Desktop VersionSite MapContact UsShare RSS
  • Default font size
  • Bigger font size
  • Biggest font size

Different Scenarios on Deduction of Home Loan Interest


Scenario 1: Sole-owned dwelling exclusively used as residence throughout the year

Facts
Mr A wholly owns a dwelling which is exclusively used as his place of residence. The dwelling was acquired 3 years ago, financed by a mortgage loan from a bank which is repayable by monthly instalments on the 5th day of each month over a 15-year period. During the year ended 31.3.2019, the total interest paid out of the 12 instalments ( the last one being paid on 5.3.2019 ) amounts to $120,000. He claims the deduction for home loan interest for the year of assessment 2018/19.

Decision
For the year of assessment 2018/19, a deduction limited to $100,000 is allowed ---- sections 26E(1) and 26E(2)(a)(i)(A) and 26E(2)(a)(ii).

 back to top


Scenario 2: Mortgage loan interest paid during construction period

Facts
On 1.9.2017, Mr A purchased from the developer a property which was under construction. On 1.11.2017, he borrowed a mortgage loan from a bank to pay for part of the purchase price. The loan is repayable by monthly instalments for 10 years from 1.12.2017 onwards.
The property was ready for occupation on 1.4.2018. Mr A used it as his place of residence from the same day onwards. He claims a deduction for the interest paid in the amount of $30,000 in 2017/18 and $120,000 in 2018/19.

Decision
No deduction can be allowed in 2017/18. Although the property in question is a dwelling, it was not yet used as Mr A's place of residence in 2017/18. On the other hand, the interest limited to $100,000 paid in 2018/19 is deductible ---- sections 26E(1) and 26E(2)(a)(ii).

 back to top


Scenario 3: Dwelling partly for owner's residence and partly let 

Facts
Same facts as in Scenario 1 except that Mr A let half of the dwelling to a tenant for rental income throughout 2018/19.

Decision
It is considered reasonable in the circumstances of the case to allow a deduction equal to half of the interest paid or the maximum allowable deduction ( $100,000 for 2018/19 ), whichever is the lower. Thus, in this case, $60,000 is allowed to Mr A. The other half of the interest paid of $60,000 might be claimed for deduction under personal assessment ---- section 26E(2)(a)(i)(B).

 back to top


Scenario 4: Dwelling sold in the course of the year 

Facts
Same facts as in Scenario 1 except that Mr A disposed of the dwelling in question on 1.10.2018 and thereupon fully repaid the balance of the mortgage loan. He then lives in quarters provided by the employer. The total interest paid in 2018/19 amounts to $60,000.

Decision
It is considered reasonable in the circumstances to allow a deduction of $60,000 ---- section 26E(2)(a)(i)(B).

 back to top


Scenario 5: Dwelling owned by joint tenants ---- mortgage loan executed in joint tenants' names - exclusively used by the joint tenants as residence

Facts
Mr A and Mr B are joint owners of their dwelling which was exclusively used as their place of residence throughout 2018/19. The dwelling was acquired 4 years ago with a mortgage loan borrowed by them jointly from a bank which is repayable by monthly instalments over a 10-year period. During 2018/19, the total interest paid amounts to $180,000. Both Mr A and Mr B claim a deduction for home loan interest in 2018/19.

Decision
The share of interest paid by Mr A and Mr B in 2018/19 is $90,000 each. A deduction limited to $50,000 is allowed to Mr A and Mr B each, which is the maximum allowable deduction in proportion to the number of the joint tenants ---- sections 26E(2)(b)(i) and 26E(2)(c)(i).

 back to top


Scenario 6: Dwelling owned by tenants in common 

Facts
Same facts as in Scenario 5 except that Mr A and Mr B are tenants in common in the proportion of 1/4 and 3/4.

Decision
The share of interest paid by Mr A and Mr B in 2018/19 is $45,000 and $135,000 respectively. A deduction of $25,000 and $75,000 is allowed to Mr A and Mr B respectively which is the maximum allowable deduction in proportion to their respective share of ownership in the dwelling ---- sections 26E(2)(b)(ii) and 26E(2)(c)(ii).

 back to top


Scenario 7: Mortgage loan not applied wholly for acquisition of the dwelling 

Facts
Mr A purchased a dwelling on 1.4.2018 which is exclusively used as his place of residence. A mortgage loan of $1,000,000 was borrowed from a bank of which $500,000 was used to pay part of the purchase price and the remaining $500,000 on-lent to another person. The loan is repayable by instalments over a 10-year period. The total interest paid in 2018/19 amounts to $150,000. Mr A claims a deduction for the interest paid in 2018/19.

Decision
Since only 1/2 of the loan was used to pay for the dwelling, the amount of the home loan interest deduction for 2018/19 should be limited to 1/2 of $150,000 i.e. $75,000 ---- section 26E(3)(a).

 back to top


Scenario 8: Re-mortgage of dwelling - loan applied wholly for other purposes 

Facts
Mr A wholly owns a dwelling which was exclusively used as his place of residence throughout 2018/19. The dwelling was acquired 10 years ago by a mortgage loan which was fully repaid in 2017/18. On 1.4.2018, Mr A re-mortgaged the dwelling to a bank to obtain a loan which was applied wholly for investment in securities. Mr A claims a deduction for the interest paid of $100,000 in 2018/19.

Decision
The loan obtained on 1.4.2018 was not applied for the acquisition of the existing dwelling. The claim for home loan interest is not allowable ---- sections 26E(1), 26E(3)(a) and 26E(9) [definitions of "home loan" and "home loan interest" ].

 back to top


Scenario 9: Change of dwelling during the year ---- 2 mortgage loans executed 

Facts
During 1.4.2018 to 30.6.2018, Mr A wholly owned a dwelling which was exclusively used as his place of residence. The dwelling was acquired by a mortgage loan 3 years ago. The mortgage interest paid during this 3-month period amounted to $30,000.
On 1.7.2018, Mr A disposed of this dwelling and purchased another dwelling which is exclusively used as his place of residence. The acquisition of the second dwelling was financed by a new mortgage loan. The interest paid on the second home loan from 1.7.2018 to 31.3.2019 amounted to $80,000. Mr A claims the deduction for the interest paid during the year 2018/19.

Decision
The claim for aggregate of the first home loan interest and the second home loan interest is allowed but limited to the maximum deduction of $100,000 - sections 26E(2)(a) and 26E(3)(b).

 back to top


Scenario 10: Two loans with overlapping period 

Facts
Facts same as in Scenario 9 except that Mr A disposed of the first dwelling on 1.7.2018 and that he purchased the second dwelling on 1.6.2018 ( instead of 1.7.2018 ). The interest paid on the second dwelling during 1.6.2018 to 31.3.2019 amounted to $70,000. He continued to live in the first dwelling until 30.6.2018. Mr A claims the aggregate interest paid of $100,000.

Decision
The first home loan interest of $30,000 is deductible. As to the second home loan interest of $70,000, it is considered reasonable in the circumstances of this case to allow that part of the interest paid relating to the period from 1.7.2018 to 31.3.2019 only ---- sections 26E(3)(b) and 26E(4)(b).

 back to top


Scenario 11: Income from employment exceeds the aggregate of personal allowances and home loan interest

Facts
Mr A's income from employment in 2018/19 amounted to $300,000. He is single. He claims basic allowance of $132,000 and home loan interest deduction of $100,000. What is the net chargeable income in his case and how would he know the deduction has been allowed?

Decision
  $ $
Mr A's income from employment   300,000
Less : Home loan interest deduction 100,000  
           Personal allowance 132,000 (232,000)
  _________ _________
Mr A's net chargeable income     68,000
    =======
 

A notice of salaries tax assessment will be issued to Mr A showing his net chargeable income and the home loan interest deduction allowed for the year in question. Mr A will also be notified by the Commissioner of his deduction status ---- sections 12B(1)(a) and 26E(5)(a).

 back to top


Scenario 12: Income from employment less than the aggregate of personal allowances and home loan interest

Facts
Same facts as in Scenario 11 except that Mr A's income from employment in 2018/19 amounted to $150,000 only. What is his net chargeable income and how would he know the deduction has been allowed?

Decision
  $ $
Mr A's income from employment   150,000
Less : Home loan interest deduction 100,000  
           Personal allowance 132,000 (232,000)
  _________ _________
Mr A's net chargeable income               0
    =======

The deduction is deemed to have been allowed to Mr A. The 'unallowed' portion of home loan interest will not be carried forward to future years of assessment. Mr A will be notified by the Commissioner concerning the granting of home loan interest deduction in arriving at his net chargeable income (albeit exempt from tax) and his remaining years of entitlement for the deduction. ---- sections 12B(1)(a) and 26E(5)(a).

 back to top


Scenario 13: Taxpayer is single and his income from employment is less than personal allowances

Facts
Same facts as in Scenario 11 except that Mr A's income from employment in 2018/19 amounted to $98,000 only. What is the tax treatment in relation to home loan interest deduction?

Decision
As Mr A's income is below his personal allowance, he is exempt from tax even without taking into account the deduction of home loan interest. In the circumstances, Mr A will not be treated as having been allowed the home loan interest deduction for the year in question ---- section 26E(5)(a).

 back to top


Scenario 14: Property owned jointly by husband and wife and each of them has employment income exceeding their respective personal allowances and home loan interest paid

Facts
In 2018/19, Mr and Mrs A received income from employment of $300,000 and $200,000 respectively. Each of them claims basic allowance of $132,000 and a deduction for home loan interest paid of $80,000 (total home loan interest paid $160,000) in respect of a dwelling jointly owned by them. What is the tax treatment for the couple in relation to home loan interest deduction?

Decision
Both Mr A's and Mrs A's income exceeds the aggregate of his/her own personal allowance and home loan interest paid. In the circumstances, deduction of home loan interest will be allowed both to Mr and Mrs A under separate taxation and their net chargeable income will be arrived at as follows:

    Mr. A Mrs. A
  $ $ $
Income from employment   300,000 200,000
Less : Home loan interest deduction     50,000*    
           Personal allowance 132,000 (182,000) (182,000)
  _________ _________ _________
Net chargeable income   118,000  18,000
    ======= =======

*Deduction restricted to half share of the maximum of $100,000
A deduction of $50,000 is allowed to Mr A and Mrs A respectively which is the maximum amount allowable in proportion to the number of joint tenants. They are regarded as having each been allowed the deduction for a year of assessment and will be notified of their respective deduction status ---- sections 26E(2)(b)(i) and 26E(2)(c)(i).

 back to top


Scenario 15: Income from employment less than the total of home loan interest and personal allowances ---- home loan interest transferable to taxable spouse through election of joint assessment

Facts
In 2018/19, Mr A and Mrs A received income from employment of $500,000 and $150,000 respectively. They filed tax returns to the Inland Revenue Department separately. Mr A claims basic allowance of $132,000 only while Mrs A claims both basic allowance of $132,000 and a deduction for home loan interest of $70,000 in respect of a dwelling owned solely by her. What is the tax treatment for the couple in relation to home loan interest deduction?

Decision
Mrs A's income is less than the aggregate of her personal allowance and home loan interest deduction. In the circumstances, Mr and Mrs A should elect joint assessment under s.10(2) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance to enable the transfer of the unabsorbed allowances and/or deduction of Mrs A to Mr A. A notice of assessment will be issued to Mr A showing the aggregated net chargeable income of Mr and Mrs A arrived at as follows:

  $ $
Income of Mr A   500,000
Income of Mrs A   150,000
    _________
Aggregated assessable income   650,000
Less : Home loan interest deduction   70,000  
           Married person's allowance 264,000 (334,000)
  _________ _________
Aggregated net chargeable income   316,000
    =======

Mrs A will be deemed to have been allowed the home loan interest deduction and she will be notified of her deduction status ---- sections 10(2)(a), 12B(2)(a), 26E(2)(a)(i) and 26E(5)(b).

 back to top


Scenario 16: Home loan interest to be deducted from a single person's total income under personal assessment

Facts
During 2018/19, Mr A carried on a business. His assessable profits were $300,000. He elects personal assessment under s.41 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance. Moreover, he wholly owns his dwelling which is exclusively used as his place of residence. He claims a deduction for mortgage interest paid on the dwelling totalling $180,000. What would be the tax treatment for the home loan interest deduction under personal assessment?

Decision

Under personal assessment :    
  $ $
Mr A's income from business   300,000
Less : Home loan interest deduction  100,000*  
           Personal allowance 132,000 (232,000)
  _________ _________
Mr A's net chargeable income     68,000
    =======

*Deduction restricted to the maximum of $100,000
In the circumstances, Mr A is deemed to have been allowed a deduction for home loan interest for 2018/19 ---- sections 26E(2)(a)(ii), 26E(5)(c), 42(2)(a) and 43(1).

 back to top


Scenario 17: Home loan interest to be deducted from a married person's total income under personal assessment

Facts
During 2018/19, Mr A carried on a business and his assessable profits were $350,000. He is married and Mrs A received rental income from a let property of which the net assessable value was $50,000. She wholly owns a dwelling which is used exclusively as their place of residence. In 2018/19, she paid mortgage interest of $90,000 for acquisition of the dwelling. Mr and Mrs A elect personal assessment jointly under s.41(1A) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance. What would be the tax treatment for the home loan interest deduction under personal assessment?

Decision

Under personal assessment:

  $ $
Total income of Mr A   350,000
Total income of Mrs A 50,000  
Less : Home loan interest deduction 90,000   (40,000)
  _________ _________
Joint total income of Mr and Mrs A   310,000
Less : Married person's allowance   (264,000)
    _________
Mr and Mrs A's net chargeable income     46,000
    =======


Tax chargeable is apportioned between Mr and Mrs A in the proportion of:

Mr A : Tax chargeable x 100%
Mrs A : Tax chargeable x 0%

Mrs A's home loan interest can only be deducted by electing personal assessment. She is deemed to be the person to have been allowed the home loan interest and she will be notified by the Commissioner accordingly ---- sections 26E(5)(c), 42(2)(a), 42A(1)(b) and 43(1)(b) and (2B).

 back to top


Scenario 18: Taxpayer signed a Provisional Sales & Purchase Agreement with the developer to acquire a property for dwelling. The developer granted him / her a mortgage loan and remained as the registered owner of the property before the loan was fully repaid

Facts
I have signed a Provisional Sales & Purchase Agreement with the developer to acquire a property for my own dwelling. The developer granted me mortgage loan. Before the full repayment of the mortgage loan, the developer remained as the registered owner of the property. Can I claim for home loan interest deduction of the interest paid on the mortgage loan?

Decision
According to Inland Revenue Ordinance, the person claiming for home loan interest deduction must be the registered owner of the dwelling. Thus, you are not qualified for the deduction.

 back to top


Scenario 19: During the years of assessment from 1998/99 to 2011/12, the taxpayer has claimed deduction of home loan interest for 10 years. How to claim his/her further deduction which effective from 2012/13

Facts
On 1 July 1998, Mr A purchased a flat and immediately occupied it as his place of residence. He has been allowed home loan interest deduction for 8 years of assessment from 1998/99 to 2005/06. On 1 April 2006, he sold the dwelling. On 1 October 2007, he purchased a new flat and has been allowed home loan interest deduction for 2 years of assessment from 2007/08 to 2008/09. During the years of assessment from 1998/99 to 2011/12, Mr A has claimed 10 years of home loan interest deduction. What would be the tax treatment for the home loan interest paid for the year of assessment 2009/10 and subsequent years?

Decision
As Mr A has claimed deduction of home loan interest deduction for 10 years of assessment, he cannot get further deduction of home loan interest for the years of assessment 2009/10 to 2011/12. He can only claim up to a total of 10 additional years of deduction from the year of assessment 2012/13 onwards ---- section 26E(4)(d).

 back to top


Scenario 20: Taxpayer had already got 8 years of home loan interest deduction during the years of assessment 1998/99 -2011/12. The number of years that he can claim deduction as from the year of assessment 2012/13

Facts
On 1 June 1999, Mr. A purchased a flat and immediately occupied it as his place of residence. He obtained a 20 years mortgage loan from the bank. He had been allowed home loan interest deduction for 8 years of assessment from 1999/2000 to 2006/07. He did not claim home loan interest deduction from 2007/08 to 2011/12. What would be the tax treatment for the home loan interest paid for the year of assessment 2012/13 and subsequent years?

Decision
As Mr. A has been allowed home loan interest deduction for 8 years during the years of assessment 1998/99 to 2011/12, he can claim up to a total of 12 years of deduction from the year of assessment 2012/13 onwards ---- section 26E(4)(c).

桌面版 English 网页指南 联络我们 分享 RSS
  • 还原字体
  • 较大字体
  • 最大字体

有关扣除居所贷款利息的不同情况

 


 

情况 1 : 全权拥有的住宅在整个年度全部用作居住地方 


事实

甲先生拥有一所住宅的全部业权,该住宅全部用作其居住地方。该住宅于 3年前购买,由一间银行提供按揭贷款,该笔贷款分 15年按月于每月第5日偿还。在截至 2019年 3月 31日止的一年内,从12期供款(最近一期于 2019年 3月 5日支付)中所支付的利息总额为 $120,000。他申索扣除 2018/19课税年度的居所贷款利息。

 

决定

2018/19 课税年度的可容许扣除最高款额为 $100,000----第 26E(1)和 26E(2)(a)(i)(A)及 26E(2)(a)(ii)条。

 

 返回页首


情况 2 : 预售物业 ---- 于建筑期支付的按揭贷款利 

事实

甲先生于 2017年 9 月 1 日从发展商购买一所仍在兴建中的物业。在 2017 年 11 月 1 日﹐他向银行借取按揭贷款以缴付部分买价。该笔贷款自 2017 年 12 月 1 日起﹐按月分期偿还﹐为期 10 年。
该物业于 2018 年 4 月 1 日可供入伙。甲先生从同日开始将该物业用作其居住地方。他申索扣除在 2017/18 年度支付的利息 $30,000 及在 2018/19 年度支付的利息 $120,000。

决定
在 2017/18 年度不容许有任何利息扣除。虽然有关物业是住宅﹐但是该物业在 2017/18 年度仍未用作甲先生的居住地方。另一方面﹐在 2018/19 年度可获扣除的所付利息最高为 $100,000 ---- 第 26E(1) 和 26E(2)(a)(ii) 条。

 返回页首


情况 3 : 部分由业主自住及部分出租的住宅 

事实

情况 1的事实相同﹐但是甲先生于整个 2018/19 年度将半所住宅出租。

决定
在本个案的情形下﹐合理的扣除额相等于所付利息的一半或最高可容许扣除额(2018/19年度为 $100,000),两者中以较低者为准。因此﹐在本个案中﹐甲先生可获容许扣除 $60,000。所付的另一半利息$60,000则可在个人入息课税项下申索扣除 ---- 第 26E(2)(a)(i)(B) 条。

 返回页首


情况 4: 在有关年度内出售的住宅 

事实

情况 1的事实相同﹐但是甲先生于 2018 年 10 月 1 日将有关住宅出售﹐并随即全数清还按揭贷款余款。他继而居住在雇主提供的宿舍内。在 2018/19 年度支付的利息总额为 $60,000。

决定

在该情形下﹐合理的扣除额为 $60,000 ---- 第 26E (2)(a)(i)(B) 条。

 返回页首


情况 5﹕     住宅由联权共有人拥有----以联权共有人名义获得按揭贷款﹐并全部用作联权共有人的居住地方 

事实

甲先生和乙先生为其住宅的联权共有人﹐该住宅于整个 2018/19 年度全部用作他们的居住地方。该住宅于 4 年前购买﹐并由他们联名向银行借取按揭贷款以支付购楼的款项。该笔贷款按月分期偿还﹐为期 10 年。在 2018/19 年度﹐所支付的利息总额为 $180,000。甲先生和乙先生均申索扣除 2018/19 年度的居所贷款利息。

决定

甲先生和乙先生在 2018/19 年度支付的利息为每人 $90,000 。甲先生和乙先生每人可获扣除的款额只限 $50,000 ﹐即根据联权共有人的人数按比例容许作出的最高扣除额----第 26E(2)(b)(i) 和 26E(2)(c)(i) 条。

 返回页首


情况 6: 住宅由分权共有人拥有 

事实

情况 5的事实相同﹐但是甲先生和乙先生为分权共有人﹐分别拥有 1/4 和 3/4 的业权。

决定

甲先生和乙先生在 2018/19 年度支付的利息分别为 $45,000 和 $135,000。甲先生和乙先生分别可获扣除 $25,000 和 $75,000。该等款额是根据他们在该住宅的拥有权中所占份额按比例容许作出的最高扣除额 ---- 第 26E(2)(b)(ii) 和 26E(2)(c)(ii) 条。

 返回页首


情况 7: 按揭贷款并非全部用于购买住宅 

事实

甲先生于 2018 年 4 月 1 日购买一所住宅﹐全部用作其居住地方。他向银行借取为数 $1,000,000 的按揭贷款﹐其中 $500,000 用作支付部分的楼价﹐余下的 $500,000 则借给另一名人士。该笔贷款分10年按期偿还。在 2018/19 年度支付的利息总额为 $150,000。甲先生申索扣除 2018/19 年度所支付的利息。

决定

由于只有一半的贷款是用作支付购买该住宅的款项﹐就 2018/19 年度可予扣除的居所贷款利息款额须限为 $150,000 的一半﹐即 $75,000 ---- 第 26E(3)(a) 条。

 返回页首


情况 8: 住宅重新按揭 ---- 贷款全部作其他用途 

事实

甲先生拥有一所住宅的全部业权﹐该住宅于整个 2018/19 年度全部用作其居住地方。该住宅于10年前以按揭贷款购买,而该笔贷款于 2017/18 年度已经全数清还。2018年4月1日﹐甲先生将该住宅重新按揭予银行﹐以获取一笔贷款﹐全数用以投资证券。甲先生申索扣除在 2018/19 年度所支付的利息 $100,000。

决定

在 2018 年 4 月 1 日所获得的贷款并非用于购买现在的住宅﹐所以申索的居所贷款利息不获扣除 ---- 第 26E(1)﹑26E(3)(a) 和 26E(9) 条【「居所贷款」和「居所贷款利息」的定义】。

 返回页首


情况 9: 于有关年度内转换住宅 ---- 有两项按揭贷款 

事实

在 2018年4月1日 至 2018年6月30日期间﹐甲先生全权拥有一所住宅﹐全部用作其居住地方。该住宅于3年前以按揭贷款购买﹐在上述3个月期间所支付的按揭利息为 $30,000。2018年7月1日﹐甲先生出售该住宅﹐并购买另一所住宅﹐亦全部用作其居住地方。购买第二所住宅的款项由一笔新的按揭贷款提供。在 2018年7月1日 至 2019年3月31日期间﹐就第二所住宅支付的利息为 $80,000。甲先生申索扣除在 2018/19 年度支付的利息。

决定

甲先生可获扣除所申索的第一笔居所贷款利息和第二笔居所贷款利息的总额﹐但最高扣除额只限 $100,000 ---- 第 26E(2)(a) 和 26E(3)(b) 条。

 返回页首


情况 10: 两项贷款有重叠期 

事实

情况 9的事实相同﹐但是甲先生于2018年7月1日出售第一所住宅﹐并已于 2018年6月1日购买第二所住宅(而不是在 2018年7月1日)。在 2018年6月1日 至 2019年3月31日期间﹐就第二所住宅支付的利息为 $70,000。他继续在第一所住宅居住﹐直至 2018年6月30日为止。甲先生申索扣除所支付的利息总额 $100,000。

决定

第一笔居所贷款利息 $30,000 可予扣除。至于第二笔居所贷款利息 $70,000﹐在本个案的情形下﹐合理的扣除额只是在 2018年7月1日 至 2019年3月31日期间所支付的该部分利息 ---- 第 26E(3)(b) 和 26E(4)(b) 条。

 返回页首


情况 11 :  从受雇工作所得的入息超过个人免税额和居所贷款利息的总和 

事实

甲先生于 2018/19 年度从受雇工作所得的入息为 $300,000。他未婚。他申索 $132,000 的基本免税额及 $100,000 的居所贷款利息扣除。在甲先生的个案中﹐应课税入息实额是多少﹖他怎样可得知已获有关扣除﹖

决定

  $ $
甲先生从受雇工作所得的入息   300,000
减 : 居所贷款利息扣除 100,000  
    个人免税额 132,000 (232,000)
  _________ _________
甲先生的应课税入息实额     68,000
    =======

甲先生将获发给薪俸税评税通知书﹐载明他在有关年度的应课税入息实额和获扣除的居所贷款利息款额。甲先生亦会获税务局局长通知其可享有该项扣除的剩余年数 ---- 第 12B(1)(a) 和 26E(5)(a) 条。

 返回页首


情况 12:  从受雇工作所得的入息少于个人免税额和居所贷款利息的总和 

事实

情况 11的事实相同﹐但是甲先生于 2018/19 年度从受雇工作所得的入息仅为 $150,000。甲先生的应课税入息实额是多少﹖他怎样可得知已获有关扣除?

决定

  $ $
甲先生从受雇工作所得的入息   150,000
减 : 居所贷款利息扣除 100,000  
    个人免税额 132,000 (232,000)
  _________ _________
甲先生的应课税入息实额                0 
    =======

甲先生须当作已获该项扣除。不获允许的部分居所贷款利息并不能转入未来的课税年度计算。甲先生会获税务局局长通知在计算其应课税入息实额时已作出居所贷款利息扣除(虽然他在该年度毋须缴税)﹐以及他可享有该项扣除的剩余年数 ---- 第 12B(1)(a) 和 26E(5)(a) 条。

 返回页首


情况 13:  纳税人为单身人士,从受雇工作所得的入息少于个人免税额 

事实

情况 11的事实相同﹐但是甲先生在 2018/19 年度从受雇工作所得的入息只有 $98,000。有关居所贷款利息扣除在税务上怎样处理﹖

决定

由于甲先生的入息低于个人免税额﹐即使没有扣除居所贷款利息﹐他亦毋须缴税。因此﹐甲先生不会被视为在有关年度已获扣除居所贷款利息 ---- 第 26E(5)(a) 条。

 返回页首


情况 14:  物业由夫妇联名拥有﹐而他们各人的受雇工作入息均超过他们本身的个人免税额和居所贷款利息 

事实

在 2018/19 年度﹐甲先生和甲太太分别从受雇工作收取入息 $300,000 和 $200,000。他们各申索基本免税额 $132,000 和就他们联名拥有的住宅申索扣除居所贷款利息 $80,000(所付居所贷款利息总额为 $160,000)。就该对夫妇的居所贷款利息扣除在税务上怎样处理﹖


决定

甲先生和甲太太的入息均超过其本身的个人免税额和居所贷款利息扣除的总和。因此﹐甲先生和甲太太在分开评税下均可获居所贷款利息扣除。他们的应课税入息实额将计算如下﹕

    甲先生 甲太太
  $ $ $  
从受雇工作所得的入息   300,000 200,000
减 : 居所贷款利息扣除    50,000*    
    个人免税额 132,000 (182,000) (182,000)
  _________ _________ _________
应课税入息实额   118,000   18,000
    ======= =======

* 扣除额只限于最高款额$100,000的一半

甲先生和甲太太分别获扣除 $50,000。该款额是根据联权共有人的人数而按比例可容许作出的最高扣除额。他们各被视为已就一个课税年度获利息扣除﹐并会获得通知他们各自可享有该项扣除的剩余年数----第 26E(2)(b)(i) 和 26E(2)(c)(i) 条。

 返回页首


情况 15:  从受雇工作所得的入息少于居所贷款利息与个人免税额的总和 ---- 透过选择合并评税将居所贷款利息转拨予须课税的配偶 

事实

在 2018/19 年度﹐甲先生和甲太太从受雇工作所得的入息分别为 $500,000 及 $150,000。他们各自向税务局提交报税表。甲先生只申索基本免税额 $132,000﹐而甲太太则同时申索扣除基本免税额 $132,000及就由她全权拥有的住宅所支付的居所贷款利息 $70,000。就该对夫妇的居所贷款利息扣除在税务上怎样处理﹖

决定

甲太太的入息少于其个人免税额和居所贷款利息扣除额的总和。因此﹐甲先生和甲太太应根据《税务条例》第10(2)条选择合并评税﹐以便将甲太太剩余的免税额和/或扣除额转拨予甲先生。甲先生将获发给评税通知书﹐载明甲先生及甲太太的合计应课税入息实额如下﹕

  $ $
甲先生的入息   500,000
甲太太的入息   150,000
    _________
合计应予评税的入息   650,000
减 : 居所贷款利息扣除   70,000  
    已婚人士免税额 264,000 (334,000)
  _________ _________
合计应课税入息实额   316,000
    =======

甲太太将被视为已获居所贷款利息扣除。她会获通知其可享有该项扣除的剩余年数----第 10(2)(a)﹑12B(2)(a)﹑26E(2)(a)(i) 和 26E(5)(b) 条。

 返回页首


情况 16: 在以个人入息课税方式评税下﹐从单身人士的入息总额中扣除的居所贷款利息 

事实

在 2018/19 年度﹐甲先生经营业务﹐其应评税利润为 $300,000。他根据《税务条例》第41条选择以个人入息课税方式评税。此外﹐他全权拥有一所住宅﹐全部用作其居住地方。他申索扣除就该住宅所支付的按揭利息合共 $180,000。在以个人入息课税方式评税下﹐有关居所贷款利息扣除在税务上怎样处理﹖

决定

在以个人入息课税方式评税下﹕

  $ $
甲先生从业务所得的利润   300,000
减 : 居所贷款利息扣除  100,000*  
     个人免税额 132,000  (232,000)
  _________ _________
甲先生的应课税入息实额   68,000
    =======

 

*扣除额只限于最高款额 $100,000

在此情况下﹐甲先生须被视为已获容许扣除2018/19年度的居所贷款利息 ---- 第 26E(2)(a)(ii)﹑26E(5)(c)﹑42(2)(a) 和 43(1) 条。

 返回页首


情况 17:  在以个人入息课税方式评税下﹐从已婚人士的入息总额中扣除的居所贷款利息 

事实

在2018/19年度﹐甲先生经营业务。其应评税利润为$350,000。他已婚﹐而甲太太从物业租金所得入息的应评税净值为$50,000。甲太太全权拥有一所住宅﹐并全部用作他们的居住地方。在2018/19年度﹐她就购置该住宅所支付的按揭利息为$90,000。甲先生和甲太太根据《税务条例》第41(1A)条共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税。在以个人入息课税方式评税下﹐有关居所贷款利息扣除在税务上怎样处理﹖


决定

在以个人入息课税方式评税下﹕

  $ $
甲先生的入息总额   350,000
甲太太的入息总额 50,000  
减 : 居所贷款利息扣除 90,000   (40,000)
  _________ _________
甲先生及甲太太的共同入息   310,000
减 : 已婚人士免税额   (264,000)
    _________
甲先生和甲太太的应课税入息实额   46,000
    =======
     

应课税款按下列比例由甲先生及甲太太分摊-
甲先生﹕应课税款x100%
甲太太﹕应课税款x0%

甲太太的居所贷款利息只可透过申请个人入息课税才可扣减。她须被视为已获容许扣除居所贷款利息的人士。她将获税务局局长通知有关情形----第26E(5)(c)﹑42(2)(a)﹑42A(1)(b)和43(1)(b)及(2B)条。

 返回页首


情况 18: 纳税人与发展商签署临时买卖合约,购置一住宅单位作自住,并由发展商提供按揭,供款期间,发展商仍为该物业于土地注册处的注册业主 

事实

我与发展商签署临时买卖合约,购置一住宅单位作自住,发展商给我提供按揭,于供款期间,发展商仍为该物业于土地注册处的注册业主。我可否为供款利息申索居所贷款利息扣除?

决定

《税务条例》规定,申索居所贷款利息扣除的纳税人须为有关物业于土地注册处登记的注册业主。因此,你并不符合申索的资格。

 返回页首


情况 19: 纳税人于 1998/99 至 2011/12 课税年度期间已申索了 10 年的居所贷款利息扣除。 他 / 她如何申索自 2012/13 年度起延长的扣除 

事实

甲先生在1998年7月1日购买了一个单位,并立即用作其居住地方。在1998/99至2005/06期间,他已获扣减8个课税年度的居所贷款利息。2006年4月1日,他把该住宅出售。他在2007年10月1日购买了一个新单位,并获扣减 2007/08 至 2008/09 期间2个课税年度的居所贷款利息。在 1998/99 至 2011/12 课税年度期间,甲先生已申索10年的居所贷款利息扣除;就2009/10及其后的课税年度所支付的居所贷款利息,在税务上怎样处理?

决定

由于甲先生已申索了10个课税年度的居所贷款利息扣除,他不能在 2009/10 至 2011/12 课税年度再获得居所贷款利息扣除,他只可以在 2012/13 及其后的课税年度申索最多合共10个新增课税年度的居所贷款利息扣除 ---- 第 26E(4)(d) 条。

 返回页首


情况 20: 纳税人于 1998/99 至 2011/12 课税年度期间申索了 8 年的居所贷款利息扣除。在 2012/13 课税年度起,他可申索扣除的年期 

事实

甲先生在 1999年6月1日 购买了一个单位,并立即用作其居住地方。他向银行取得为期20年的按揭贷款。在 1999/2000 至 2006/07 期间,他已获扣除8个课税年度的居所贷款利息。而在 2007/08 至 2011/12 课税年度内,他并没有申索居所贷款利息的扣除。就 2012/13 及其后的课税年度所支付的居所贷款利息,在税务上怎样处理?

决定

由于甲先生于 1998/99 至 2011/12 课税年度期间获扣除8年的居所贷款利息,他可以在2012/13课税年度或之后申索合共12个课税年度的居所贷款利息扣除----第 26E(4)(c) 条。