港的人士的税务居留地管辖区及税务识别号码。

8.

问:

甚么是BIR54第2.4.4项中该非居住于香港的人士的「税务识别号码」(TIN)? 我在哪处可以找到它?

答:

「税务识别号码」(TIN)是一个管辖区域的税务机关为管理管辖区的税法而向一个人士(个人或实体)分配的唯一标识符。 建议你向该非居住于香港的人士要求提供BIR54第2.4.1至2.4.4项目中的所有必要信息。 如果你没有此类信息,该名非居住于香港的人士将不会按两级税率课税。 有关每个司法管辖区的「税务识别号码」(TIN)的发布、结构、使用和有效性的现行规则的更多信息,请细阅经济合作与发展组织所设有关实施自动信息交换的在线支持网站(www.oecd.org/tax/automatic-exchange/crs-implementation-and-assistance/tax-identification-numbers/)。

 返回页首


* 

补充表格

9.

问:

我是否须填报所有的补充表格?

答:

不是,如你符合BIR54第2.4.2项及第7.4项描述,你只需填报相关的补充表格,详情请参阅载于本网址的补充表格─常见问题及解答。

10.

问:

利得税报税表并没有夹附补充表格,我可怎样索取有关的补充表格?

答:

利得税报税表不会夹附补充表格,你可从税务局网页www.ird.gov.hk/c_pfr 下载及填报相关的补充表格。

11.

问:

我可否先提交利得税报税表,稍后再提交补充表格?

答:

补充表格为利得税报税表的一部分,并须连同报税表一并递交。