Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS

Court-free Company Amalgamations

1.
Profits tax consequences of a court-free amalgamation under the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622) may not be the same as those in specific private merger ordinances in Hong Kong or in universal succession cases under foreign laws, which are not carried out for the purpose of obtaining tax benefits.
 
2.
In the below paragraphs, the term “amalgamated company” refers to the amalgamating holding company in relation to a section 680 amalgamation and the amalgamating company whose shares are not cancelled upon amalgamation in relation to a section 681 amalgamation, whereas the term “amalgamating company” refers to each of the amalgamating companies other than the amalgamated company.
 
3.
If the Commissioner is satisfied that the court-free amalgamation is not carried out for the purpose of obtaining tax benefits, the provisions in sections 61A or 61B will not be made applicable to the amalgamation (e.g. the denial of setoff of losses carried forward in the amalgamated company or from the amalgamating company) and the amalgamated company will generally be treated as far as possible as if it is the continuation of and the same person as the amalgamating company for the purposes of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.
 
4.
Pending the decision to amend the provisions in the Inland Revenue Ordinance to provide for a statutory framework to address the issues relating to court-free amalgamations, the Assessor will make assessments in accordance with the following practice.
 

Amalgamation with sale of assets of the amalgamating company
 

5.
If the court free amalgamation is structured with a sale of assets on an arm’s length basis, the provisions relating to sale of assets will be applied to such amalgamation to assess any deemed trading receipts and to make balancing adjustments.
 

Amalgamation without sale of assets of the amalgamating company
 

6.
The amalgamating company is treated for profits tax purpose on the day immediately before the amalgamation as having:
 
  • ceased to carry on its trade, profession or business; and
  • realized its trading stock in the open market.
 
7.
The amalgamated company is treated for profits tax purpose on the date of amalgamation as having:
 
  • continued to carry on the trade, profession or business of the amalgamating company by way of succession;
  • qualified for annual allowances in respect of commercial/industrial buildings or structures by way of its entitlement to the relevant interests subject to balancing charges on disposal not exceeding the aggregate of the  allowances made to it and the amalgamating company;
  • qualified for annual allowances in respect of machinery or plant by reference to reducing values still unallowed subject to balancing charges on  disposal not exceeding the aggregate of allowances made to it and the amalgamating company;
  • qualified for any allowances/deductions under sections 16B, 16E, 16EA, 16F, 16G and 16I that the amalgamating company would have been allowed but for the amalgamation, subject to the assessment of proceeds as trading receipts on sale;
  • been entitled to deductions that the amalgamating company would have been allowed but for the amalgamation; and
  • earned the amount that would have been income or trading receipt of the amalgamating company but for the amalgamation.
     
8.
The amalgamated company will be granted in the year of assessment in which the amalgamation takes place, annual allowances in respect of the commercial/industrial buildings or structures, and machinery or plant, and allowances/deductions under sections 16B, 16E, 16EA, 16F, 16G, and 16I.  Such allowances and deductions will not be granted to the amalgamating company in the same year of assessment.
 

Tax losses
 

9.
Tax losses are specific to a company and cannot be transferred to other group companies.  Group loss relief and deduction for acquired losses through court-free amalgamation procedure are not to be allowed.
 
10.
Tax losses brought forward in the amalgamated company can be used to set off against profits derived from the trade or business succeeded from the amalgamating company if:
 
  • the amalgamated company has adequate financial resources (excluding intra-group loans) to purchase the trade or business of the amalgamating company other than through amalgamation (financial resources test);
  • the amalgamated company was carrying on a trade or business until the amalgamation (trade continuation test); and
  • such losses were incurred after the amalgamating company and the amalgamated company had become wholly owned subsidiaries of the same group (post entry test). 

If not all the conditions are met, the tax losses can only be used to set off against the profits derived by the amalgamated company from its own trade or business. 
 

11.
The term “financial resources” is broad and would include capital, liquid assets and cash.  In applying the financial resources test, it may be necessary to consider the ability of the amalgamated company to raise funds from independent third parties having regard to its own credit rating.
 
12.
Tax losses brought forward from the amalgamating company can only be used to set off against the profits of the amalgamated company derived from the same trade or business succeeded from the amalgamating company (same trade test).
 
13.
The meaning of the word “same” in the phrase “same trade or business” imports identity and not similarity.  It means an identical trade or business.  The ultimate analysis will be a question of fact.  Reference can be made to the judgement of Walton J in Rolls-Royce Motors Ltd v Bamford [1976] STC 162.  In applying the same trade test, it is necessary to compare the trade or business actually carried on by the amalgamating company in the years of assessment in which it was making the tax losses in question and the trade or business carried on by the amalgamated company the profits derived therefrom are to be set off by such tax losses.
 
 
Example 1

Company-1 and Company-2, incorporated in Hong Kong, are both wholly-owned subsidiary companies of Holding Company.  Company-1 owned and operated a high-end restaurant located in Central, which served a distinctive style of Japanese cuisine.  The name of the restaurant reflected the style of the cuisine and was a registered tradename of Company-1.  Company-2 owned and operated a low-end Italian restaurant in Wanchai with a registered tradename.  Company-1 made losses.  Company-1 and Company-2 amalgamated in accordance with section 681 of the Companies Ordinance and Company-2 became the amalgamated company. 

If immediately after the amalgamation, Company-2 converted the premises where the Japanese restaurant was located into a restaurant serving Italian food and using the same tradename of the Italian restaurant, the same trade test would not be met.  The answer to the question of whether the business carried on after the amalgamation was the same as that carried on immediately before the amalgamation, depends, in practical result, on the extent to which the business of the second restaurant resembles the business of the first restaurant.  Opening an Italian restaurant would not ordinarily be regarded as an expansion of a Japanese restaurant business.  Assuming the second restaurant is an equal part of the business, it would be difficult to describe the business, in the year in which a set-off is claimed, as the same but expanded business carried on before the amalgamation.

If immediately after the amalgamation, Company-2 continued to own and operate the Japanese restaurant with the same tradename as before, but converted half of the premises into a restaurant serving Italian food with the same tradename as its own Italian restaurant, the same trade test would be accepted as having been met. The tax losses brought forward from Company-1 could be used to set off against the profits of Company-2 derived from the Japanese restaurant succeeded from Company-1, but not the profits derived from the two Italian restaurants.
 

 
Example 2

Company-3 and Company-4, incorporated in Hong Kong, were both wholly-owned subsidiary companies of Holding Company in the United States.  Company-3 and Company-4 were trading in the same products but with different customer bases.  Company-3 was trading with customers in the Greater China Region whereas Company-4 was trading with customers in the ASEAN member countries.  Company-4 incurred losses.  Company-3 and Company-4 amalgamated in accordance with section 681 of the Companies Ordinance.  Company-3 became the amalgamated company.

Since Company-3 and Company-4 sold the same products, the same trade test would be accepted as having been met if there were no significant differences in their mode of operations.  Sales to customers in the Greater China Region after the amalgamation would be treated as an expanded part of the business of Company-4 as a result of its organic growth.  The losses brought forward from Company-4 could be used to set off against the assessable profits of Company-3 after the amalgamation.
 

 
Example 3

Company-5, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Holding Company, was a special purpose vehicle incorporated in Hong Kong for the purpose of acquiring and developing a residential site in Kowloon for sale.  Company-6, another wholly-owned subsidiary of Holding Company, was a special purpose vehicle incorporated in Hong Kong for the purpose of acquiring and developing a residential site in Kowloon for leasing.  Company-5 incurred heavy losses after completing the sale of all the apartment units on the residential blocks constructed on the residential site.  Company-5 and Company-6 were then amalgamated and Company-6 became the amalgamated company.  The amalgamation was carried out in accordance with section 681 of the Companies Ordinance.  When the amalgamation was completed, Company-6 constructed a block of building on the residential site and leased out the units therein for earning rental income.

The same trade test would not be satisfied.  The development and holding of a residential building for earning lease rental was a business different from that of deriving selling profits from the construction and sale of residential units.  Losses carried forward in Company-5 on sale of residential apartment units cannot be set off against the assessable profits of Company-6 after the amalgamation.
 

14.
The amalgamating company and the amalgamated company should seriously consider applying for an advance ruling under section 88A if tax losses available for set off on amalgamation are material in quantum or the application of the same trade test or the financial resources test is not so clear cut in the circumstances of the case.
 

Profits tax return
 

15.
The amalgamated company should inform the Commissioner in writing of the amalgamation within one month from the date of the amalgamation and submit a profits tax return for each amalgamating company for the year of assessment in which the date the amalgamating company is regarded as having ceased its business falls, together with certified management accounts covering the period from the day immediately following the end of the previous accounting year up to the day before the amalgamation.
 

Rights and obligations
 

16.
The amalgamated company should undertake all obligations imposed on the amalgamating company, in particular record keeping requirement, return filing requirement and provision of information requirement, and shall assume all its tax liabilities, certain or contingent, in respect of the year of assessment in which the amalgamating company is regarded as having ceased its business and all prior years of assessment.

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS

不经法院的公司合并

1.
根据《公司条例》(第622章)不经法院进行合并在利得税税务方面所引致的后果,与按照香港特定私人合并条例或外地概括继承法律进行合并的后果,不尽相同,因后两者都不是为获得税项利益而进行。
 
2.
在以下段落提及的「合并后的公司」是指《公司条例》第680条中所提及的合并的控权公司及第681条中所提及的股份于合并后没有被注销的合并的公司。而「合并的公司」是指合并后的公司以外的每间合并的公司。
 
3.
如税务局局长接纳不经法院的合并并不是以获得税项利益为目的,《税务条例》第61A或61B条将不适用于有关合并(例如:拒绝以合并后的公司或合并的公司结转的亏损用作抵销)。一般而言,为施行《税务条例》,合并后的公司尽可能会被视为合并的公司的延续。
 
4.
税务局现正考虑修订《税务条例》,就不经法院的合并所引致的税务事宜制定法律框架。在修订有关条例之前,评税主任会按照下列指引作出评税。
 
涉及出售合并的公司的资产的合并
 
5.
倘若在进行不经法院的合并,合并的公司以独立交易原则向合并后的公司出售其资产,《税务条例》下有关出售资产的条文会适用于该等交易,以评定任何被当作营业收入的款项及计算折旧的结余调整。
 
不涉及出售合并的公司的资产的合并
 
6.
在利得税方面,合并的公司会被视作在合并生效日期的前一日:
 
  • 停止经营其行业、专业或业务;及
  • 在公开市场将其存货变现。
 
7.
在利得税方面,合并后的公司会被视作从合并生效日期起:
 
  • 继承并继续经营合并的公司的行业、专业或业务;
  • 因有权享有商业/工业建筑物或构筑物的权益而可获给予每年免税额。但在其后出售该权益时,则须计算结余课税,而该结余课税款额不会超出给予合并后的公司及合并的公司的免税额的总和;
  • 可获给予机械或工业装置的每年免税额,按合并的公司在合并前未获扣减免税额的递减价值计算。但在其后出售该机械或工业装置时,则须计算结余课税,而该结余课税款额不会超出给予合并后的公司及合并的公司的免税额的总和;
  • 可获给予依据《税务条例》第16B、16E、16EA、16F、16G及16I条,合并的公司若没有进行合并而可获给予的免税额/扣减。但在其后出售该等资本资产时,售卖得益则会被视作营业收入课税;
  • 可获给予假若没有进行合并,合并的公司应可容许的扣减;及
  • 已赚取假若没有进行合并,合并的公司应取得的入息或营业收入。
 
8.
合并后的公司于合并发生的课税年度可获给予商业/工业建筑物或构筑物及机械或工业装置的每年免税额,和依据《税务条例》第16B、16E、16EA、16F、16G及16I条给予的免税额/扣减。合并的公司将不会于同一课税年度获给予该等免税额和扣减。
 
税务亏损
 
9.
税项亏损只归属于蒙受有关亏损的公司,不可转移至其他集团公司。透过不经法院的法定程序的公司合并达至集团公司之间的亏损抵免及买卖亏损作扣除是不容许的。
 
10.
合并后的公司所承转的税项亏损在符合下列所有条件下,可用作抵销源自经营继承自合并的公司的行业或业务而获得的利润:
 
  • 即使不进行合并,合并后的公司亦有足够财务资源(不包括集团内部贷款)并购合并的公司所经营的行业或业务(「财务资源测试」);
  • 合并后的公司须持续经营行业或业务直至合并发生为止(「持续经营测试」);及
  • 在招致税项亏损时,合并的公司与合并后的公司均已是同一集团的全资附属公司 (「入团后测试」)。 

如未能符合以上所有条件,相关的税项亏损只可用作抵销合并后的公司源自经营其原有的行业或业务而获得的利润。
 

11.
「财务资源」的定义广泛,当中可包括资本、流动资产及现金。在应用财务资源测试时,或有需要考虑合并后的公司根据其信贷评级向独立第三者筹集资金的能力。
 
12.
承转自合并的公司的税项亏损只可用作抵销合并后的公司源自经营继承自合并的公司同一的行业或业务而获得的利润(「相同行业测试」)。
 
13.
「相同行业或业务」中的「相同」是指同一而非相似,即是指同一行业或业务。最终分析是一个按事实决定的问题,可参考Walton J 在 Rolls-Royce Motors Ltd v Bamford [1976] STC 162一案中的判词。当应用相同行业测试时,必须比较合并的公司于招致税项亏损的课税年度所经营的行业或业务与合并后的公司所经营并有利润可供抵销该税项亏损的行业或业务。
 
 
例子1

于香港成立的公司-1及公司-2均是同一控股公司的全资附属公司。公司-1于中环持有及经营一间提供独特菜式的高级日本餐厅。该餐厅的名字反映其菜式的风格并已被注册为公司-1的商业名称。公司-2于湾仔持有及经营一间大众化的意大利餐厅并已注册其商业名称。公司-1 招致税项亏损。其后,公司-1与公司-2跟据《公司条例》第681条合并,公司-2成为合并后的公司。

假如公司-2于合并后,随即将公司-1所经营日本餐厅的处所改为提供意大利菜式并沿用意大利餐厅的商业名称,则未能符合相同行业测试。合并后与合并前所经营的业务是否相同视乎第二间餐厅的业务实际上与第一间餐厅的业务的相似程度。一般而言,开设一间意大利餐厅并不等同为扩展一间日本餐厅的业务。即使第二间餐厅为该业务的一部份,亦难以视该业务于作出税项亏损抵销的课税年度内为合并前相同但已扩展的业务。

假如公司-2于合并后随即使用相同的商业名称继续持有及经营该日本餐厅,但将该处所的一半地方以其意大利餐厅的商业名称提供意大利菜式,则可被视为符合相同行业测试。承转自公司-1的税项亏损可用作抵销公司-2源自经营继承公司-1的日本餐厅而获得的利润,但不可用作抵销源自经营两间意大利餐厅而获得的利润。
 

 
例子2

于香港成立的公司-3及公司-4均为一间美国控股公司的全资附属公司。公司-3和公司-4分别将相同货品售予不同地区的客户。公司-3负责大中华区的顾客而公司-4则负责东南亚国家联盟成员国的顾客。公司-4招致税项亏损。其后,公司-3与公司-4根据《公司条例》第681条合并,公司-3成为合并后的公司。

由于公司-3和公司-4售卖相同货品,假如其营运模式没有明显差别,可被视为符合相同行业测试。于合并后售卖货品予大中华地区的顾客可视为公司-4透过自然增长而扩展的业务。承转自公司-4的税项亏损于合并后可用作抵销公司-3的应评税利润。
 

 
例子3

公司-5是控股公司的全资附属公司,于香港成立,属特定目的工具,旨为收购及发展一幅位于九龙的住宅地皮以供出售。公司-6是控股公司的另一间全资附属公司,于香港成立,属特定目的工具,旨为收购及发展一幅位于九龙的住宅地皮以供出租。公司-5于岀售位于九龙住宅地皮上所兴建的住宅单位后招致巨额税项亏损。其后,公司-5和公司-6根据《公司条例》第681条合并,公司-6成为合并后的公司。在完成合并后,公司-6于住宅地皮上兴建一幢住宅楼宇从以赚取租金收入。

这合并未能通过相同行业测试。透过发展和持有一幢住宅楼宇从而赚取租金收入的业务并不等同于透过兴建和售卖住宅单位而赚取销售利润的业务。因此,承转自公司-5因售卖住宅单位而招致的税项亏损并不可用作抵销公司-6于合并后的应评税利润。
 

14.
倘若合并后可用作抵销的税项亏损数额较大,或当应用相同行业测试或财务资源测试而未能确定有关的税项亏损是否可作抵销时,合并的公司及合并后的公司应审慎考虑依据《税务条例》第88A条,申请事先裁定。
 
利得税报税表
 
15.
合并后的公司须在合并生效日期起的一个月内将有关合并事宜以书面通知税务局局长。同时,它亦须就每一间合并的公司被视作停止营业的课税年度,提交利得税报税表,并付上一份经核证的管理账目,涵盖期间为上一年的评税基期结束后翌日至合并生效日期的前一日为止。
 
权利与责任
 
16.
合并后的公司须承担合并的公司的所有责任,特别是备存业务纪录、递交报税表及提交资料的要求;亦须承担合并的公司在被视作停止营业的课税年度及过往所有课税年度的所有税款,不论是或有的或已确定的。

 (有关不经法院的公司合并的事先裁定个案,请按此。)